Why I stopped blogging reasons 1-9

  1. I realised that people I knew in real life were reading my blog, ie. family members and colleagues, and it didn’t just exist in a magical private world where only other sewing people would read it.
  2. I became very disenchanted with the idea of taking photos of myself and putting them online. This was intensified 100% when I started finding pictures of myself in google image searches for patterns and stuff. Urgh.
  3. I spend all day managing ‘content’ for work, including a WordPress blog, which makes me disinclined to come home and create more ‘content’ in my spare time (apologies for using the word ‘content’)
  4. Taking photos of finished projects started to became a massive pain and there never seemed to be enough time in the day to do it.
  5. I stopped sewing for about 8 months after making several failed projects and thought I had lost the desire and the skills to make clothes forever. Thankfully it seems to be returning a bit.
  6. Instagram is so much easier and low-effort and feels kind of less public (although obviously this is an illusion)
  7. Related to no. 1 – people I knew in real life would spot me wearing something I had blogged and be like ‘oh yeah, I saw that on your blog!’ and I’d be paranoid that it looked better online than in real life, and it also meant the loss of that amazing ‘I love your dress, where did you buy it? OMG, you actually made it?!’ moment which is what life is really all about when you get down to it.
  8. I became fairly certain that blogs were a dying format and I just seemed to be posting the same old boring posts all the time and I just got bored with it, you know.
  9. I became very uncertain that I had any interesting thoughts or unique sewing skills to offer, which made this blog seem self-indulgent, and I didn’t want to just clog up the internet with more of the same old stuff.

HAVING SAID ALL THAT

I am now thinking that I might like to blog again so I wanted to know – do people still read sewing blogs? What do you like about them? Have they been killed off by Instagram and Snapchat and whatever else the kids are using nowadays?

BONUS PICTURE (SEE POINT 4)

I made this dress from a Burda pattern, 08/2015, number 123:

floral dress

It is made from a spongey stretch crepe I got in Mermaid Fabrics, and I left out the zipper and the back seam and just put clear elastic on the waistband, so it was pretty quick to sew.

91 thoughts on “Why I stopped blogging reasons 1-9

  1. sarah January 18, 2016 / 2:45 AM

    A little late to this post, i have just found you blog. I still love sewing blogs, and have added your to my feed. So thanks for keeping going!

  2. Heather B January 9, 2016 / 5:52 PM

    I absolutely love reading sewing blogs, and as I knew very, very few (if any???) other sewers in internet blogs are the only way I can keep up with the gossip! Haha.

    In addition, your blog is one of my favourites and I was so sad that you appeared to have stopped. Just been checking in and wayhayy, you’re back! Totally get your reasons for stopping, but please do keep going 🙂

  3. Helene December 17, 2015 / 8:40 PM

    I love blogs, and I just hate how so many seem to fall dormant because it’s so easy to post a quick selfie on Instagram now. I mean, since I voraciously devour so many blogs, maybe I should start to blog to give back. But I don’t have a great camera. We’ll see. I’d love you to continue blogging, you make some lovely items, which I would never be able to see in real life!

  4. Kathryn December 17, 2015 / 2:27 PM

    I love your blog! I don’t read many blogs, but I do like sewing blogs, and yours in particular. Your photo captions always make me giggle, and I love your honest approach. I’d be delighted if you’d blog more again!

  5. Gillian November 18, 2015 / 8:24 AM

    Returning to sewing again after parenthood & career I have been reading blogs avidly over the past year. I found I had narrowed down from the hundreds to fewer than ten, of which yours was one, to check out each week. Was so sad when you stopped and , although your reasons for doing so make perfect sense, am so glad you have returned. Having sewn everything quite inventively in the past I really lost confidence at first – all the bloggers were so much more organised & trained – then realised that with the internet & social media there is so much more guidance & creativity on tap that my sewing no longer has to be as hit or miss as it used to be!
    One thing that intrigues me about sewing now is the apparent obsession with dresses; when we were in our twenties & sewing the perfect pair of trousers, top & jacket of some kind (as individual pieces or complete outfit) was the goal but I notice the proliferation of dress patterns & images marks a big change. There seem to be fewer ‘mature’ bloggers, though. Don’t feel confident enough to begin my own so perhaps that’s why!
    You are back on my Big Six list – so glad!

  6. Zoe November 4, 2015 / 1:26 PM

    Hi lovely, I’m not sure you really need an 82nd comment on this post, but I have to tell you that I yelped with excitement to see that posted again. I really missed reading your posts, and I have to say that yours is one of the few blogs I actually read, rather than just flick through the images. PLEASE STAY WITH US!!!!! xxxxxx

  7. Tanya October 30, 2015 / 8:12 AM

    Yes, I still read blogs though I discriminate a lot more as I’m googling through the site names. Yours is one I’ve kept looking out for though and really appreciate knowing why you’ve not been blogging – absolutely respect the reasons and just appreciate how much you did put out there and how good and inspiring it was/is. If you feel you want to start blogging again, however occasionally, I’ll definitely be following. Like so many who’ve commented, I admire and enjoy your style, independence, honesty, the skills you share….. If you decide not to blog, just would want to wish you enjoyment of challenges again in your sewing – the dress is great! All the best and many thanks.

  8. Michelle October 23, 2015 / 8:03 PM

    I am late to the party but wanted to add: I totally get your reasons for not blogging. From a purely selfish point of view, however, I would love it if you did blog again. I love the clothes you make and your commentaries. I am a relatively new sewist but find blogs so useful and often very inspiring.
    Good luck with whatever you decide!

