Burda plaid skirt (again) and Goldhawk Road

Oh hey there! What’s new? I’ve just been hanging out in front of my house, catching some spring rays.

Kew Palace skirt

Oh alright, that’s not really my house, it’s Kew Palace. But don’t you think it coordinates rather nicely with my new skirt?

This skirt has been a long time in the making. With my usual stunning timing, I bought the fabric on a Goldhawk Road shopping trip in September, thinking it would be perfect for autumn.

I cut out the pieces in December, and didn’t get round to sewing them until March, just in time for spring. Which is no longer the perfect season for a lined wool tartan skirt.

Well, this skirt may be distinctly autumnal in hue, but I think I can wear it for a bit longer. It camouflaged well with the Kew Gardens foliage anyway.

Kew gardens skirt 2

Pattern details:

The pattern is Burda 02/2010, and you may recognise it from an earlier version.

This skirt is a replacement for that previous one, which I sadly shrank in the wash. It’s the perfect A-line skirt pattern.

As with any plaid, the cutting out was tedious beyond belief. I laid out all the pieces on a single layer of fabric to make matching the stripes a bit easier, and cut the pockets and waistband on the bias to avoid having to match those.

My skirt has pockets

Flowers kew gardens

Lining and zip:

I neglected to take any pictures of the inside but I lined it with a lovely heavy brown fabric which was also purchased on Goldhawk Road.

I don’t know what it’s called, but it’s a lot heftier than any polyester lining I’ve used before, and actually nice to sew with. Which makes a change.

Excuse the boasting, but I just have to point out my pattern matching skillz on the back (please to ignore the wrinkles and stray bits of thread.)

skirt stripe matching back

I used the Crescent skirt sewalong zipper method which is my fave for lined skirts. After avoiding the cut-out pieces for so long, the whole thing only took one evening to put together. I even hand-hemmed it which is pretty rare for me.

Speaking of rarities, isn’t it nice to see a different photo backdrop on this blog? I’m afraid it’s probably back to depressing grey hallway pictures soon, so don’t get too used to it.

kew skirt 3

My favourite thing about this skirt is the number of different colours in the plaid.

I spotted it at the bottom of a pile in Classic Textiles (I think), and it goes with nearly every one of my jumpers. Stylish AND versatile! I like it.

Here’s some more colours from Kew Gardens in homage:

purple tulips

Chairs at Kew Palace Kitchens

Is it too late to save Goldhawk Road?

Kew Gardens may be a London landmark, but so are the textile shops on Goldhawk Road, where I bought the fabric to make this skirt. And those shops are still in danger of demolition.

Depressingly, from this article it seems like the area will definitely be redeveloped, but I’m hoping there’s still a chance the shops can be saved. There’s a Facebook group here which is campaigning against the changes.

It’s a shocking state of affairs when well-loved and well-used local businesses can be torn down to make way for 194 luxury apartments‘, but billionaires can buy rotting mansions as investments and let them sit empty and unused. London property prices are out of control and it’s changing the face of the city.

I have no ideas on whether’s there’s anything we can do about this apart from making voodoo dolls of local politicians. If anyone has practical suggestions I’d love to hear them.

27 thoughts on “Burda plaid skirt (again) and Goldhawk Road

  1. Dani April 24, 2014 / 10:59 PM

    Love the first pic…. very Wes Anderson. I can’t believe they’re getting rid of the fabric shops on Goldhawk Road. I used to live in Shepherd’s Bush and frequented those shops all the time, I remember some fantastic denim roller blinds I made for tuppence ha’penny for the enormous floor to ceiling windows of the first place I lived in when I moved to London 20 odd years ago. I’ve been over in Islington for the last 7 years so don’t get a chance to go over that way too much these days. Maybe I need to get my ar$e down there again to snap up some bargains before their demise. Loving the blog by the way xx

    • yesilikethat April 27, 2014 / 9:18 AM

      Denim roller blinds sounds amazing! If you’re in Islington you should definitely visit Raystitch, not that cheap but lovely fabric selection.

  2. Caroline Joynson April 19, 2014 / 7:46 PM

    Hey what a lovely skirt! Amazing plaid matching – it looks beautifully made.
    I met you on the day you bought that pretty plaid at Goldhawk Road – I travelled back into London on the underground with you and Katie (I had a massive bag of plain cottons for a school project). So glad your skirt turned out how you imagined!
    All the best, Caroline

    • yesilikethat April 27, 2014 / 9:18 AM

      Hi Caroline, I totally remember! It has taken me so long to sew this skirt, I’m sure you used your cottons up a lot sooner 🙂

  3. sewamysew April 10, 2014 / 3:34 AM

    Seriously amazing plaid matching. Crossing fingers my end re the Goldhawk Rd senario. I hate that street shopping generally is being taken over by shopping centers (malls). It’s such an unatural environment and small business can’t get into them anyway because the rates are so high. Vale small business. Not happy!

