Minerva Blogging Network: Chambray shirt (Vogue 1323)

I’ve finally jumped on the chambray bandwagon!

chambray shirt 1

Yes, I may be five years behind the rest of the blogging world, but at least I got there in the end.

This is my latest Minerva Blogging Network project, and the pattern is Vogue 1323. I’ve wanted to sew this ever since I saw Erica B’s heavenly version in hot pink.

Mine isn’t quite as slinky, but it’s a lovely little spring shirt and was fun to sew. You can read my full post about it on the Minerva network here.

Chambray shirt closeup

The fabric is gorgeous but it does tend to wrinkle. I promise that I ironed the shirt before I took these photos, even if you can’t really tell.

Somehow, even though I spent ages matching everything, the pockets have come out wonky at the bottom. Look at the photo – the pocket on my left is about a cm lower than the pocket on my right.

This is DEEPLY annoying, as I swear they were even at one point. I think I caused the wonkiness when I sewed the placket.

Here’s an in-progress shot, you can see that the left pocket has already started to creep down…

chambray shirt in progress

I’m not convinced that I sewed the bottom of the button placket correctly, as the instructions were brief and v obscure. So that may be the reason.

Oh well, I don’t think anyone will notice.

If they do, hopefully they’ll just think I have one bosom larger than the other. Better that than shoddy sewing skills.

French seams on armhole seams

The instructions for the rest of the shirt were good. They tell you to do french seams all over the shop, even on the sleeves, and I obediently followed. It makes for a lovely clean finish, which is good as this fabric does fray a bit.

chambray skirt back

I don’t always do what it says on pattern instructions, but I tend to think they know best, even if what they’re saying is obviously ridiculous. Also, I always read instruction manuals, which may be a connected habit.

Just a small insight into my psyche there for you.

You can buy the kit for this project here for £34, which includes everything down to the thread (chosen by clever Vicky at Minerva, and it’s a perfect match). You even get a trouser pattern thrown in by Vogue for no extra! How can you resist?

p.s. You might recognise the trousers from a previous Minerva project.

chambray shirt 2

33 thoughts on “Minerva Blogging Network: Chambray shirt (Vogue 1323)

  1. rosalindgrace August 12, 2014 / 10:23 PM

    oh haven’t seen this pattern yet, love it!

  2. laurabehindthehedgerow May 27, 2014 / 9:14 PM

    Love the shirt! I’m currently sewing a skirt with this same fabric. Wish I had enough leftover for this top. Thanks for the inspiration! x

  3. fionaparker17 May 24, 2014 / 9:21 PM

    Excellent pattern and fabric choice! I can imagine this is something you’ll get a hell of a lot of wear out of. I would never have even noticed the pockets if you hadn’t pointed it out, they’re only a smudge off

  4. charityshopchic May 24, 2014 / 8:26 AM

    Kathryn this is beautiful work. I’m sure the French seams were fiddly, but it had to be worth it, right?!

  5. Jenna May 18, 2014 / 6:57 PM

    I love your blouse, and I also love Chambray! I went a bit overboard with it this year but I can see myself doing the same again!

  6. starryfishathome May 18, 2014 / 11:30 AM

    Nice shirt. I hate putting two pockets on a shirt for that reason, I just go with the men’s shirt thing with one pocket.

  7. girlguydogcat May 17, 2014 / 9:01 PM

    I love this blouse and tried it but the placket sent me over the edge! I couldnt figure it out. I finally had to set it aside, I was so frustrated. I’ll probably pick it up again sometime in a muslin fabric to see if I can make it work.

    • yesilikethat May 18, 2014 / 7:58 PM

      It is frustrating – I had lots of headscratching trying to figure it out! In the end I just made it up but it’s a bit messy inside.

  8. Kelly May 17, 2014 / 7:31 PM

    Looks great! I would never have noticed those pockets if you hadn’t said anything. So close. Chambray is a perfect fit for you!

  9. Donna May 17, 2014 / 8:47 AM

    Wow your version is so much better than Vogue’s!

  10. Katy May 17, 2014 / 8:39 AM

    I really like this! I wouldn’t have noticed the wonky pockets if you didn’t say anything 🙂 The colour looks great on you too! PS I am loving how much of your wardrobe is handmade, totally have sewing envy right now!