  9. Emma Hitchens October 13, 2015 / 6:11 AM

    To me IG is for show and tell and blog posts are the resource tool. I will definitely keep blogging as I really appreciate searching out review posts when I am making something new.

  10. Julie Kirk (@notesonpaper) October 12, 2015 / 2:11 PM

    I too have had a small wobble with blogging lately – which led me to set myself a challenge to maintain and expand my network by leaving 300 comments in 30 days! a href=”http://notesonpaper.blogspot.co.uk/2015/09/why-im-leaving-300-blog-comments-in-30.html

    Which is how I’m here today. Someone who enjoys your blog knew I was seeking interesting content [there’s that word again] and suggested I drop by here for a visit. [This is comment No.211!].

    My biggest worry was that as my blogging focus changed [from crafting >> more towards lifestyle, humour, life-documening, story-telling] I was losing readers. In sharing my concerns, and my ridiculous challenge, I’ve been overwhelmed by the response from my readers. Getting it all out in the open has really altered how I feel about my blogging … and now I seem to have a new lease of life [eg. I feel like getting a whole new site designed and move forward in a fresh new space! I wonder if this post will do a similar thing for you …. ??/

    p.s: that dress is beautiful!!!

    p.p.s: I once wrote about when yo walk away from blogging … maybe you’ll relate to ‘The Kenny Rogers Approach’ http://notesonpaper.blogspot.co.uk/2013/04/push-up-bra-blogging-9-kenny-rogers.html

    Julie 🙂

    • Mildred May 16, 2017 / 6:30 PM

      People noramlly pay me for this and you are giving it away!

    • http://goanalyze.info/traderjoes.com May 31, 2017 / 5:27 PM

      Thank you Laura, humbled. So humbled. You being here and reading these words, that’s just lovely too. So wonderful to have you wandering on these pages. Please come again, soon, friend.

  11. Jennifer October 11, 2015 / 2:38 PM

    Your blog got me back into sewing again! One of the first I read (used to sew before the Internet). Blogging changed everything about how I sew.. Just been reading your tips on top stitching -thanks, and came across this latest. I’m on Instagram (jennifer4593) for all the reasons above and more. I like your blog a lot because you’re not selling anything. Sharing information is a great thing, but only as long as it’s fun!

  12. Linda October 8, 2015 / 7:20 PM

    Interesting discussion! I too like your blog and will be pleased to see you blogging again regularly. You make the sort of things I’d like to make – I made your plaintain top in the animal print that you did for the Minerva bloggers group. I have been doing a blog comment challenge, 300 blog comments in 30 days. Part of the reason for this challenge is to do something to stop blogging disappearing! I don’t think we stop and comment so much anymore, but looking at your other comments, readers do like a more comprehensive post than instagram or twitter can give. Good luck with getting the sewing mojo back!.

  13. gingermakes October 7, 2015 / 6:55 PM

    I’m so glad to see you here! I love reading blogs, although I can’t keep up with them in the way I used to (at my old job I had lots of weird downtime, standing around waiting for people to show up or trucks to make a delivery, so I would read stuff on my phone). I also feel like there are so many more blogs in my feed than there were four years ago that it’s gotten harder to keep up. But I still love reading them and commenting on them, but I also love keeping up with everyone’s day to day goings-on on IG.

    I hear you on the awkwardness of people you know in real life reading your blog. I really hate that! I have no problem rambling on to strangers who love sewing, but it feels SUPER weird when my mother-in-law/former coworker/dad mention something about the blog. I’m like, HELLO, PRIVACY, but of course that’s ridiculous. 🙂 Similarly I could give a speech or do standup in front of a crowd with no problem, but if a family member was there… no way. 😀

  14. Elise and Life October 6, 2015 / 4:41 PM

    Just realised I wasn’t following you on Instagram so I’ve fixed that! 😉 I totally get you, especially on the first point. I liked my little blogging bubble when no-one knew about it! Also it’s so much easier to stop than it is to keep on going/start again, so whenever I’m having problems writing something that makes sense, I just tell myself how hard it would be to leave it. But I understand the frustration of projects etc not turning out as planned, it just makes you feel much worse when there are potential blog posts involved!

  15. elise//honigdesign October 5, 2015 / 7:21 PM

    I’m with you on all those points, esp 1,2,3… I think it’s okay to take a blog hiatus once in a while and still be part of the community… I’m certainly disappear for long spells. Usually from being overwhelmed that there just aren’t enough hours in a day to comment on everyone’s posts, even though I want to. Also, I panicked recently when an acquaintance told me they found my blog, out of the blue. I definitely thought I was doing this in a nice little sewing bubble that no one else could see! This is actually the second post I’ve read on this today, there must be something in the air… Looking forward to continuing to follow you, whatever format you choose!

  16. jne4sl October 4, 2015 / 11:16 PM

    I still have many, many blogs in my reader but, no, I don’t really read them. Each morning I think why don’t I have anything to read? and realize because I just scrolled through without reading. I guess I’ve just gotten really board with it all. I slow down when I see something is actually being discussed, like here, obviously, or when the project really stands out. I would like to find more sewing discussions, but mostly I am just looking quickly at photos. I appreciate that the details are there if I need them, but usually I’m not terribly interested if it’s not something I’ve already made or have been waiting to see made up. I never have blogged but I have tried to post my own project details various places. Mostly for my own record keeping but hopefully occasionally it’s helpful to others, too. But, if I feel some exhaustion as a reader, I can only imagine bloggers, like yourself feel it all the more. It would drive me batty if IRL acquaintances were following my sewing. It’s not a secret, I just work under the assumption it’s only of interest to people who sew.

