Aubergine crepe New Look 6070 dress for the Minerva Blogging Network

I’d like to put in a vote for purple to become the official colour of Christmas.

purple dress 4

Red is played out, don’t you think? It’s so obvious, so Coca-Cola. Let’s all pretend we’re Roman emperors and drape ourselves in shades of aubergine.

Here’s my contribution to the cause, in the form of my latest project for Minerva Crafts. It’s another version of New Look 6070 which I’ve made before in a summery floral cotton – you can see that here.

purple dress 3

It’s made in a gorgeous luxury crepe from Minerva. This fabric is amazing. It’s drapey, heavy, and beautiful, and it makes the perfect winter dress. They have it in a range of beautifully saturated colours – I’m keen on the maroon, might have to pick up some of that for my next project…

This went together pretty smoothly. I had an issue with the facing, which required some tacking down, and the hem, which has annoyingly decided to flare out at the bottom. This fabric also frays like mad, so you’ll need to get the hoover out regularly when sewing.

new look 6070 dres back

I think the pleated shoulders stay just on the right side of being too 80s, although you may disagree. The fit is great, helped by the fact that this crepe has a slight stretch to it. It’s very comfortable to wear.

Top tip for working with this crepe – use a press cloth! You need quite a high heat to make it behave, but it’s easy to put a shine on the fabric if you’re not careful. You should also baste down all the pleats (I do it on my machine with a long stitch length), as you can’t iron them flat  as you would in a cotton.

Read my post about this dress on the Minerva network here, buy the kit here which includes two metres of fabric and a matching zip, and get the New Look 6070 pattern here.

Here’s to a purple Christmas!

new look 6070 dress

55 thoughts on “Aubergine crepe New Look 6070 dress for the Minerva Blogging Network

  1. Sandra (Sewist-Stitch) December 19, 2013 / 9:16 AM

    Oh I’m with you – purple is the new Christmas colour 🙂 You dress looks great, fitting your body in all the right places.

  2. laurabehindthehedgerow December 10, 2013 / 9:39 PM

    I love your dress! I’m currently writing my post for the Minerva Craft Blogger Network – got a little burned out so thought I’d check out what everyone else was making. Out of all the fabrics on offer at Minerva can you believe that we chose the SAME fabric in the SAME colour for our post?! Eerie, no?! It’s great to see how the fabric works for a different style. My post will go up tomorrow if you want to check it out. Happy Purple Christmas to you indeed! x

    • yesilikethat December 13, 2013 / 9:42 AM

      That’s amazing! It is gorgeous fabric. Can’t resist a nice crepe. Your dress is beautiful, I love the way you’ve styled it too.

  3. prttynpnk December 8, 2013 / 1:27 AM

    Gorgeous- such a rich classic shape. Nicely done!

  4. Miss Demeanour December 7, 2013 / 10:24 PM

    This is beautiful as are you. Your hair looks amazeballs. Also purple is the colour of advent so you’re well in there xxx

  5. sewamysew December 6, 2013 / 1:13 PM

    This is such a perfect shade of purple and it looks so good with your blonde locks. Such a great project for Minerva I’m sure it’ll sell like hot cakes.

  6. didyoumakethat December 5, 2013 / 11:22 AM

    That is sooooo beautiful. I love crepe. May have to order this fabric and pattern. Did you line the dress/is the crepe scratchy or does it stick to your tights?

    • yesilikethat December 5, 2013 / 11:39 AM

      I didn’t line it, the crepe isn’t scratchy at all (at least to me, I don’t have super sensitive skin). I am wearing it out for the first time this weekend so can report back about the tights then, but it seemed okay when I was trying it on. The crepe doesn’t have that polyester clinging feel to it at all.

  7. Niki, unifiedspace December 5, 2013 / 9:06 AM

    Very classy indeed! Great with your colouring too, you must be very proud of yourself, its stunning!

    • yesilikethat December 5, 2013 / 11:38 AM

      Thank you! Hopefully it will see a lot of use over Christmas…

    • yesilikethat December 5, 2013 / 11:37 AM

      Ah thanks lady xx

  8. velosewer December 5, 2013 / 2:02 AM

    I agree totally. Purple gets my vote.
    This is a great dress and what a perfect fit too.

