Named Patterns Inari dress in autumnal scuba

Inari tee dress in scuba

Firstly, a huge thank you for all the amazing, insightful, and interesting comments that people left on my last post, about giving up blogging. I really wanted to reply to them all but in the last month (!) since I posted it I’ve started a new job and winter has arrived and loads of other things happened that just ate up the whole of October somehow.

But it’s really reassuring to know that other people are pondering this stuff too, and also that not everyone has deleted this blog from their feed provider of choice yet. And yes I am still bitter about the death of Google Reader, thanks for asking. I will never forget. NEVER.

If you haven’t read the comments, I definitely recommend having a look – they’re a big improvement on my actual post which I mainly wrote as a distraction from having to watch yet another rugby match (I am unbelievably happy that the rugby world cup is finally over, it went on for about three years).

So anyway in between then and now I have made two Inari tee dresses by Named Clothing, which is roughly a 150% increase in sewing productivity.

This is version one:

inari tee dress scuba 1
I have new Clarks shoes! As usual.

I made a size 14 straight from the PDF. All I changed was to lengthen the sleeves so I could wear it without a cardigan in the winter. I mean obviously I mainly wear it with a cardigan anyway but it’s nice to have the option.

The fabric is an very odd scuba/ponte I got from Fabricland in Bournemouth ages ago. Can’t find it on their website now but it was very cheap.

Although I quite like the colour scheme, it does remind me of the time I left half a mug of tea in the kitchen sink before going on a two week holiday – white spots of mould over a weirdly mottled congealed brown mess.

Anyway it’s about as breathable as a plastic bag but it’s fine for the winter, and it’s incredibly stretchy and comfortable.

inari tee dress scuba back

The fit is not perfect – the neck is very high and when I sit down I find it a bit strangling. I think the shoulder line is sitting a bit far back which may be to blame. However in fabric this stretchy it’s not really a big deal. I should probably have sewed a 12 in the neck/sleeves area.

I LOVE that Named Patterns are drafted for taller people with long torsos. Even though their PDF prices do seem a bit steep I would pretty much pay anything to have a pattern I don’t have to lengthen. I like being taller at gigs but I curse it whenever I sew.

I would maybe add an extra inch or two (I’m 5 ft 9 for reference) but it’s wearable as it is I think.

It’s quite new for me to wear dresses like this that have absolutely no waist definition, but they are incredibly comfortable.

Also, despite basically being a giant sack, the design of this pattern is really good. The side seams curve round to the front in a nice, flattering way and the split level hem is genius.

inari tee dress shoes

 

Don’t have much else to say about this to be honest – I didn’t bother hand stitching down the sleeve cuffs, as there’s no way you’d notice in this fabric anyway.

I sewed the whole thing with a zig zag stitch on my machine and then finished the seams with the overlocker (although I didn’t need to). I just did a straight stitch for the hem and the sleeve cuffs.

I’m not 100% convinced about it, but on the plus side, it would make an excellent disguise if I ever need to hide in a giant pile of mouldy autumn leaves.

I have made another one of these dresses in denim which I will probably get around to blogging about in another month, so see you then!

24 thoughts on “Named Patterns Inari dress in autumnal scuba

  1. megsewing November 27, 2015 / 9:39 PM

    As a new follower I can say I’m really happy you’re gonna continue with this blog! Love everything about this dress!!

  2. Mo November 16, 2015 / 10:45 AM

    Hola desde Barcelona. Me encanta tu nuevo vestido y zapatos! Ya hace mucho tiempo que sigo tu blog y echaba de menos una nueva entrada. Me gusta leer las explicaciones de la costura, las dificultades con las que te has encontrado al coser y cómo las has superado. Agradezco mucho tu esfuerzo para mantener el blog activo, yo aprendo costura e inglés. Gracias.

  3. Sophie November 4, 2015 / 8:48 PM

    Hahaha! Lol-ing over the autumn leaves and mouldy tea cup sentiments. But in all seriousness I really LOVE this and how fun is scuba?! I kind of wish there was a print-on-demand place that would let you print on scuba. Looks ace with tights too!

  4. Camilla November 4, 2015 / 7:52 PM

    I really like the fabric and your dress looks lovely. This pattern is on the Xmas list, I’ve seen so many awesome versions. I didn’t know they tailor for the taller gal, so that’s good to know. Glad to see that you’re sewing and blogging again. But if you don’t feel like it, that’s ok too.