    I hope this doesn’t sound too negative, and it’s not in any way referring to your blog, I just feel I hear what you’re saying, I recognize where you’re coming from and there is a lot of truth in your reasoning. If blogging isn’t working for you, dropping back to Instagram and occasional pattern reviews might make sewing a lot more fun and that’s more important.

  17. Lou October 4, 2015 / 8:40 PM

    I am still reading blogs and have been checking yours at regular intervals to see if you’ve emerged from blogging hibernation. So I for one am very glad to have you back.

  18. navybluethreads October 4, 2015 / 7:49 PM

    Yours was one of the first sewing blogs I read too. Totally understand the reasons you list for taking a break from blogging. None of my real life friends or family follow my blog which I much prefer. Do whatever you’re most comfortable with, but it would be great to read your voice again 🙂

  19. Sue October 4, 2015 / 7:40 PM

    I relate to everything you’ve noted, and am finding myself starting to feel more connected to IG than ye olde blog.

    That said, I still read sewing blogs and am especially interested in them for project posts (with photos of the garment, worn!)

  20. justsewtherapeutic October 4, 2015 / 6:41 PM

    I’ve really missed your blog so would be very pleased if you started posting again. I can empathize with reason one though, I’ve had to unlink my google + profile from my blog after one of my partners biker friends sent me a friend request, I’ve actually posted my bombshell swimsuit and was horrified he may have seen the pictures!

  21. clb October 4, 2015 / 4:47 PM

    Well obvs I feel you should continue to blog, because otherwise I wouldn’t know about this excellent dress, not being a Burda reader, and it’s exactly what I’m looking for atm. (Sleeves! Scoop neck! Great skirt with not too much foof around the middle! Score) And you have good style that I like a lot and write a fine post that is not even a little bit boring, and are responsible for pointing me to my favourite skirts (Moss), and had the only wedding dress that I have ever actually liked.
    in short YES DO EET

  22. senjiva October 4, 2015 / 3:54 PM

    I understand your reasons. That said, this floral dress is a real standout and I do miss seeing your excellent creations since I admire your style.

  23. prttynpnk October 4, 2015 / 12:21 PM

    Oh, I was nodding vigorously about some of your reasons. I like ‘no one local know I do this’ bubble too!
    Blog as work- blech. Blog if you feel like sharing. I’m glad you shared this dress!

  24. Mother of Reinvention October 4, 2015 / 12:01 PM

    I read sewing blogs every day and will definitely read yours if you are blogging. I love reading about what other people are making and seeing how things turn out, even if I will never make that pattern. I really like to connect with other people interested in sewing. I don’t really know anyone in real life and it makes me feel a bit less odd. I think that Twitter and Instagram have their place but there is nothing like reading a blog post. I know what you mean about photos. They definitely are a pain and do take a fair bit of time. Xx

  25. Jennifer Hill October 4, 2015 / 11:26 AM

    I’m so pleased to ‘hear’ from you as I started to follow your blog about the time you stopped posting! I read blogs (almost all sewing) and don’t do anything else. My daughters use snapchat, but, er…wot?? I’d like to start Instagram but haven’t done so yet. Yes, there are a lot of sewing blogs, but all have a different style and voice, and like everyone, I guess, I only follow the ones whose style I love and whose voice I enjoy. It’s that personality that’s what makes each blog unique. I certainly love your style and find your Me Made makes really inspirational! I’m very glad your sewing mojo is returning and hope you do return to your excellent blog, one of the few REALLY good ones! Jen

  26. sewbusylizzy October 4, 2015 / 11:13 AM

    Love that you are back & totally get where you are coming from.
    I read blogs all the time. I love the detail – the additional images, comments on the pattern, instructions, fabric & fit. This surpasses any of the most instant-gratification social media options. If you’d posted something along this vein on Instagram I would have read, scroll by, made a short comment/liked – however I recalled your post, went back to find it & comment.
    I don’t comment on everything that I read, too many & the different formats mean logging onto WordPress/blogger/disqus accounts is rather tedious and a roadblock.
    The detail blogs provide is invaluable.

  27. diycouture October 4, 2015 / 10:50 AM

    I love this dress Kathryn! The fabric is AMAZING. I don’t read sewing blogs in an organised fashion, like daily through a reader, but I do enjoy dropping in on them when I follow a link from social media, or when I search for a pattern to see if anyone else has made it. I also pretty much stopped blogging (though unlike you I actually barely started) this year as it felt like another piece of work to be done on a computer and I didn’t know why I was doing it. There is too much work on a computer in my life already and in this busy world I already don’t send enough emails/letters/texts to old friends and family, so I felt almost morally wrong that I’d spend time writing about myself online in place of actually communing with real world connections. I also felt very weird – narcissistic I think – about taking loads of photos of myself and putting them online. Though I love looking at other peoples outfit pictures. And having said all this, I love being part of the sewing community, and I feel I’ve met lots of wonderful people from around the world through the internet, even if we never actually meet. I am coming to the feeling that blogging should serve you, not the other way round, i.e. it should feel like an enjoyable project not a nagging chore, or like work in any way. Oh it’s a funny world, isn’t it? Love from Rosie xx

  28. Sew Brunswick October 4, 2015 / 10:11 AM

    I still read blogs but in a few binges a week rather than daily. I like the project summar and details. A good pattern review is helpful. I’m much slower at blogging now but I like to keep a record and contribute by giving a review.

  29. Megan October 4, 2015 / 3:45 AM

    Love the dress! I came into blogging late, yet have had some of the same feelings as you. No one I know in real life knows about it yet though, except my hubby. I am constantly see sawing about the usefulness of it. YET, here I am enjoying your blog and this post… so maybe the small connections are worth it?

