Sew Over It Giveaway! Ultimate Shift Dress, Ultimate Wrap Dress, 1940s Tea Dress

STOP PRESS – I’ve just added the 1940’s Tea Dress pattern to the giveaway too! So all three dresses from the new Sew Over It line of patterns are now on offer. Hooray!

New pattern company alert! Sew Over It (a sewing cafe in Clapham) have just released the first three dresses in their new line of patterns.

They’re all drafted by Lisa Comfort, who runs the cafe, and they’re all BEAUTIFUL. Previously they’ve only been available to people taking classes at the cafe, but now you can buy them here!

I have long coveted the 1940s tea dress, ever since I saw Zoe’s amazing version, so I ordered one within seconds of seeing it released. Ah, I love it.

photo (18)

The wonderful Lisa saw me gloating over my new purchase on Instagram, and kindly offered to send me the other patterns in the range.

And because it’s nearly my birthday and I’m feeling generous, I’m going to give them both away!

I’ve only just started fitting the tea dress pattern, but here’s what I love about this range so far:

  • Beautiful packaging, with a little booklet telling you how to make each dress, and an envelope style that means you can tuck the pattern pieces right back inside.
  • Comprehensive instructions with clear illustrations, AND the reminder to finish your seams at each step. It took me so long to get used to the fact that commercial sewing patterns don’t include this, which I think is very unhelpful for beginners. So hooray for Sew Over It for putting this step in.
  • These patterns couldn’t be any more reliable! They’ve already been tested and tested again on people taking the classes at the sewing cafe.

Here’s the two patterns I’m giving away:

Ultimate Shift Dress

photoGridImage (1)

This would be the perfect dress for a beginner – it doesn’t even need a zip. It’s a versatile one to have in your stash, as it includes long sleeves, cute cap sleeves and a deliciously 60s neck ruffle. I would make it in this bonkers Multicoloured Hippie Floral Print cotton from Minerva Crafts.

Ultimate Wrap Dress

photoGridImageI have to say, it really hurts me to give away this pattern, I am greedy and want to keep it, but I’m going to do it anyway just because I love you all. This is the perfect, simple wrap dress pattern for jersey fabric. I would sew it in this galaxy print jersey from Stone Fabrics that I have been coveting for ages.

NEW – 1940’s Tea Dress

Because I am the owner of the smallest letterbox ever (only bills fit through), I didn’t realise Lisa had also sent me another copy of the 1940s tea dress which was languishing in the post office. So I’ve now added that to the giveaway too!

Here’s the back of the tea dress pattern, which I think is my favourite of the three:

Sew Over It Tea DRess

How to enter the giveaway

I’m going to give away each of the three patterns to a different person, chosen at random.

To enter, just leave a comment on this post and tell me what your dream sewing pattern would be. A pattern you’ve been coveting for ever but just can’t find anywhere – it could be something you’ve thought up yourself, or an item you’ve seen in RTW and really want to copy. Or if you’ve already found your dream pattern, tell us what it is!

Leave a comment by Monday 18th November, midnight GMT, to enter. Open worldwide.

(You can buy all the patterns on the Sew Over It Shop here. You can also visit their sewing cafe in Clapham, which I fully intend on doing the next time I venture down to the wilds of South London. Huge thank you to Lisa Comfort for this giveaway!)

102 thoughts on “Sew Over It Giveaway! Ultimate Shift Dress, Ultimate Wrap Dress, 1940s Tea Dress

  1. Scruffy badger November 20, 2013 / 7:07 AM

    My dream pattern is a pattern I’m hunting for and one that I used to own in the 80s ( yes, true!)
    It’s a vogue ( very easy very vogue series) with a cute box pleated sleeveless top, a pencil skirt with jutting out pocket tops and the best culottes I’ve ever made…..can I find it? Do I periodically spend hours sifting thought eBay and etsy? I have never seen it listed to even know its reference no…

  2. sewlittletime November 18, 2013 / 3:25 PM

    i love the tea dress! i am still looking for my perfect coat pattern and fabric. something tweedy but in blues rather than browns or greens and a vintagey style with a collar and no belt.

  3. Dalston Dressmaker November 18, 2013 / 1:32 PM

    This wrap dress comes pretty close to my perfect pattern – comfortable, work appropriate and stretchy!

  4. Annie November 18, 2013 / 10:58 AM

    I would love the wrap dress or tea dress pattern – just gorgeous! As for my dream pattern, I’m new to sewing so I’m still learning about what suits me and what doesn’t – it’s so easy to get sucked in by all the gorgeous things people make and share on their blogs! I think it would be a perfectly fitted long-sleeved wiggle dress, or a fitted, single-breasted blazer that is would make in black velvet, I loved my old velvet jacket so much! Thanks for the chance to win, and for the great blog!

