Red crepe Annalotte dress from By Hand London

I made a new dress – an Annalotte.

Red BHL dress

I think this is the first red dress I’ve ever owned!

Ironically, at the wedding I wore it to, there were at least 6 other women wearing bright red. Obviously it’s a thing.

Although the nice thing about making your own dress is that you know nobody else will be wearing the exact same outfit.

So this is a cross between a By Hand London Anna bodice and a Charlotte skirt, and it was heavily inspired by Fiona’s mash-up of the same two patterns.

You have to do some shoogling of darts to get them to match up on the front and back. I kept the double darts on the back skirt and just matched up one set with the back bodice darts.

BHL Anna dress 4

You can see I also changed the sleeves and the neckline. The Anna neckline was a bit too wide for me on the last version I made, so I brought it in at the sides and scooped it out at the front.

Plus, I added a V at the back.

BHL red dress back

You can tell from that back view that this dress is basically too tight. It’s comfortable and wearable because the fabric has stretch to it, but really I could have done with a couple of centimetres more ease the whole way round.

Still I’ve worn it to two events that involved lots of sitting down, dancing and eating and it held out both times. SUCCESS.

It’s made from this amazing Prada self-lined crepe from Minerva Fabrics. Blimey this is gorgeous fabric. It’s really easy to sew, has just enough stretch, and you don’t need to line it! What more could you want?

This only took two metres, so it cost about £24, which I think is pretty good.

I hand-sewed the hem and added a really deep facing for the neckline so it didn’t flip out too much.

BHL red dress 2

Yeah, I haven’t got any better at posing during my lengthy break from blogging. But at least this time you get a lovely picturesque French backdrop.

Possibly the best thing about this dress is that it matches Alex’s kilt perfectly. Top tip – if you wear a kilt to a French wedding you get a LOT of attention.

BHL red Anna dress and kilt

And that’s it! Anyone else made an Annalotte?

26 thoughts on “Red crepe Annalotte dress from By Hand London

  1. Roisin Muldoon October 19, 2014 / 5:05 PM

    Pretty pretty pretty! I have made two Annalottes but haven’t lowered the back neckline yet – so this has given me some inspiration! You look gorgeous in red, you should wear it often! x

  2. Caroline Joynson October 19, 2014 / 6:42 AM

    I love it! The red looks great on you and the combination of the Anna and Charlotte is inspired. You should enter this dress for the BHL patternhackathon!

  3. Donna October 18, 2014 / 4:22 PM

    Beautiful!!

  4. fionaparker17 October 16, 2014 / 2:56 PM

    LOVE this on you Kathryn! High five for lovely Anna-lotte dresses! I really love the sleeve length you’ve added on this and that v shape to the back of the neckline.

  5. nicoleneedles October 15, 2014 / 10:54 PM

    Beautiful! And ‘shoogling’ is an excellent word

  6. Vicki Kate October 15, 2014 / 8:24 PM

    Absolute knock-out! You know how to come back with a bang, it’s lovely to ‘see’ you again!

  7. Lynne October 15, 2014 / 7:46 PM

    Gosh, this is absolutely gorgeous! What a great pattern mash up, and I love the fabric too.

  8. Dani Malloy October 15, 2014 / 2:43 PM

    That color looks great on you! Also, self-lined fabric=GENIUS.

    • yesilikethat October 15, 2014 / 7:25 PM

      It is THE BEST. I am definitely getting more.

  9. gingermakes October 15, 2014 / 2:38 PM

    This is absolutely gorgeous!!! I love it on you! You and Alex look so cute together!

    • yesilikethat October 15, 2014 / 7:25 PM

      I love that photo! It does look like an ad for Raybans a bit though.

  10. Susie October 15, 2014 / 1:03 PM

    I like your mash up very much, but the kilt at a French wedding made me smile more.

  11. Sophie October 15, 2014 / 9:55 AM

    Wow, stunning dress! That’s the sort of fit you long for in a store bought dress, so very impressive! The red looks great on you .

    • yesilikethat October 15, 2014 / 7:25 PM

      Aw thanks – I think it’s a bit tight but pretty happy with it. If I eat a few less Hobnobs it may fit even better.

  12. Mette October 15, 2014 / 8:14 AM

    What a lovely dress! I really like the colour and your description of the fabric makes me want to make my own red dress from the same fabric!

  13. joellestlaurent October 15, 2014 / 7:43 AM

    i love the idea of an annalotte! the anna bodice is so flattering. i love how you two match, without beeing too matchy-matchy!

  14. sparkleneedles October 15, 2014 / 7:40 AM

    I love this! I have the Anna dress on my list: I’m very tempted to find self lined crepe: that sounds like a brilliant invention.

    Excellent seam shoogling too.

    • yesilikethat October 15, 2014 / 7:22 PM

      It is such lovely fabric – you can also use it the wrong side out for a shiny effect, or do the cuffs etc in that side.

  15. Jane October 15, 2014 / 7:05 AM

    No, I haven’t made one, but your lovely version is tempting me mightily, especially in red! Love all the changes you made to the bodice too, it’s fab. And yes, you match your husband’s kilt perfectly. Is he wearing blue suede shoes too??!! Talk about cool, no wonder he got lots of attention! x

    • yesilikethat October 15, 2014 / 7:22 PM

      They’re actually blue tweed DMs! Amazing shoes 🙂 I think you’d look great in a red Annalotte.

  16. rillafree October 14, 2014 / 10:17 PM

    Not made an Annalotte, but I’m planning my first Anna and I may just steal your sleeve and neckline ideas!

What do you think?