  30. Noelle October 3, 2015 / 11:24 PM

    Please carry on! Also, totally fab dress – fabric & pattern & fit. One thing that keeps me blogging is how nice it is to have a record of what I’ve made. I’ve done lots of other crafts and was not very good at documenting most of them so it’s something I’ve come to value (in retrospect – still a pain when doing the documenting).

  31. Shivani October 3, 2015 / 10:20 PM

    Hello! I have actually missed you and am v pleased to see you pop up on my reader! All your points ring true for me too. I stopped blogging because I stopped sewing for a bit. Then when I started back again, I felt like it was an entirely narcissistic exercise – and ugh, the photo-taking!! So I don’t post much, and I don’t think the world misses me ;). But I do love reading blogs still, especially those where the blogger’s voice is true and funny (like you) and the stuff they sew is sort if what I would/do. I hope you don’t stop blogging entirely, but obvs don’t stick at it for my sake 🙂 x

  32. Kansas sky October 3, 2015 / 9:41 PM

    YES to the blog! You’re pretty terrific and not everyone does the IG thing. Thanks for your effort.

  33. Roni Arbel October 3, 2015 / 9:41 PM

    I love reading your blog! a. Even posts about patterns a lot of people are making add knowledge/data to the sewing community (I this it was the ultimate trousers pattern that got me into your blog in the first place). b. I think a lot of the bigger blogs are shifting the focus from finished garments to in depth discussions about fashion, sewing, and skills in general. I think that in the next few seasons the community will shift again towards making more involved projects.

  34. Chris October 3, 2015 / 6:55 PM

    Please carry on blogging. Blogs give a more considered reflection on the progress and completion of sewing projects whereas more instant media capture the moment. Both are important but, for me, the considered reflection wins every time.

  35. bedlamandbird October 3, 2015 / 6:15 PM

    Welcome back… you’ve been missed. Your blogs was one of the first I started reading and I really like your individual style and voice. I have only been blogging for a short while but it seems to be something that for whatever reason nearly everyone steps back from, from time to time. I still love blogs, instagram is great, especially for instant interaction but still love reading about peoples makes, the construction process and creative ideas. Met up with loads of sewing bloggers today and what a great bunch of women they were…long live the sewing blogs and bloggers !!!
    I hope you decide to keep posting, but all the best if it’s not meant to be.

  36. helen October 3, 2015 / 5:51 PM

    Great to see you back! Your blog was one of the first I starting reading when I first found sewing blogs. I still love to read them and find other peoples makes inspiring.
    I have to give you credit for helping me get to grips with topstitching – that was a great post!
    The only family member who reads my blog is my sister in law who is also very creative. None of my friends know – I thought I was being odd but it seems not. I like it that it is just read by others interested in sewing.
    I don’t like the photographing part – I’ve started chopping my head off my pictures.
    I haven’t got into Instagram, I just don’t have the time – I won’t get any sewing done if I spend more time on-line,
    Anyway, lovely dress!
    Oh and I miss your comments on the new shoe ranges from Clarks!

  37. Blogless Anna October 3, 2015 / 1:49 PM

    There is definitely still an important space for blogs… but only fill it up if it makes your heart sing. I just posted a shirt photo on Instagram & everyone is commenting along the lies of ‘great shirt’… which is nice. The accompanying blog post tells a different story… great pattern but wrong fabric & wrong size. The Instagram photo I posted didn’t tell that story, my blog did.

  38. oonaballoona October 3, 2015 / 1:21 PM

    i’m sure that i have nothing new to add to the comments… but i’ll ramble on anyway ;). i’ve thought the same things. i don’t think sewing blogs will die completely, because there’s so much info to share that can’t be done on instagram (or maybe i’m wrong there? instagram “captions” are so wordy now, they might as well be blog posts).

    more importantly: I LOVE YOUR DRESS!

  39. Val October 3, 2015 / 11:43 AM

    I discovered blogs by accident a couple of years back. Having given up making lampwork beads I was looking for something new to fill the gap. I dug out my sewing machine after years in mothballs. I looked up some info on Google and this whole new world of sewing opened up. I love reading what all you young people are doing, sewing or otherwise, and it keeps me in the loop. My daughter lives abroad and so I have all you bloggers to keep me in touch with fashion and current trends instead. I’ve thought about blogging myself but I couldn’t stand to have photos of me online so I can quite understand how you feel. I really enjoy your blog and those of all the other talented young women out there so I hope you decide to continue blogging as the mood takes you. Perhaps I should comment more on posts, so that you all know you are being read and appreciated.

  40. smittenness October 3, 2015 / 11:01 AM

    Argh, hit reply too soon thereby proving my own point- very meta. I understand wanting to separate your blogging life from online. Very few people at my day job know about my blog – and i like it that way.

  41. smittenness October 3, 2015 / 10:59 AM

    I do love instagram. But I really love the detail and personality of blog posts. They inspire me to improve my sewing techniques and they provide info on patterns and their pros and cons in a way that i find far more enjoyable to read than in other formats. There’s been talk of blogging being on its way out due to IG, maybe that’s due to the devices we use to access these platforms. I’ll usually browse blogs or IG on my tablet or phone so commenting is a bit of a headache.

  42. Nico October 3, 2015 / 9:50 AM

    Hi Kathryn,
    I stopped blogging too – for pretty much all the same reasons you listed, but especially for reasons of feeling too out there in terms of people like colleagues / people outside the sewing community reading it and also just the hassle of taking photos of myself. And I feel a bit more comfortable on IG that way too.

