Offset Warehouse – ethical fabric and 10% discount code!

Now, I have a sneaking feeling that some of the people reading this are quite keen on fabric shopping. Not least because this post is one of the most popular things on the blog.

So you’ll be pleased to hear that I’ve discovered a new-to-me online fabric shop and it’s stuffed full of amazing things. Not only that, but it’s ethical too!

It’s called Offset Warehouse, and all of their fabrics are socially or environmentally responsible. It’s a huge treasure-trove for sewists, with fabrics I haven’t seen in any other shops, online or off-line.

Here’s some of my faves:

250-w14c-stripe-otr_5_

This is their fabric of the week at the moment, a pink and white striped Chambray. How brilliant would this be as an Archer shirt? (also on sale at the moment!)

hand block cotton

They’ve got a gorgeous range of organic hand-blocked cottons, made in a cooperative and certified Fair Trade. This one is only £8.99 a metre, it would make a beautiful top or summer dress.

300-038-otr_1_

This thick black organic cord would make an amazing winter skirt.

300-010-otr_2_

Finally, Lauren from Offset Warehouse very kindly sent me two metres of this super-soft fleece back jersey, which is the cosiest thing I have ever felt. I’m going to make a dress from it and I plan on living in it throughout the whole Christmas holidays (pattern suggestions welcome!).

They also have a really good resources section looking at the reasoning behind buying ethically produced fabric. Even if you sew your own clothes, often it’s hard to know where fabric has come from, or exactly what it’s made of, so a shop like this is a really positive step.

To encourage you to try out Offset Warehouse, I’ve got a 10% off discount code, which you can use on anything in the shop up until 1st January 2014.

Here’s the code:

I_LIKE_THAT_10%OFF!

(you need to include the whole thing, including the exclamation mark).

Happy pre-Christmas shopping!

8 thoughts on “Offset Warehouse – ethical fabric and 10% discount code!

  1. fionaparker17 December 2, 2013 / 10:21 PM

    wow great tip off, thanks kathryn! I’ve got my eye on that chambray…

  2. Danielle December 2, 2013 / 9:39 AM

    I thought of Lola immediately too! Offset Warehouse is fantastic – I bought a hemp/silk blend from them earlier this year and it was sublime 🙂

  3. Alessa December 1, 2013 / 11:31 PM

    Oh, that sounds fantastic! I’ll have to see if they ship to Germany… and I third the Lola suggestion (I recently made my fifth version and I still love the pattern…)

  4. maeve December 1, 2013 / 8:26 PM

    I agree with the lola suggestion.My fab dress/ pattern at the moment.

  5. mia mcnab December 1, 2013 / 10:53 AM

    I just went straight over and bought some for myself. It’s the thought of a super cwtchy dress for the cold that grabbed me. And its 2 m wide! I was thinking a lady skater or Vogue 1194 which i have 3 of and wear to death.

What do you think?