  5. Glenda November 18, 2013 / 8:29 AM

    Love these patterns and just love wrap dresses, and old fashioned styles. There is not too many pretty dresses in stores, so it is great to sew your own but it must be easy patterns. Have a little sewing experience.

  6. Anne in Japan November 18, 2013 / 7:57 AM

    Fabulous patterns! Great giveaway! Fingers crossed Lady Luck is smiling my way.
    Thanks for posting this offer.

  7. Jasmine November 17, 2013 / 11:33 PM

    I am a 24 year old young lady. I hve jus given birth a month ago to my precious 9lb 8oz baby boy. I gained 65lbs carrying him this summer.And as you can imagine none of my pre-baby clothes fit as of now. I am also breastfeeding and need clothes that fit are stylish, and are feeding friendly, without exposing all my goods to the public. I have become quite fond of the wrap style, it’s very flattering to any body shape.I’ve been searching for a dress and or top and can’t find one. So I have finally resulted to the idea of making this clothing item but can’t find a pattern! I need assistance to properly clothe my post-maternity body. Please help!

  8. Louise November 17, 2013 / 8:54 PM

    What a generous giveaway, thank you so much! I am currently hankering after a dress pattern for some navy chiffon with little white polka dots I picked up on Goldhawk Rd. I don’t have an appropriate pattern in my stash and don’t know of one that would work. I’d like it to be fairly fitted in the bodice but then have a generous skirt to show off the chiffon. With perhaps some interesting pleating at the waist? Basically I’m not sure what I would like the dress to look like, hence I haven’t found a pattern! But I LOVE the tea dress pattern. I have a few fabrics I’d like to make it in and have added it to my Christmas list 🙂 Best of luck everyone!

  9. Susanne November 17, 2013 / 8:36 PM

    Love the tea dress! My dream pattern right now would be anything that fits correctly as drafted… I am way too lazy to mess around with SBAs and moving darts and all that.

  10. lorn November 17, 2013 / 6:59 PM

    My perfect pattern would be a wrap dress that works for small clevages – all the patterns I’ve used so far just seem to be made for women more ample than myself and i’m not clever enough to figure out how to alter the patter for me!!

  11. anouk November 17, 2013 / 6:50 PM

    My dream pattern would be a stylish chic poncho perfect for wearing whilst riding my bike in the rain. I have an Oliver & S one for my son that i’ve been thinking of using to making my own adult one as I cant find the perfect one anywehre!!

  12. craftylittlebugger November 17, 2013 / 6:20 PM

    Super giveaway. I’d love to try one of their patterns – they must be pretty good given all the testing they’ve had. The tea dress is right up my pattern street.
    What I spend a lot of time looking for sewing pattern-wise is slips and nightwear. Seems like an easy one, but I am very fussy. Something not too gathered, fairly form-fitting, modern, not in jersey… It’s a minefield. Or I just need to stop griping!

  13. SeamsOddLouise November 17, 2013 / 1:50 PM

    Great completion. My dream pattern would be an easy to sew raincoat. Every time I go fabric shopping I look at waterproof fabric and think one day I’ll be brave enough.

  14. Cammie November 16, 2013 / 11:50 PM

    The perfect shorts pattern, not too long or too short and definitely not too tight. My current solution to this is smashing together a ok-fitting jeans pattern with a rub-off I made of my favourite (too tight) shorts… we’ll see how that one works out 😉

  15. Christina Mano November 16, 2013 / 6:22 PM

    What lovely patternd and great giveaway 🙂

    I have actually been searching the interweb high and low for Megan Nielsen’s “darling ranges” dress pattern, which is out of print 😦 It looks like just the loveliest pattern, a good wardrobe basic, a classic, much like the tea dress I should think. I always think I’ll have plenty of time to order a pattern and that I should pace my patternbuying frenzy and actually sew up the patterns I already have. But then again, a lot of indie patterns are only printed in a limited amount, which is why I’m obsessing over not getting the dress pattern while I could. But I haven’t given up and am keeping my eyes open just in case I find that one unicorn pattern;-)

  16. Sophie November 16, 2013 / 6:11 PM

    My dream pattern at the moment really is the 40’s tea dress! I even jewels it on my hand at the sew over it shop the other day but exercised severe restraint! Thank you for adding it to the giveaway!

  17. Anna Nicolle November 16, 2013 / 2:28 AM

    Thank you for holding this contest. Very generous! I would die for a pattern for perfectly fitting pair of high wasted trousers a la Katherine Hepburn.

  18. rollingpinsandneedles November 16, 2013 / 12:08 AM

    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

    I would love to sew anything designed by Cristóbal Balenciaga, had he dedicated some of his time to pattern drafting for commercial purposes. Like this one for example:

    http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/1976.124.7a,b

    It would be an amazing challenge, and if the final result was anything like what he produced, I would be delighted.