    I still enjoy reading sewing blogs in general but I just want to chime in and say that your blog is a standout blog and was always one of my favourites! I love seeing what you made and found your talent and style really inspiring. (Also other quirky posts like the robotic dancing queen!) I’ll be a reader if you decide to make a comeback! 🙂

  43. nx44 October 3, 2015 / 9:25 AM

    I still really enjoy reading blogs and think they serve a different function from instagram (which I also enjoy). Your blog was a favorite because I feel like you have a unique, witty voice. I don’t think incorporating tutorials etc, is necessary unless they organically fit into the post. There are so many different tutorials of the same thing online anyway. Sometimes bloggers try too hard to post unique or diversified content to drive traffic and it comes across as inauthentic or just doesn’t hit the spot of why the readers read. Although the post format may seem repetitive, I do enjoy simple posts about finished (or failed) garments and the maker’s experience – inevitably some will be more eventful than others.

    I have a blog that I occasionally post on but the lack of comments now means I’m also not very inspired to and wonder if it is really of any value. On a personal level though, it’s nice being able to look back at old posts.I feel your pain regarding photos – It’s a real effort getting around to taking them and feels very narcissistic, but it’s much better seeing garment photos on a person rather than a hanger or dressmakers dummy, so is worth it. I often think that the clothes look better in real life and wonder if my readers are going to judge me for the pull lines and wavy looking hems etc. that I swear aren’t usually there!

  44. Margaret Esdaile October 3, 2015 / 9:23 AM

    I don’t blog but I do sew. I love reading about everyone’ s sewing adventures and it inspires me to keep on experimenting myself. Sewing blogs have been so helpful as I search for suitable patterns and see other fabric choices and adjustments. It is also encouraging to see and hear that even experienced sewers can make bad choices, make mistakes and loose their mojo. Keep on blogging.

  45. Christy October 3, 2015 / 9:21 AM

    Looks like you have a fair amount of feedback here. Blogs are still relevant and IG can’t replace the detail, which is important when you sew. Taking photos can be difficult and I struggle with that, but I do enjoy keeping a log of what I make, being inspired by others and sharing. Hope you find your answers here. From skimming it appears most people still like blogs 🙂

  46. Jenni October 3, 2015 / 9:16 AM

    While I enjoy the immediacy of IG as a snapshot of a project I much prefer to read the nitty gritty of a project in a blog, whether as a follow up to IG or on its own. But in the last 3 years since I returned to sewing I have failed to write any blog posts as I don’t feel I have anything to add that I don’t already see in my blog feed. Yours is one of those in my feed as your projects tend to be items I haven’t yet or might not tried.

  47. SaSa October 3, 2015 / 9:00 AM

    I miss your blog and your voice! I can understand all of your points though. I hate taking pictures myself and maybe because of that I am not able to take good pictures yet. However, it is so helpful reading posts about patterns in all details and viewing corresponding pictures. I love the internationality of the blogging sewing world a lot, too. Maybe detailed posts about sewn garments will bore your colleagues after time so they will not read them always 😉 I hope you come back, but in any way thank you for telling your thoughts and all the best to you!

  48. Shelley Gibb October 3, 2015 / 8:47 AM

    Love sewing blogs. Love your sewing blog. Love that dress. Scared by Burda magazine (would give that frock a go otherwise). Scared by Instagram – seem to waste too much time already reading, thinking, planning, moaning about lack of sewing time rather than just sewing! Instagram would be hugely distracting for me so I have decided not to go down that particular slippery slope. I have learnt lots from bloggers, the narrative provides so much more than an image alone. Thank you x

  49. Charlotte October 3, 2015 / 8:25 AM

    As a blogger I’m biased, but I think blogs offer something different from Instagram, etc. I read blogs everyday, alongside also looking at Instagram, following podcasts and YouTube channels. But it definitely shouldn’t be a chore – if you aren’t enjoying it then I think taking a break is a good idea. Most readers will be following via bloglovin’ or similar reader & will still be there as and when you feel like blogging again.

  50. Anne October 3, 2015 / 8:16 AM

    Another regular sewing blog reader/lurker here! I agree with all the positive comments above! Hope you get your sewing mojo back and then feel like talking to us some more! Wishing you all the best, Anne

  51. ooobop! October 3, 2015 / 8:07 AM

    I think It’s safe to say that we all miss you and want you back! I can empathise with all those ‘confidence knocks’ but to me, reading someone else’s blog is like visiting an old friend! I’m sure I’m echoing most people here but I like the little insights into everyone’s life, where they live, what they do for a living… all so different and yet all sewn together with a common thread (Sorry. Complete cheese!) I don’t think blogging is going away in a hurry. But you do have to blog regularly to keep the stats up. I’ve noticed that. It is hard work. No ones denying that and I would say thankless but that’s a complete lie because the support and love we get back from our readers is priceless! I’m giving you my best virtual tilty head, puppy dog eyes face. Go on, you know you wanna!! Beautiful dress btw!! xxxx

  52. Christina October 3, 2015 / 8:05 AM

    I still read sewing blogs, 90% of my bloglovin feed is sewing blogs. So not a dying media from my point of view (I’m 33 by the way). What I’ve noticed over the years as my own sewing has gotten better is that I’m not too interested in sewing that is too much “entry level”. This is why I follow your blog, as I do think you sew inspiring makes that are so wearable:-) Having said that, I would definitely hate having my family/non sewing friends invade my ” private” online sewing sphere. So I definitely get where you’re coming from. I also post/follow people on Instagram but feel it’s a different medium compared to blogs…it should mainly be instants of your sews – not a full review, just a teaser;-) I am grateful for people that have the energy to blog and “put it out there” but wouldn’t personally (too much to sew, too little time). I also think that since most people follow blogs via feeds – it’s not as crucial to post regularly. Best of luck finding your future online presence way:-)

  53. tigerlounge2000 October 3, 2015 / 7:50 AM

    Still read blogs – but am trying to weed out any “newbie” blogs. I like yours because you sew more technically challenging projects and you style them with a lot of individual flare. Instagram frustrates me because I always want more details and information.

