Me-Made-May 2014: week 2

Will you look at that, another week been and gone.

I’m finding Me-Made-May a bit of a struggle at the moment. I just want to put on my Levis in the morning and not think about what to wear. It could be the weather, it’s been horribly rainy here this week.

Anyway, here’s what I wore in week 2:

Days 5 & 6:

MMMDays5&6

Day 5: Wearing some unblogged trousers which I will talk about soon, my giraffe shirt, and a jumper from Uniqlo (which also featured heavily in last year’s MMM, if I recall correctly).

Day 6: Gah, what a terrible photo. I got up too late for Alex to take my picture in the morning so had to settle for a late-night picture in the dark. I’m wearing my blue jeans, my leopard print top, and an old grey cashmere man’s jumper that I reshaped on my overlocker and added elbow patches to. Not that you can see any of that in this picture.

Days 7 & 8:

MMM7&8

Day 7: Wearing an unblogged knit pencil skirt, made from the same fabric as my Plantain, a new shirt which I’ll blog about this week (it’s Vogue 8728), and a cardigan from Cos.

Day 8: Once again I got up too late to take advantage of the in-house husband photo studio, so here’s a super glamorous selfie taken in the disabled toilets at work. I’m wearing my green skirt, a shawl I knitted years ago, and a jumper from Uniqlo. Also, my tights have hearts on!

Days 9, 10 & 11:

MMMDay9&10&11

Day 9: I’m wearing my tartan skirt, my stripey Hemlock top, and my favourite cardigan from Cos. Check out my amazing multi-tasking abilities, drinking tea while getting my picture taken like a boss.

Day 10: Saturday, hooray! I did practically nothing on Saturday and it was great. A weekend where I don’t have to get on any public transport is a good weekend in my book. I did manage some sewing. I’m wearing my first pair of me-made jeans, an unblogged basic jersey top, and (say it with me now) a cardigan from Cos.

Day 11: Today I stayed in all day cooking and it was great. I’m wearing my blue skinny jeans, my stripey Hemlock, and my knitted Tinder cardigan. I was actually wearing my hideous (but comfortable) indoor slippers but I took them off for reasons of vanity.

So there we go, 11 days down. I’ve been too busy to spend much time in the Flickr group this year, which is a real shame as it’s a great place to get inspiration. The one person I have seen and highly recommend following is Sara from Mixed Emotions. You must check out her blog – I want to wear everything she makes.

14 thoughts on “Me-Made-May 2014: week 2

  1. Thea May 13, 2014 / 7:31 PM

    I so hear you about the weather – kinda tricky to motivate yourself to wear nice stuff (or difficult to dress stuff) when all you want is the equivalent of the comfort blanky… Maybe I should make a comfort blanky for next year’s May. I’m thinking it would get a lot of use.

    • yesilikethat May 13, 2014 / 9:14 PM

      Definitely! Apparently it’s going to get warmer here tomorrow….fingers crossed 🙂

  2. Steph May 13, 2014 / 11:53 AM

    Nice job! I really like your new shirt and will look for the blog post. Thanks also for introducing me to a new blog. I also like Sara’s style and sewing choices.

  3. justsewtherapeutic May 12, 2014 / 7:38 PM

    I’m really enjoying MMM, I’ve realised that I’ve been lazy constantly wearing jeans, Plantain’s and Miette cardigans for the past couple of months! I loved the Moss skirts you wore last week, so much so I’ve got one cut out waiting to be sewn up!

    • yesilikethat May 13, 2014 / 9:15 PM

      It’s the picture taking that I find really useful, I start to realise just how much I wear black tights/jeans and leave all my handmade clothes languishing in my wardrobe…

  4. Sara May 12, 2014 / 12:22 PM

    Terrific wardrobe! I’m envious of your knitting skills. Thank you so much for all the nice things you said about me. I’ve only been blogging for a few months, so it really means a lot.

    • yesilikethat May 13, 2014 / 9:15 PM

      I love your blog and your style! Great to discover a wonderful new blog like yours 🙂

  5. navybluethreads May 12, 2014 / 11:05 AM

    Knitwear featuring heavily in my photos too- it’s freezing up here in Manchester!
    Love your green skirt.

  6. beebeesvintagedress May 12, 2014 / 10:53 AM

    Those outfits are brilliant. I’ve been struggling for the same reason! Summer dresses just don’t cut it in rainy May in England!

  7. Layla May 12, 2014 / 8:18 AM

    I saw you pottering about in Stokey on day five! I was on my bike and thought it’d be a bit lame to be like “hullo I sew too and read your blog”! :/

    • yesilikethat May 13, 2014 / 9:16 PM

      Dude you should totally have said hello! I tend to walk around in a complete daze so probably looked pretty ridiculous 🙂 Definitely say hi next time!

  8. thisblogisnotforyou May 11, 2014 / 9:38 PM

    Wow, you’ve got quite a wardrobe there! I love these outfits and that you have so many basics in your handmade wardrobe. I do not. And this is why I cannot take part in the MMM for another year. Too many special occasion dresses…meh. I really need some comfy trousers and shirts, shirts, shirts. And everytime I’m on your blog I want to have this friggin bookshelf!!

  9. gingermakes May 11, 2014 / 9:37 PM

    I love all your animal prints! You know just how much to wear without looking tacky but while still looking fun. Well done, you!

What do you think?