  9. jamahistory December 4, 2013 / 10:37 PM

    Wow, this dress is amazing! I love the colour, the sleeves, the pleats, everything!

  10. sewexhausted December 4, 2013 / 10:34 PM

    Fabulous color! And the dress looks great. I very much like those pleated shoulders!

  11. Maaike December 4, 2013 / 9:03 PM

    Wow, that is gorgeous! and gorgeous on you! I love that below the waist asymmetrical pleating. What a great holiday party dress! 🙂

  12. Sarah - Fabric Tragic December 4, 2013 / 9:02 PM

    What a beautiful dress, it fits you so well – I love the sleeve length. New Look really do design great dresses! I’ve just recently made a wool crepe top (New look 6808 actually!) and it’s such a great fabric – like you said great drape but heavy and substantial to wear. Hope you get a lot wear out of it!

    • yesilikethat December 5, 2013 / 11:37 AM

      That pattern is great, I must get hold of a copy. I think New Look are a very underrated pattern company – they also seem to draft for a narrow shoulder, which suits me!

  13. minnietheminks December 4, 2013 / 8:57 PM

    You look very regal and rebellious. I have this pattern and think a summer version may be on the cards, maybe cap sleeves?

    • yesilikethat December 5, 2013 / 11:36 AM

      Yes that would be lovely – I think House of Pinheiro made a sleeveless version but little cap sleeves would be beautiful.

  14. sewinGiu December 4, 2013 / 8:31 PM

    love this model and it looks even better in this shade of purple! congrats

  15. Handmade Jane December 4, 2013 / 8:15 PM

    My god Kathryn you look gorgeous, and your dress looks SSSOOO expensive! Love the perfect fit and the designer style pleats. I have to say the colour looks amazing on you, but it still doesn’t change my irrational dislike of purple, I can’t stand it I’m afraid! x

    • yesilikethat December 5, 2013 / 11:36 AM

      Ha ha, that’s fine, it’s interesting what strong opinions people have about purple! I was not a fan but I think this dress has converted me. Very nice of you to say I look gorgeous, I think the fact that all the photos are slightly out of focus helps there! 🙂

  16. Boony December 4, 2013 / 7:39 PM

    Aw, it fits you so well! You really suit that colour too. I have to disagree with purple though, red and green reins supreme!!

  17. Lynne December 4, 2013 / 7:32 PM

    This is gorgeous! I love those pleats. I need absolutely no excuse to wear purple, it’s my favourite colour.

  18. Jen December 4, 2013 / 7:21 PM

    Saw your dress on pinterest via Tilly. Wot a beautiful colour on you. Love all the pleating detail, good to hear your comments on working with that fabric. I think for me it would be the turquoisy colour. Isn’t it great how many options we have as sewists!

  19. myrosesindecember December 4, 2013 / 7:13 PM

    Very pretty dress and I love the color. About the hem flipping out – taper it a bit at the very bottom and that should stop it – almost like a pencik skirt but just at the very bottom.

  20. katy sinclair December 4, 2013 / 7:09 PM

    Lovely dress! Very stylish and looks expensive. Another pattern that would have passed me by due to cover (why hide those lovely pleats with a busy print!). Did you line the dress?

    • yesilikethat December 5, 2013 / 11:35 AM

      Always look at the line drawing! 🙂 that’s my mantra now. It’s not lined – didn’t think it needed it.

  21. Gjeometry December 4, 2013 / 7:03 PM

    WOW! I agree with you, lets make purple the colour of EVERYTHING! (It’s my favourite colour, 🙂 ) This dress is just beautiful. I just love the front of it. So flattering and a lovely design and fits so well, not too tight. I’m going to have to look into this pattern, I think it will look good on me.

    • yesilikethat December 5, 2013 / 11:34 AM

      It’s a great pattern, surprised more people haven’t made it. Quite easy to fit as the pleats give you a lot of ease, I just had to lengthen the bodice and the skirt. It’s lovely in something with a bit of stretch (I can see it in a ponte!)