  54. Janet Friel October 3, 2015 / 7:49 AM

    As someone who has only started to make most of my clothes in the last couple of years, yours is one of the blogs that has inspired me to keep going and try new things. I’ve missed your honest voice and as I don’t do Instagram, I’d really love to see you post again.

  55. Teresa October 3, 2015 / 7:32 AM

    I still read blogs too. I am still quite a new sewer and find the tips and tricks and recommendations useful and the quality produced inspirational. I also love Instagram. You’ve got to follow your heart but there will always be people who are happy to read even if you are just posting a few times a year.

  56. Ann Warner October 3, 2015 / 7:10 AM

    I agree with all the points you made but I still read sewing blogs, I dont blog myself, because I’m not into techie computer stuff and Id rather use the time looking at other blogs rather than checking the comments on my own if I had one. I like reading about how you managed the sewing process and where the fabric Is from and seeing the finished outfit on a ‘real person’ is great, x

  57. almostahippy October 3, 2015 / 6:48 AM

    I miss your blog. I understand all of your points but I really love reading sewing blogs as they provided so much more information detail and humour than IG.

  58. Lyn K October 3, 2015 / 6:35 AM

    I know what you mean with the fact that people know you make your own clothes and then comment on it. I don’t like that either, I’d rather they think it’s some expensive boutique item.

    Anyway, if it helps, I do enjoy reading your blog, And you do still contribute to the sewing world, so don’t think you do.

    • Lyn K October 3, 2015 / 6:36 AM

      Oops spelling mistake:
      Anyway, if it helps, I do enjoy reading your blog. And you do still contribute to the sewing world, so don’t think you don’t.

  59. sewjillian October 3, 2015 / 6:22 AM

    I hear you. I often feel the same. I certainly find IG easier to engage with. BUT I would always look for blog posts about patterns I’m interested in. I like the detailed info, the pitfalls and positives and simply seeing someone’s take on a pattern in more than one photo (which is often all you get in IG understandably). I use IG to share in progress shots (like everyone else above I think!), seek advice with sewing issues I might have (and give advice when it’s asked for and I think I have some) and build immediate conversations. Blogs really don’t allow a natural flow of conversation. Commenting has definitely dropped on my blog. I’ve noticed a trend to comment via IG rather than at the bottom of a blog post (follower reads blog post and comes back to IG to comment). It’s a nice instant conversation. I still think blogs can’t be replaced based on the level of info that can be shared. But that also means they are much harder work.

  60. didyoumakethat October 3, 2015 / 6:14 AM

    I am one of the people who’s sorely missed your blog. I’ve always loved it for the distinct lack of twee, independent thinking and great voice. It sounds like you’ve given yourself time out to remember your tag line – Sewing is fun! Or should be. In terms of the death of blogs – I do wonder if this cry actually reflects a chapter in the life of blogs, that they’ve become a firm foundation that people worry will crumble. As an analogy, I’ve been working in publishing for 23+ years. In all that time I’ve listened to people wail, ‘It’s the death of books!’ It never has been. Never will be. People love the reading experience and they come back to books for solid reasons. Maybe blogs are our online publishing industry and more robust than we give them credit for. If they’re being forced to change and adapt that’s a good thing. Inertia is death. Undoubtedly, statistics and comments are reducing, but that is because engagement is spreading across a variety of media. I love Instagram as it’s given a whole other window on my sewing. I can share a make in real time on Instagram and it reveals (more than a blog) the blood, sweat and tears that can go into something. No sewing fairies in my home, whipping up garments for me whilst I sleep! If I was setting up a sewing blog today from a standing start, I’d certainly face the challenge of joining a crowded room of voices – I think that is an issue. But that’s where lateral thinking comes in! As it does with the dreaded repetition and boredom that I’ve faced on my own blog and which has clearly frustrated you. If the writer is bored, the reader is bored. I’ve actively tried to write posts other than ‘Here’s another dress I made.’ But isn’t that the challenge of blogging? To take the tools and platform we’ve been given for free and make creative work with them? Bring fresh ideas and approaches. Restrictions and limitations are good! When you have boundaries to push against, that’s when creativity comes into play. You’re bored of writing repetitive blog posts with snatched photos? The answers lies in your hands, and I have every confidence you’ll find them!

    • fabrictragic October 4, 2015 / 3:55 AM

      I knew Karen would give a great reply, far more eloquent than I ever would, and for what it’s I agree with so many others that I still love reading a well written blog post, and whilst IG is great for taking up 3 seconds of my attention span per photo, it’s the blog posts about sewing that I get the most from. I love reading about wins, fails, fitting, alterations, hacks and am still very inspired by most of the blogs I read. I have little patience for the blogs that seem to have every. single. post. about free fabric/free patterns (allopinionsmyownofcourse!)

  61. Maaike October 3, 2015 / 4:44 AM

    I still read blogs! I’d definitely read yours again, I always enjoyed your “voice”, and the background deets of your various projects. IG is fun, but not the same. So yes, I would love it if you would blog again!! But only if you’re enjoying it too.

