Fleece lined skater dress – OR the alternative slanket

Earlier this year I discovered the wonder that is fleece-lined tights. They were a wardrobe essential from January to mid-May in London.

Now the cold weather has come back, and I’ve made something that’s even better than fleecy tights. It’s a fleece lined dress, of course!

fleece dress 1

This dress is made from the beautiful cotton fleece fabric kindly sent to me by Offset Warehouse, which I wrote about in this post. While waiting for inspiration to strike, I became very fond of sitting on the sofa and draping this fabric over myself while watching TV, so I wanted to recreate that experience in dress form and keep it very simple.

dress 3

I converted my regular McCalls dress pattern to have front and back waist darts, then added a gathered rectangle for the skirt. The waist also has elastic overlocked to the seam allowance.

I’m not sure if gathered fleece is the most flattering look, but this dress is so awesome I don’t care. It’s the most comfortable thing I have ever worn. It’s the acceptable-in-public version of a slanket.

The neckline and sleeves are finished with lycra stretch binding from Minerva Crafts. I used it exactly like regular bias binding, except I pulled it a little bit as I sewed.

This dress was ripped off from heavily inspired by this little People Tree number. I changed the number of tiny useless pockets from the original, as I felt one was probably enough.

fleece dress 2

Sorry for the messy background in these photos. They were taken far too early this morning and it was too cold to go to our usual photo studio (aka the hallway of the block of flats I live in. Glamour!)

I can’t believe I managed to get all this stuff in the background and didn’t even think to pose in front of the Christmas tree. You’ll just have to imagine it providing some festive atmosphere.

fleece dress 3
The back doesn’t usually look uneven, I’m just standing weirdly.

You can get your own fleece backed jersey fabric here from Offset Warehouse, and I highly recommend it. You can also get 10% off anything in the shop, until the 1st January, by using this code at checkout: I_LIKE_THAT_10%OFF!

This is probably the last finished object I’ll get up on the blog this year, so although I might be back with some other witterings, I wish you a very merry Christmas/non-specific holiday!

19 thoughts on “Fleece lined skater dress – OR the alternative slanket

  1. Sylvie January 6, 2014 / 6:21 PM

    GENIUS! I may have to copy this for a new Kitchy Coo Lady Skater dress! (Which I already wear with fleece lined leggings. Which are amazing.)

  2. gingermakes December 25, 2013 / 5:00 AM

    Fleece-backed jersey?! Whoa! That sounds so amazingly soft and snuggly! Beautiful dress!

  3. Ruth Procter December 24, 2013 / 3:17 PM

    Oooh, I’ve been wanting to make something similar to this myself! I might have to treat myself to some of the material after Christmas!

  4. Franca December 23, 2013 / 3:26 PM

    it looks lovely! Also love the picture on your wall – I totally recognise it, who is it by?

    • yesilikethat December 23, 2013 / 10:32 PM

      It’s a print by Elph – he’s an Edinburgh artist, it’s actually a friend’s picture that he has lent to us semi-permanently… 🙂

  5. Alessa December 22, 2013 / 11:54 AM

    I love fleece lined tights and a fleece lined dress sounds divine. 😀 Just the right thing for winter. I like the little details on yours, contrast binding and the little pocket. Very pretty!

  6. Becky December 21, 2013 / 9:11 PM

    Great dress! You can never have too many warm clothes that are cute! Fleece lined tights? Who knew? I will have to look for this fabric and the tights. Happy Holidays!

  7. Kelly December 21, 2013 / 4:41 PM

    Oh, this looks so cozy! It’s still got a bit of style as well, perfect winter dress!

  8. helen December 21, 2013 / 1:24 PM

    That looks lovely and warm.
    Offset warehouse looks great, I need to take a closer look.

  9. EmSewCrazy December 21, 2013 / 3:21 AM

    A dress like this sounds lovely. You look pretty cute for being that cozy. Merry Christmas to you!

  10. Katie December 21, 2013 / 3:17 AM

    Oh my god, I have fleece lined leggings but hadn’t realized I could buy fleece lined jersey fabric. Unfortunately it costs $50 to ship to the US, so I’ll have to search for it around here. I am sooooooo excited! Thanks you!

  11. Beverly December 21, 2013 / 2:48 AM

    So pretty and warm & cozy. What more could you want? Looks so cute on you too!

  12. Marie December 21, 2013 / 12:12 AM

    Oooh, this looks great and I love the idea of it being so snuggly inside! I just ordered some fleece-lined jersey from Minerva actually, can’t wait to use it now!

  13. The Amazing Taracat December 20, 2013 / 7:43 PM

    Mmmm…fleece lined dress…. I could almost appreciate winter if I had one of these. Fabulous idea and it looks so much more glamorous than a slanket. Love it!

  14. dottiedoodle December 20, 2013 / 7:24 PM

    I’ve just discovered fleece lined tights, and now a dress! Very good idea.

  15. Kerry December 20, 2013 / 5:58 PM

    So cosy and very stylish too, I bet you’ll be wearing this nearly every day til Spring 🙂

  16. Clipped Curves December 20, 2013 / 4:37 PM

    Cosy, warm and still stylish! Plus you made something in the new Pantone colours… Dazzling blue! Merry Christmas x

  17. Charise @ CRUNCH compass December 20, 2013 / 4:30 PM

    Another awesome project completed! And I love seeing your “messy” flat – beautiful flowers!

What do you think?