    • yesilikethat May 18, 2014 / 7:59 PM

      Aw thanks! I’m loving Me Made May, it’s helping me to wear more of my handmade wardrobe instead of being lazy and reaching for the same thing all the time 🙂

  11. beebeesvintagedress May 16, 2014 / 9:42 PM

    Welcome to the Chambray bandwagon! I think that shirt is lovely on you. The fit is great and the fabric was the perfect choice. I’d honestly never have looked twice at that pattern. The model gymnastics kind of put me off of that vogue collection all together!

    • yesilikethat May 18, 2014 / 8:25 PM

      It was the most random collection of model poses I have ever seen. But some gems hidden amongst the oddness!

  12. Kirsty May 16, 2014 / 2:26 PM

    Love it. The band collar makes it really interesting.

  13. Sara May 16, 2014 / 11:19 AM

    Beautiful shirt! Chambray really suits you. Such a good color for you!

  14. Jane May 16, 2014 / 9:34 AM

    I love this! I have this pattern and need to dig it out again.

  15. Pootle and Make May 16, 2014 / 9:33 AM

    Lovely shirt. I love chambray too. I have some in my stash that is waiting for the right project to come up.

  16. Lady Stitcher May 16, 2014 / 8:01 AM

    Lovely shirt! It looks comfortable and very smoothly finished. I always read the manual too (and then often disregard it!)

  17. Chuck May 16, 2014 / 5:46 AM

    A) the chambray bandwagon is excellent and comfortable. B) I would never ever have noticed the pockets if you hadn’t pointed them out. C) 100% sewed outfit is awesome!

  18. Haylee Atkinson May 16, 2014 / 5:41 AM

    I really really like this. I love this entire outfit, I’m actually really excited because I have jeans just like that and a top just like that too (though definitely not as cool because I didn’t make it) but I totally am inspired to recreate this outfit now. So cute! You did a fabulous job on the shirt, the placket and the back yoke and the french seams and topstitching and everything is so crisp and precise! Seriously really impressed.

    Oh and for what it’s worth, I NEVER would have noticed the pockets had you not said something. Seriously from an outsider’s perspective it’s not something you would ever, ever notice. I hate stuff like that though, it’s like come on- if I’m going to actually read a pattern, it better come out the way it says! haha

    • yesilikethat May 18, 2014 / 8:25 PM

      Ah thanks Haylee! I’m amazed I managed to set the sleeves in to be honest, normally I have massive issues with it.

  19. Marie May 15, 2014 / 10:36 PM

    Love this Kathryn and I think it’s beautifully made!

  20. gingermakes May 15, 2014 / 10:06 PM

    Love this! It looks so pro! I’m not usually into band collars, but I really like this.

  21. navybluethreads May 15, 2014 / 9:46 PM

    Looks pretty impressive to me! You’d have to be looking pretty darn close to even notice the ever so slightly wonky pockets. And cheeky blighters shouldn’t be looking there anyway 😉

  22. fabrictragic May 15, 2014 / 9:34 PM

    Great colour combination. French seamed armhole is impressive – the only time I managed one successfully was when making a shirt for the husbo, and the sleeve was inserted flat rather than round – is this how you did it? The blue really suits you!

    • yesilikethat May 18, 2014 / 8:26 PM

      Hello, I did insert them in the round, although flat would probably have been a better idea! Not sure how I did it, think it was beginner’s French seam luck….

  23. Caroline Joynson May 15, 2014 / 8:42 PM

    Such a lovely colour on you. It looks smart yet comfy at the same time. Beautiful stitching – would love to see some of the french seam action going on on the inside – I’ve never managed to get sleeves in the arm-hole using a French seam successfully yet – any tips?

    • yesilikethat May 15, 2014 / 9:15 PM

      Thanks Caroline! I’ve added a picture of the french seamed armhole just for you 🙂 Not sure how exactly I did it, I recall using a lot of pins….

  24. Jen May 15, 2014 / 8:37 PM

    Haha, love that insight into your psyche. I’m the complete opposite – I never read the manual. Causes me all sorts of problems. Anyway, love this shirt! The collar style is very cute, and you honestly can’t tell the pockets are slightly misaligned. X

What do you think?