  62. Sophie October 3, 2015 / 4:36 AM

    I love your blog! And I love your sewing. I do hope you make a return. I think yes, people are still reading sewing blogs. But yes, Instagram is so much more, well, instant. That said, I don’t think Instagram will replace blogs. The way I see it, Instagram is more of a teaser. I try and use it to post progress photos and general ‘what i’m up to’ stuff and save finished pieces for the blog, but sometimes it doesn’t happen. The photography thing; this is my personal blogging crux. I wish I had a photographer boyfriend. Where is my photographer boyfriend? Is he out there? Somewhere? Tripods and self timer’s suck but you can get some good results if you take 555 photos.

  63. Cari Homemaker October 3, 2015 / 4:30 AM

    I still read blogs, but comment only rarely because it seems difficult to do so on a phone. I follow a lot of people on Instagram too. For myself I like to blog finished projects and write about the pattern, fabric, design process, etc. I use IG for quick in progress or detail shots and for a lot of things besides sewing.

  64. Nancy October 3, 2015 / 3:42 AM

    I read blogs but don’t blog myself. I never visit IG. I enjoy ready about new projects that fit, suit the individual and offer something about the process. I really don’t enjoy blog hops, seeing a series of garments made from indie pattern testers when the garment just doesn’t fit but the sewist raves about the pattern or individual posts about every minor step in making a garment. You have a great “voice”. I hope you blog when you have something to say.

    • Rain May 16, 2017 / 12:50 PM

      I love these ariesltc. How many words can a wordsmith smith?

    • http://baufinanzierung7x24.info/ September 4, 2017 / 7:52 AM

      dit :When I at first left a comment I clicked on the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and currently every time a remark is added I receive 4 messages with the same comment.

  65. Bella October 3, 2015 / 3:14 AM

    I agree with you on all of your points and share the same feelings about my own blog. It’s all very well posting lots of pictures of things that I’ve made (although taking the photos is a huge pain), but I do wonder what I am contributing to the sewing sphere since I feel like so much info is out there already plus I don’t consider myself a very good writer. Also I don’t particularly enjoy writing. So why do I even have a blog?? For me I started it, and I suppose continue it, to get to know others and try to have a place where other sewists can ‘know’ me. But more and more IG is where I have conversations with sewing friends. I find it’s much faster and commenting is so much easier. Also everyone knows when you’ve replied to their comments, as opposed to blogs which are across several different platforms. So I’m on the fence. But I really enjoy your blog, you’re an entertaining writer and a talented seamstress! Must find you on IG now 🙂

  66. LadyxBec October 3, 2015 / 2:50 AM

    I read blogs! I totally understand your points though – i don’t post as often as I would like, mainly because of the hassle of taking photos etc. But I personally think they’re a bit better for seeing how something looks and explaining the sewing process than instagram

  67. SewSouthLondon October 3, 2015 / 2:34 AM

    I agree with all of your 9 points, and I regularly feel the same way: I don’t like posting photos of myself, it’s another pressure to write content, and Instagram is much less resource-intensive. That said, I think there’s a valid role for blogs in documenting detailed observations on a pattern, such as fit issues, alterations, fabric choices etc. I would still search for blog posts that relate to my choice of patterns.

  68. Ann October 3, 2015 / 2:23 AM

    I’m a stranger from the magical sewing world, and weirdly enough earlier today I was just thinking about the chart you did measuring the levels of enjoyment at each stage of a project! I often think about it, actually, especially as I get ready to cut out my fabric, ugh. That blog post was brilliant. Anyway, I still love blogs when the person is a good, funny writer, as you are! I’ve only recently started looking at Instagram a bit, but I only follow, never post. It’s entertaining, but I do still prefer a blog, for “getting to know” a person and their style. That said, you list some valid reasons above and of course it’s up to you. But I was very happy to read this post just now. Thanks!

    • Sonia October 3, 2015 / 6:25 PM

      I love that chart! I agree with Ann! You have written some of the coolest and most original things about sewing and I have missed you too in your absence. But blogging can take time out of sewing and be a drag. We will miss you if you don’t blog but we will understand…

  69. kaitlynssimplyvintage October 3, 2015 / 1:28 AM

    I love blogs. Instagram for me is more like a quick visual fix, but I love to actually read about projects.
    I totally get the not liking the blog world crossing over with your own. Only a few friends know I blog (I don’t even think they read it). I like having a bit more freedom to share and write when i know my audience. My only problem is I am considering setting up a little side sewing business in the next few months, and naturally I’d want to advertise it to my real life friends, as they’d be my customer base more than blog friends. I am reluctant though to let any old facebook friend be able to see my blog though.

  70. redrocketgirl October 3, 2015 / 12:24 AM

    I love sewing blogs – have never really gotten into instagram. I enjoy, like others have noted, the ‘whole story’ that you’re much more likely to get on blogs – they seem more authentic – less facile and shallow – though I am talking in generalisations here. I don’t appreciate blogs when they become highly commercial – though I understand that has its place. I must admit – I rarely comment on blogs. Part of that is time, as I do read a lot, part of that is device, as I’m often reading on my phone and commenting is a pain on the phone. I’ve never really liked the term ‘lurker’ – I’m a reader, and a pretty devoted one. It’s one of the reasons I like blogs – I like to read about others experience of a pattern, or a project, and get a sense of them as people. To a large extent my blog reading is vicarious sewing – if I don’t have the space/time/energy to make something I’ll check out the makes of others. It seems insane to me that people would say blogging is dead – but I guess then you have to think about why it is that you blog – I’ve been thinking about starting one for a while, but also have that odd issue with the idea of ‘real-life me’ intersecting with ‘sewing blog me’, so I understand your discomfort. That said, purely as a reader, I have always found photos sans head quite off-putting – I guess I like putting a face to the words…

  71. Caitlyn October 3, 2015 / 12:13 AM

    Like several others, I read blogs but don’t use Instagram. I love to read, and I love finding people with voices that are enjoyable to listen to, like yours. I love the narrative aspect of blogs. Even a single picture and a few sentences is enough to keep my interest, but I know that even that much can be a great deal of work for a blogger–and it’s okay if you decide it’s too much for you. Not every blog teaches or inspires, but I don’t think every blog needs to. I don’t think of blogging as inherently self-indulgent, any more than I think of my husband’s work stories or my sister’s jokes as self-indulgent. But if that reasoning doesn’t resonate with you, then neither I nor anyone else ought to coerce you into doing something you’re not comfortable with. Readers won’t enjoy your work if you don’t enjoy it first, and no one can expect you to devote yourself to something you don’t enjoy.

