Me Made May 2014 week three: the sun comes out!

I’ve really enjoyed this week’s round of MMM, probably because the sun came out.

I also went to the big London sewing meetup which was completely epic. Never have I seen so many handmade dresses together in one place! It almost caused a rip in the space-time-clothing continuum.

Anyway, here’s what I wore this week.

MMM Day 12 and 13

Day 12, off to work. I am wearing my vintage Maudella skirt and my stripey Burda kimono sleeve top. My cardigan is from H&M, my brooch is from Tatty Devine, and my shoes are from Clarks (of course).

Day 13, workday. Wearing my polka-dot Moss mini (it’s on wonkily, the seam does really sit at the front). Also my Built by Wendy sweatshirt.

MMM 14 and 15Day 14, at work on a sunny day. I had a haircut! I’ve been growing my hair for ages, so I could have an up-do at my wedding, and also just for the novelty value. But I’m so happy to have a bob again. Oh, I’m wearing some unblogged denim trousers, my McCalls white broderie top, and a cardigan from Dorothy Perkins.

Day 15, at work, still sunny I’m wearing my yellow skirt from a vintage pattern, and my Hemlock top. Must make more of these.

MMM 16 and 17

Day 16, at work. The first time this year my legs have seen the sunlight without a protective layer of tights. It was a tough day for them but I think they coped well. Not sure about all the passersby who were blinded by my milkbottle white pins. I am wearing a Simplicity 2258 skirt, a McCalls white shirt, a cardigan from Cos, and some yellow Vans (actually a wedding present from my husband!).

Day 17, off to the big sewing meetup Wearing my Flora dress for the first time in public. The cross-over top gapes a bit and I was in danger of flashing everyone on the tube and at the meetup, so I’ll probably stitch it down.  My cardigan is from Uniqlo and my shoes are from, yes, Clarks. This was the perfect outfit for a day of chatting, shopping and drinking with 70 other sewing ladies.

Day 18

Day 18, Sunday brunch and outdoors drinking Check out the different backdrop! And the yellow light coming from a strange orb in the sky! It was so hot today. I wore my Simplicity Lisette traveller shirtdress. I’m still not 100% sure about this dress so I’m glad that Me-Made-May gave me the push to wear it.

31 thoughts on “Me Made May 2014 week three: the sun comes out!

  1. Donna May 22, 2014 / 4:55 PM

    Yay for sun! I haven’t quite dared to go tight-less yet.

  2. LinB May 22, 2014 / 4:21 PM

    Be sure about the Lisette! The silhouette is good on you, and it is a classic style. The print is so fresh and fun — because it is in a classic color combination, you can wear it for years to come. Agreed, such a bold print limits wearing somewhat, since you don’t want the world to think you only have one dress. (I am a very White, middle-aged lady who made a dress with huge, brightly-colored African masks printed on it, which I only allow out in public a few times each year. It always gets compliments, but it is extremely memorable. That has increased the lifespan of the fabric, so I don’t mind.)

  3. Vicki May 22, 2014 / 7:20 AM

    I love that Lisette dress on you! Fab fabric & it looks great with the belt. I reckon it’s a keeper! Xx

  4. emsewcrazy May 21, 2014 / 4:46 AM

    Fun outfits! The sun came out here too. So nice. I’m headed to work at a summer camp and am steeling myself to the fact that I’m going to be blinding people with my white legs too. Glad I’m not alone in this struggle. 🙂

  5. SeeKatSew May 20, 2014 / 8:48 PM

    I love that shirtdress from Lisette on you.

  6. Jenna May 20, 2014 / 6:47 PM

    I love your Flora, it was so nice to see it in person on Saturday, and your yellow skirt. Actually I love all your clothes but those two stand out!

  7. Elle May 20, 2014 / 12:51 PM

    That’s so funny you say you aren’t sure about Day 18’s dress, because I think it’s my favorite of the lot!

  8. fionaparker17 May 20, 2014 / 6:42 AM

    I have no idea why you’re unsure about the Lisette dress, you look amazing in it! Super stylish!

  9. Tamsin W-P May 19, 2014 / 6:14 PM

    Great wardrobe – also love the shirtdress!. It was great to catch up with you again!

  10. Hélène May 19, 2014 / 12:19 PM

    Your Lisette Traveller dress is gorgeous. I love it!

  11. helen May 19, 2014 / 11:45 AM

    Love that shirt dress!

  12. macinic May 19, 2014 / 11:30 AM

    Fabulous! Am adoring days 13, 15 & 18!! 😉

  13. Angela May 19, 2014 / 9:49 AM

    This might be my first time commenting, but I had to stop lurking to say how much I love that shirtdress.

    • yesilikethat May 19, 2014 / 5:59 PM

      Thanks Angela! Maybe I need to wear it more 🙂

  14. yosami May 19, 2014 / 9:23 AM

    Love this week’s outfits, especially the dresses! A bit of sun makes MMMay so much easier doesn’t it!

  15. ooobop! May 19, 2014 / 6:34 AM

    Well done. You’re over half way! Your polka dot moss mini is so cute. I need more little skirts in my life! x

  16. Ingrid May 19, 2014 / 12:03 AM

    Your ‘Day 13’ sweatshirt is awesome. Lovely to meet you at #nylon2014 btw!

    • yesilikethat May 19, 2014 / 5:58 PM

      Great to meet you too! It was such a nice day.

  17. Colesworth May 18, 2014 / 10:51 PM

    The shirt dress is excellent, you look great in it ;o)

    • Anisha May 16, 2017 / 11:59 AM

      Elle July 21, 2009 In response to Daniel Castellanos:I am right-brained. And I just completed the IB Program and have recieved my diploma.Being right-brained doesn’t mean that school is ‘hard’ for anyone. In fact, on my IB Math Methods exam, I recieved a 6. In Biology I recieved a 5. So the whole &##gh6;ri21t-brained&88217; argument can’t be used as an excuse for ‘struggling’ in school. I was also in my the top ten of my class and I am double majoring in Chemistry and Biology.If you put your mind to it, you can do anything. Whether you are right/left brained. It doesn’t matter. Anything is possible. You just have to try.

  18. Mrs Gusset May 18, 2014 / 10:43 PM

    Day 18 shirt dress – yes I like that.

  19. gingermakes May 18, 2014 / 10:24 PM

    Look at that sunshine! I like your day 14 outfit, too, and the lovely yellow skirt!

  20. Kathryn May 18, 2014 / 10:12 PM

    Your shirt dress is gorgeous, and looks so stylish! I love day 14 outfit too. The meetup looks like it was so much fun, wish I could have made it!

  21. nx44 May 18, 2014 / 9:57 PM

    I really like your day 14 outfit, it’s looks very chic and your hair looks fab! Also the flora and shirtdress look great

  22. Shelley Gibb May 18, 2014 / 9:12 PM

    Don’t doubt the shirt dress, you look fab.

  23. Elena May 18, 2014 / 9:05 PM

    Gorgeous stuff. Particularly love Day 15’s skirt, and Day 14’s entire outfit!

  24. Caroline Joynson May 18, 2014 / 8:59 PM

    I think your Lisette Traveller dress is fab – should def go into your YES pile after MMM

What do you think?

