2013 Sewing resolutions – how did I do?

This recent post at Did You Make That reminded me that I made some sewing resolutions of my own in Jan (although I left it too late to actually get them into Karen’s infamous jar).

With Christmas approaching like a tinsel-covered express train, it’s a good time to see how I’ve measured up over the last 12 months. Here goes:

Resolution 1: Take part in Me-Made-May and actually make it to the end this time.

ACHIEVEMENT UNLOCKED!

With the help of a new iPhone this was a doddle. My selfie taking improved immeasurably, and I loved checking the Flickr group every day to see what everyone was wearing. It was  the coldest May for 50 years so the challenge was a good distraction from sitting at home shivering.

You can see my final Me-Made-May post with here, and this is my favourite photo from the month, for obvious reasons.

c3p0

Resolution 2: Scale the trouser-making mountain and sew some stretch skinny jeans.

I have now been up and down that particular mountain four times, which counts as a success in my book. Here’s all the pairs I made this year.

handmadejeans

You can see that my facial expressions and posing skills have not evolved much in 12 months – maybe that’s a challenge for 2014.

Here’s a round-up of how these jeans are getting on now:

Pair 1, stretch denim from Tissu Fabrics, Jan 13: The fit isn’t great, but they’re so comfortable that I pull them out of the drawer fairly often. They are EXTREMELY high-waisted so keep you very warm, although not good for eating large dinners in.

Pair 2, Extremely stretchy Barbour twill from Mandors in Glasgow, March 13 : I hardly ever wear these. Probably because they are very brown, and I don’t get on well with that colour.

Pair 3, bright blue stretch twill from Mandors in Glasgow, June 13:I wore these constantly this summer. The fabric has gone quite saggy now but a hot wash pulls them back into shape. They’re ankle length so a bit too chilly now it’s cold.

Pair 4, stretch glitter denim from Minerva Fabrics, Oct 13:  This is embarrassing, but I’m going to be honest with you guys. I wore these a lot – until the bloody zip slider came off. AGAIN. I spent 2 hours trying to prise it back on and had to admit defeat. I will get round to putting in a new zip at some point. Probably.

I learnt a whole lot from making these jeans. The fly front no longer holds any fear for me, I can sew pockets in my sleep, and my topstitching skillz are second to none. I am high-fiving myself right now.

Resolution 3: Work on my personal style so I only make what I’ll actually wear.

I think I have slightly improved my dress sense this year. Pinterest has been my friend. I have one big board where I pin everything I like the look of, and I’ve found out that I like simple shapes and bright colours (I realise that makes me sound like a children’s TV presenter).

I can never wear frills, ditsy prints, or outfits with no waist definition, and I need to make more shirts and plain skirts.

My favourite Pinterest inspired projects this year were these two skirts:

doubled zipped skirt.jpg greenskirt

So that’s 3 out of 3! I think I now deserve a celebratory glass of mulled wine and a mince pie. And some spare time to think up next year’s resolutions…

15 thoughts on “2013 Sewing resolutions – how did I do?

  1. Stephanie December 12, 2013 / 10:04 PM

    Congratulations on your sewing achievements this year! I especially love your green skirt and think I will copy you and make one in the spring. It makes sense to focus on what you know you will wear.

    • yesilikethat December 13, 2013 / 9:47 AM

      Green is a lovely skirt colour for the spring! 🙂 Would love to see yours. I am really into coloured skirts at the moment.

  2. thesecretlifeofseams December 12, 2013 / 8:01 PM

    It’s always a good time to revisit the C-3PO MMM shot!
    Congrats on achieving all your sewing resolutions, the jeans alone would have me resting my laurels for the rest of the decade.

  3. Helen December 11, 2013 / 9:57 PM

    Well done on achieving your resolutions. I do so love your green skirt! It must give you a real sense of accomplishment. I can’t wait to see what you do next. And don’t worry about your posing! You look fine to me!!

  4. Pootle and Make December 10, 2013 / 11:07 AM

    Congrats, that’s an impressive list of achievements. I’m in awe of your jean sewing accomplishments. Trouser sewing is still a mystery to me.

  5. Kelly December 7, 2013 / 4:26 PM

    Your resolutions are shockingly similar to my 2013-2014 sewing goals… You did great though! I am currently working on the pants one, and feel like I’m just destroying a bunch of fabric.

  6. sewamysew December 7, 2013 / 5:40 AM

    This is a good reminder to me to revisit my resolutions. I’m totally in love with pinterest! It’s the modern day scrap book.

  7. minnietheminks December 7, 2013 / 12:19 AM

    Well done. I am going to try jeans this year so will be looking at your posts. I struggled fir ages to define my style. I was surprised by what came together from doing mood boards. I like simple lines and colour too and the odd graphic print… why then was I wearing pastels and frou frou for years. The mind boggles!

  8. EmSewCrazy December 7, 2013 / 12:09 AM

    Congrats on meeting your goals. I’m especially impressed with your trouser accomplishments. I need to get back on mastering mine.

  9. sewbusylizzy December 6, 2013 / 8:40 PM

    Congratulations! I pledged to make three coats… I’ve made four however I pledged to make one with a zip… dang!

  10. Laurie December 6, 2013 / 8:31 PM

    You did great on your resolutions… no last minute sewing for you! Love the green skirt!

  11. gingermakes December 6, 2013 / 7:34 PM

    Ohhhhh, noooo, you just inspired me to take a look back at my sewing resolutions– eek! You did so well– what a fabulous year you’ve had!

  12. helen December 6, 2013 / 7:14 PM

    Well done, I’m thinking about mine for next year. One has got to be finish the Sewaholic Robson trench coat I started in June (or was it May).
    With regards to your ‘topstitching skillz’ thank you, as I have learnt from them!

  13. Charise @ CRUNCH compass December 6, 2013 / 6:12 PM

    Love your pic with C3PO – my kids went nuts! And I’m really impressed you kept all your resolutions and did such a stylish job of it. My fave looks are similar to a children’s TV presenter too 🙂

  14. Blue Sunday December 6, 2013 / 5:57 PM

    What a great year of accomplisments. It makes me want to create a sewing resolution or two for 2014.

What do you think?