    TL;DR: We hope you’ll stay, but we’ll understand if you go.

  72. NotFancyNancy October 3, 2015 / 12:07 AM

    I love to read sewing blogs and missed yours while you were on break. Instagram is nice and certainly has its place, but there’s nothing like an articulate blogger detailing a beautiful garment’s construction to please my inner sewing geek. I had a non-sewing blog for a while, and always appreciate the amount of work that goes into a post, tutorial or a sew-along. Even if you decide not to return, thank you for all of your past posts. I have your tips for top stitching and the beautiful floral dress bookmarked. Cheers!

  73. gilliancrafts October 2, 2015 / 10:45 PM

    I love IG, but it’s in no way a substitute for blogs for me. I feel like blogs are people’s official voice – more thoughtful and considered, more detailed, more permanent. I read at least 40 blog posts a day through Feedly (some skimming, for sure!) My IG feed is cats, food, progress pics, and daily outfit pics, and I love ti for those things!

  74. Tamsin W-P October 2, 2015 / 10:26 PM

    I read blogs all the time and often add more to my reader after something like the fashioners series. There is more detail on blogs. I have only just started with Instagram and really enjoy the chat, so there is something to be said for both of them

  75. Catherine October 2, 2015 / 10:16 PM

    I read sewing blogs–I don’t do Instagram. I want to know about the process not just see a few snapshots. There’s always some new tidbit: a new pattern, new fabric source, new way of doing something.

  76. Marilla Walker October 2, 2015 / 9:40 PM

    Ah, I still like reading blogs and I especially like blogs like yours where your voice is natural and true. It’s great to see clothes on people, but then Instagram does provide that. The downside of instagram is that it’s harder to search for something if you want to refer back to it or link directly to fabric or patterns. It seems so temporary! I don’t know, I think overall blogs can be very casual. Write when you have something you want to share and your readers will still be here. I will at least! 😉 P.S. I do prefer the conversation on Instagram. The conversation is fast and fun, whereas I rarely check blogs to see if the writer has replied to my comment!

  77. SeeKatSew October 2, 2015 / 9:34 PM

    Yes, I still read sewing blogs. Everyday. I know how you feel about taking pictures of yourself! Instagram doesn’t give enough details on the sewing and construction of garments. I hope you will keep blogging 🙂

  78. Georgia October 2, 2015 / 9:31 PM

    I still read blogs! I’m a lurker. I don’t tend to comment, because I follow so many blogs and news outlets in feedly. But I really appreciate the write-ups vs. just the images in instagram. I like hearing about the process, getting sewing tips and pattern notes, finding out where the cool fabrics are from, etc. So, this random internet stranger really appreciates your blog 🙂

  79. jay October 2, 2015 / 9:11 PM

    I do still read blogs, and haven’t got into instagram and almost all of the rest of social media. Reasons 2 and 4 resonate. Others who sew like to see the clothes on someone, but I don’t like finding the images all over the place and stopped for a while after one shock encounter. Also, I don’t have a set up to take brilliant photos of either finished sewing steps or garments. Nice dress, great fabric choice for it!

    • Liz October 3, 2015 / 12:06 AM

      I love reading the blogs – for the details that just aren’t there on other forms. It’s where the writer’s personality comes through to complement the pictures and for me, I would get a better sense of whether this was the dress/jacket/top for me to make or just admire. And it is also what makes each blog unique.

      Lots of your reasons had me nodding along, because I felt these had come up in your blog (for instance, your photography ‘issues’ of time, space and light had come up before, and for me helped me read the pictures better, but also understand if there were only a few images).

      This is a long way of saying that I feel a blog lets me see the whole project, including the negatives, where I feel instagram, for instance, shows more of the highlights… (You might not instagram the wrinkled after-wear shots… But for someone who consistently makes bad fabric/use choices, these are super improtant (and a relief! It’s not just me) – not that there were a lot… That’s just an example). Okay. Waffling on now, so I will stop. But, thank you.

  80. HouseOFpinheiro (@HouseOFpinheiro) October 2, 2015 / 8:55 PM

    As I said over Instagram I miss your blog. Yes the format changed so much. Most of my comments and interaction is over social media but based on my growing stats blogs aren’t dead yet. People like to read more about the projects on a blog.I rarely get blog comments now which it doesn’t bother me as I known people still appreciate the work. Yes, it’s so much work to have a blog. I would love to see your blog back.

    • Gabrielle October 3, 2015 / 2:04 AM

      Yes, I still read blogs and will be reading yours again if you decide to start blogging again. I follow lots of people on Instagram, but I love reading and seeing a sequence of photos too, so I hope everyone doesn’t stop blogging! Having said that, I do appreciate that awkward feeling you describe – Facebook decided to make my sewing page take over my regular page, so now all my old (non-sewing) friends and family know about my blog, and I hate it! It’s definitely slowed down my blogging but I’m trying to tell myself to toughen up…

What do you think?