  4. S April 10, 2014 / 2:28 AM

    Nicely done! Excellent pattern matching and nice fit. It’s always very nice when something matches colour-wise with lots of options in one’s wardrobe. I also love all of the yellow flowers! I think I have the same shoes (or a close facsimile) which you are inspiring me to pull out soon. It’s unfortunate though that we both must wear tights in springtime (our snow just melted and I am still wearing my parka by day. 🙂

    • yesilikethat April 27, 2014 / 9:19 AM

      Clarks brogues, they’re the best! I need a new pair though as these are on their last legs….

  5. hollyannabella April 9, 2014 / 8:23 PM

    Cool skirt! I love it. Looks great with your mustard jersey. Makes me want a tartan skirt now too!

  6. Lynne April 9, 2014 / 7:25 PM

    This is lovely! Fab fabric, (right up my street) and the stripe matching and zip are great!

  7. navybluethreads April 9, 2014 / 5:36 PM

    Matching your skirt to your ‘palace’? Fab idea! If only…
    Truly great matching skills

  8. starryfishathome April 9, 2014 / 4:36 PM

    Lovely skirt, I’m moving to single layer cutting for almost everything now. It saves a lot of tedious straightening and checking to see the under layer is perfectly aligned. I do hope the shops on goldhawk road can be saved or relocated. I would guess their rents are really cheap judging by the state of the shops ( distinct whiff of mould here and there.).

  9. gingermakes April 9, 2014 / 3:29 PM

    Oh no, I’m so sorry to hear about Goldhawk Road! I’m holding out hope that the politicians change their minds and it’s allowed to stay. Here in New York it seems like everything is turning into luxury condos… I scouted three industrial buildings just this week that are each turning into 40-story+ condo buildings in what was a very affordable, family-oriented Brooklyn neighborhood just a few years ago. It’s hard not to see cities as increasingly just playgrounds for the ultra-wealthy.

    But. On a happier note, your skirt is really, really cute! Your plaid matching looks fabulous!

    • Miriana April 14, 2014 / 6:21 AM

      That’s exactly how I’ve heard London described; a theme park for the rich!

  10. Beverly April 9, 2014 / 3:02 PM

    Love your plaid skirt! Really enjoyed your beautiful photos.

  11. Kelly April 9, 2014 / 2:52 PM

    😦 We have the same sort of property problem in San Francisco. Everywhere you look there is a new luxury apartment building with insane rents. Well, your skirt is wonderful! I love that plaid, and it totally works okay for spring!

  12. smittenness April 9, 2014 / 12:02 PM

    Really lovely skirt. I’m particularly impressed with your mad matching skillz. whole goldhawk road fiasco is a shambles. I’ve been following along and it makes my blood boil to think about it. Most of those shops along that stretch are independent too. Terrible thing to happen to them.

  13. Camilla April 9, 2014 / 9:15 AM

    Awesome plaid matching skillz. I love the colours in your fabric, very autumnal. Such a shame about Goldhawk Road, I hope it can be saved.

  14. Suzie April 9, 2014 / 8:16 AM

    Beautiful skirt and beautiful location shots!
    I’m on the look out for a classic a-line skirt pattern so I think I’ll bookmark this one – thanks for the inspiration!
    And how brilliant that so many of your jumpers go with the skirt, sounds like it will be a wardrobe staple for you.
    So sad about Goldhawk rd. I may not live in London, but I seem to always end up on Goldhawk rd whenever I visit! I really do hope they manage to save the shops somehow.

  15. Helen April 9, 2014 / 8:01 AM

    So sad about Goldhawk road. I used to live near there about 10 years ago, and although I didn’t sew then so didn’t use the fabric shops, I did use to regularly shop in the area. I hope it can be saved!

    Your skirt is beautiful and if you fancy coming home sometime soon, would fit in perfectly with our current Scottish weather, I think we might have got up to about 10 deg last week?! Your while outfit looks great, by the way!

    • Helen April 9, 2014 / 8:01 AM

      *whole outfit*

  16. annekecaramin April 9, 2014 / 7:48 AM

    TGorgeous skirt, very bad news about Goldhawk Road. i’ve never even managed to go there! It’s a familiar story, sadly enough.

  17. Kathryn April 9, 2014 / 7:10 AM

    That’s so sad about goldhawk road. These tory boy politicians with their privileges just have no concern or understanding for the ordinary people being priced out of their own city. Thanks for the update.

  18. Kathryn April 9, 2014 / 7:07 AM

    Gorgeous plaid & serious pattern matching skills! I think someone commented on your Instagram that this photo looks Wes Anderson-esque & I totally thought that too. Something about the colours. That’s so sad about gol

  19. maevef2014 April 9, 2014 / 6:59 AM

    Boast away Kathryn, that pattern matching is perfection. If I can ever manage that I’ll be shouting it from the highest hill. Can’t beat an alien skirt with pockets 🙂 Lovely photos, hope you enjoyed your trip to Kew.

  20. ooobop! April 9, 2014 / 6:34 AM

    I love your skirt! Right up my street. And that fabric is top notch, lady. Good spot! x

What do you think?