  22. Elise December 4, 2013 / 6:53 PM

    Ooh I love this, so pretty!

  23. Elena December 4, 2013 / 6:52 PM

    This is gorgeous! The pattern looks really well constructed with those pleats, and the fabric complements it beautifully. I’m gonna have to get me some!

  24. Chloe December 4, 2013 / 6:22 PM

    Excellent pattern/fabric partnership here – the pleats are really nicely featured. Enjoy wearing it out!

  25. Eva December 4, 2013 / 5:22 PM

    This is beautiful, great pairing of fabric with those luscious pleats! This colour looks great on you, may have to come around on purple…

  26. Kelly December 4, 2013 / 4:44 PM

    I totally agree with you about the purple! I’m just not a red person, and purple seems so festive. You made a beautiful holiday dress! I love the pleating details and sleeves.

  27. tillybuttons December 4, 2013 / 4:13 PM

    Gah! Love this! Coca Cola or not, I’d love to make the exact same dress in red.

    • yesilikethat December 4, 2013 / 4:29 PM

      It would look pretty special in red – or in the maroon type colour that Minerva have in the same fabric. I’d like to make a long-sleeved version too sometime.

  28. gingermakes December 4, 2013 / 2:21 PM

    This is so gorgeous! I love it on you! It’s a really sophisticated dress and just perfect for the holiday season. But I hate purple! I’ll have to beg for a pass to wear green or gold or something else once the purple decree has been passed!

    • yesilikethat December 4, 2013 / 4:28 PM

      I hereby give you permission to wear green or gold and bypass the purple edict! 🙂

  29. Alex December 4, 2013 / 1:55 PM

    I’m not usually a fan of purple at all but I LOVE this! It’s a perfect colour for you. Sophistication city!

    • yesilikethat December 4, 2013 / 4:27 PM

      I think this is my first purple garment for about 15 years! I still can’t be doing with anything shiny and purple though, luckily this fabric is lovely and matt.

  30. Pootle and Make December 4, 2013 / 1:42 PM

    Great choice of fabric, loving the purple it looks really sophisticated. Seeing this in a plain fabric shows off all the lovely pleating and it looks like a really expensive dress.

    • yesilikethat December 4, 2013 / 4:26 PM

      It’s an unusual dress for a big 4 pattern, I think the pleats are really special. Easy to sew as well!

  31. Clipped Curves December 4, 2013 / 1:42 PM

    I couldn’t agree more on the colour… I’m so drawn to plum, aubergine, maroon and burgundy at the moment. This dress is stunning on you…. (dare I say I much prefer it in a plain fabric?!). Lovely make!

    • yesilikethat December 4, 2013 / 4:26 PM

      I have to agree that a plain fabric suits the lines of the dress a lot better. I still like my original but it’s definitely a summer dress, doesn’t work at all with tights!

  32. Stephanie December 4, 2013 / 1:31 PM

    Great job – the colour and style look great on you!

    • yesilikethat December 4, 2013 / 4:26 PM

      Thanks Stephanie! x

  33. Emily R (@Lemlina) December 4, 2013 / 1:28 PM

    Oh gosh, this is lovely. Gorgeous colour on you too. Also, your hair is looking splendid 🙂

    • yesilikethat December 4, 2013 / 4:25 PM

      Aw thank you! Just had it cut and coloured. Wish I could do something to stop it being flat as a pancake though…I dream of big hair…

  34. sylkotwist December 4, 2013 / 1:21 PM

    Glorious! What a great make, you look lovely. I’m having a purple Christmas too this year, a totally underrated colour I say!

    • yesilikethat December 4, 2013 / 4:25 PM

      I have never really been into it before but I think this dress has converted me!

  35. helen December 4, 2013 / 1:13 PM

    That looks great, I love the pleating both above and below the waist panel. That colour always makes me think of Cadbury’s chocolate wrappers.
    I like the link straight to the fabric details.

    • yesilikethat December 4, 2013 / 4:25 PM

      Me too, it makes me crave a bar of Dairy Milk! The fabric is great, it’s pricey-ish at £14.99 a metre but really good quality.

What do you think?