  5. liz November 3, 2015 / 10:04 PM

    Right back at ya regarding the rugby and Google Reader. Good to see your blog isn’t completely dead, it’s one of the few sewing blogs I still read – probably because you’re one of the few that hasn’t set up your own pattern line. I like the dress. Mouldy teabag colour suits you very well.

  6. charityshopchic November 3, 2015 / 5:00 PM

    I think mould is a bit harsh – the flashes of blue and white are more like you’re standing underneath an autumnal tree and looking at the sky. Or maybe it’s just me 😉
    You look great anyway!

  7. Miriana November 3, 2015 / 2:47 PM

    Yay for tall patterns (at 6ft and an important half an inch). Of all the adjustments, adding length is not too troubling thankfully (although the complicated pocket arrangements on the Named Alexandra trousers is making me hold off lengthening the crotch).

    • yesilikethat November 7, 2015 / 11:44 AM

      Yeah I guess it is pretty easy – I just get so sick of doing it all the time. Those lucky short ladies get to just fold and tape their patterns 😦 Lengthening trousers at the crotch is pretty tricky, I remember struggling with that when I made jeans!

  8. Jennifer Hill November 3, 2015 / 2:36 PM

    Hooray, I’m glad to see you back! This looks great on you, no mould, tehe. Jen

  9. Sarah W November 3, 2015 / 11:10 AM

    Hmmm first comment got eaten! This looks great, not mouldy at all. I have this pattern on my queue but am not sold on the fit of the bodice on a lot of people. I’ll be subbing in an alternative for my first draft! Thanks for posting your height – useful info!

    • yesilikethat November 7, 2015 / 11:45 AM

      I think I have approved your first comment, now, WordPress likes to randomly eat comments every now and then for some reason. I know what you mean about the bodice – it seems to work out on me luckily, but might just be because I chose a big size. Look forward to seeing your version!

  10. Fabric Tragic November 3, 2015 / 11:04 AM

    Very autumnal and not at all mouldy! I have this pattern, but I’m not convinced on the bodice. It looks like the armscye is really deep, and I’ve decided to sub in a different bodice at least for my first version. I also love that named patterns are for taller ladies – I think you’re a little taller than me – it’s so helpful to post that sort of info, thank you.

  11. Kerry November 3, 2015 / 9:36 AM

    This pattern is popping up everywhere, I must add it to my list. Good to know it’s good for tall people too!

  12. Bella November 3, 2015 / 4:09 AM

    I really like it. It looks excellent with your new shoes. I’m glad that you have posted again as I really enjoy your writing!

    • yesilikethat November 7, 2015 / 11:46 AM

      Wow thanks Bella – that’s so nice to hear 🙂 Good to know I’m not just rambling into the ether!

  13. Kate Carvalho November 3, 2015 / 1:49 AM

    As a New Zealander I can also say that I’m very happy the Rugby World Cup is over. We can now resume our normal lives. I really loved reading your last post and all the comments too. I’m so glad you are back to posting. I’m not much of a sack dress person but the Inari tee looks really cool and I think it looks especially good in interesting prints like yours.

    • yesilikethat November 7, 2015 / 11:46 AM

      Ha I can only imagine. I just don’t get rugby at all, everything about it baffles me.

  14. gilliancrafts November 2, 2015 / 11:57 PM

    Very cute! I love short dresses in the winter with tights or leggings. This length is sassy on you! (On me it would go down to my knees, I’m sure! :P)

  15. Ingrid November 2, 2015 / 11:04 PM

    It looks lovely on you – and I love the shoes. I have the same issue re length (am 6ft) so good to know Named cater for us tall ladies! I’ve got a few of their patterns but haven’t made anything yet. Also – I totally mourned the loss of Google reader as well. As a replacement I can really recommend Feedly, in case you haven’t heard of it. It does what Reader did but more.

    • yesilikethat November 7, 2015 / 11:47 AM

      I am using Feedly (and Newsify) as a replacement but I still am sad about Google Reader 😦 I even started typing it into my browser the other day absent mindedly…

    • Ingrid November 9, 2015 / 8:03 AM

      It’s like phantom limb syndrome…. Hope you recover soon!

  16. navybluethreads November 2, 2015 / 9:54 PM

    Looks more like a random flower print to me, but best to avoid those mouldy leaf piles just in case 😉 Design and colours look great on you.

What do you think?

