Minerva Project April: Green ponte Anna from By Hand London

I made a new dress!

It’s my latest Minerva project and you can see the write-up on their (new and improved!) blog here.

Green dress 3
Here’s the details:

Pattern: The Anna from By Hand London

Fabric: Ponte in ‘Forest’ from Minerva Crafts (this stuff is the best ponte ever. Highly recommended).

Bookshelves: IKEA Billy

Green dress 1

Verdict: I like this dress but have only worn it once – the boatneck feels oddly formal for everyday wear. Also, I am waiting for bare legs (or at least nude tights) weather to return.

green dress back

green dress 2

Buy the kit here, or visit the Minerva blog for more details.

23 thoughts on “Minerva Project April: Green ponte Anna from By Hand London

  1. Almond Rock May 5, 2014 / 3:56 PM

    Love that colour! I’m already wearing nude tights so I could liberate my dresses. Surely bare legged weather can’t be too far off 😦

  2. sewlaurasew April 29, 2014 / 9:46 PM

    This is beautiful! I love the long sleeves, so pretty!

  3. Hester Lierre April 28, 2014 / 7:48 PM

    I’ve been wanting to make an Anna for some time now, and you might have just inspired me! Beautiful fabric choice

  4. prttynpnk April 27, 2014 / 12:23 PM

    I love this one so much!!!

  5. robinsnc April 27, 2014 / 2:08 AM

    I think this might be my favorite version of this pattern ever. It’s gorgeous!

  6. velosewer April 26, 2014 / 11:50 PM

    This is certainly a great colour and style for you. If it feels formal, make another one;)

  7. maevef2014 April 26, 2014 / 8:10 PM

    It’s lovely! You do look very smart n chic in it. It’s very similar to the one I made before Xmas for my birthday. Keep it for nights out or special occasions (make some up), ponte works great for this pattern. So versatile.

  8. navybluethreads April 26, 2014 / 8:07 PM

    The neckline does make it pretty formal, but beautifully so. Fab shade of green on you 🙂

  9. Charise @ CRUNCH compass April 26, 2014 / 6:05 PM

    I agree it looks more formal than everyday – it’s beautiful! And I love your bookcases 🙂

  10. Linda April 26, 2014 / 5:56 PM

    Lovely! I agree – the style and colour are great on you!

  11. Kelly April 26, 2014 / 4:06 PM

    Well, there’s not much to say about this one, except that it’s absolutely perfect! The color and silhouette are beautiful and in ponte it must be so comfy… I need one just like this!

  12. angela April 26, 2014 / 3:06 PM

    Very cute! I love the longer sleeves, great fit!

  13. Lisa P April 26, 2014 / 9:54 AM

    That’s one gorgeous dress. I love the fact you’ve used Ponte. Did you down size at all to take into account the stretch ?

    • yesilikethat April 27, 2014 / 9:16 AM

      Hi Lisa, I didn’t size down as I found the first Anna I made fairly tight around the waist, and this Ponte isn’t massively stretchy. I would definitely size down with a stretchier jersey fabric.

  14. Lynne April 26, 2014 / 9:15 AM

    This is gorgeous! Love that you’ve made Anna in ponte, and isn’t that ponte lovely. I second your recommendation, because I used the same fabric in emerald for my Coco dress.

  15. helen April 26, 2014 / 8:12 AM

    I see a lot of ponte being made up but I have never tried it myself. I think I’ll have to get myself some. The colour is lovely on you and the dress is a really nice shape.

  16. Donna April 26, 2014 / 7:28 AM

    This is beautiful – I love the color too!

  17. Lady Stitcher April 26, 2014 / 5:18 AM

    This is gorgeous! It’s a great colour on you and a brilliant adaptation of the pattern.

  18. Kaitlyn Emmett April 26, 2014 / 3:52 AM

    Wow. This is wonderful. Make me want to pull out my green wool fabric and see if I have enough for Anna. Could yo try this with coloured tights? I swear by this colour and purple all winter

  19. Mary Danielson Perry April 26, 2014 / 2:30 AM

    How lovely! This pattern looks amazing made up in a ponte. What a great idea! This color is fabulous on you. I love everything about this dress!

  20. gingermakes April 26, 2014 / 2:28 AM

    Wow! This is so lovely! I never would’ve thought to try this pattern in ponte, but it looks great! Nice work!

What do you think?