    I’m a huge fan of Sew Over It too, I have two patterns from classes that I took (currently on my third) and they are both amazing, so I wouldn’t mind having a new one. Also, Lisa and the whole Sew Over It team are incredibly nice and helpful! Love them.

  19. heathermltn November 15, 2013 / 2:51 PM

    Oh I love these patterns! My dream pattern would be a work jumpsuit like they wear in Bomb Girls 🙂

  20. Jessica November 15, 2013 / 2:37 PM

    Oooh! So generous of you! I’ve been loving the look of that 40’s tea dress for awhile now :-). My dream pattern – besides skinny jeans that actually fit me, second that to everyone who’s said it! – is some sort of funky woven tunic that I can wear in fall. Preferably asymmetrical. The closest vibe I’ve seen to date is Victory Patterns …

  21. picture-j November 15, 2013 / 2:33 PM

    Brilliant competition! I’m just beginning my life as a sewaholic, and I think my dream pattern would be a simple shift dress, with a little jacket. I’ve only recently found out about Sew Over It and would love if there was something like that in my area.

  22. Stephanie November 15, 2013 / 1:40 PM

    My dream pattern would be one for a simple skater dress with long or three-quarters length sleeves. I love the Sew Over It patterns, esp. the wrap dress one!

  23. Hannah Stansbridge November 15, 2013 / 11:28 AM

    There is a Givenchy red ball gown from 1956 that I would just love to make – my boyfriend is in the Military so I have to go to a couple of Balls a year, and I always struggle to find a gown that fits the dress code, doesn’t look like a rubbish bridesmaids dress and is still “me” – I would love to go in true style, like this http://www.pinterest.com/pin/458593174527316723/ – it’s a beauty! (Though I think I have a bit more learning to do before I could manage to make it!) xx

  24. Debbie Houghton November 15, 2013 / 11:14 AM

    I’ve love a pattern for wide, md-calf culottes. I’ve seen an amazing RTW pair, but they are well out of my price range!

  25. Jana November 15, 2013 / 10:55 AM

    My dream pattern would be a lovely winter coat! It should look feminine and elegant but also pair nicely with jeans and other casual looks. I love the winter coat class by Sew Over It, I think it comes quite close to my dream coat, so I can’t wait for the pattern to be released!!

  26. Collette Johnson November 15, 2013 / 9:41 AM

    My dream dress would be the lovely olive green one that Joan wears in series one of Mad Men fitted and sexy with lovely details accentuating the body – maybe I need to learn pattern cutting to get this

  27. Jenny November 15, 2013 / 8:02 AM

    Lovely patterns and giveaway. Thank you. I would love a trouser pattern to fit and flatter my short legs, ample tummy and they must sit on the waistline.

  28. Joanne November 15, 2013 / 6:54 AM

    Lovely looking patterns!i love dress patterns and endless variations but my dream pattern is a great fitting jeans pattern. I think Sewaholic might have one in the works..

  29. Tracey Burgess November 15, 2013 / 6:18 AM

    As a complete novice to patterns mine would be one that explained all the ‘funny’ markings!

  30. rollingpinsandneedles November 15, 2013 / 12:24 AM

    If Cristobal Balenciaga had designed sewing patterns I would covet the hell out of those. Being able to sew up one of his designs would be an absolute dream.

    I was in Sew Over It yesterday and must get my hands on some of those patterns… They were hard to resist – all the Sew Over It patterns I have tried in their classes are awesome.

    Thanks for the giveaway and good luck everyone!

  31. minnietheminks November 14, 2013 / 11:45 PM

    Hope you had an awesome birthday. Ohh dream patterns… so many, being petit and short waisted with a wee mummy tummy a pattern that would make me look like an elegant 1930’s screen goddess would be great! That wrap dress does look a very flattering cut.

  32. Carmen November 14, 2013 / 11:29 PM

    The perfect pattern? One I can use as a beginner! (Like that shift dress, maybe?)

  33. Stephanie November 14, 2013 / 11:07 PM

    The wrap dress would be perfect for winter, summer, work and play. I want one! Eeep!!

  34. Emmylou November 14, 2013 / 11:05 PM

    I’ve been searching for a perfect little tunic dress. One with little capped sleeves and no zip – I’m a beginner so want something I can actually make and wear! I’ve just come back from Botswana where I found this lady selling the most beautiful ethic print fabrics. They were all designed by her and came in the most gorgeous vibrant patterns. I have brought them back to the UK with me and now jut need the perfect pattern to make a little mixed print tunic!

  35. Annette November 14, 2013 / 11:02 PM

    I love that these designs can be recreated in 2013 and look just amazing 🙂 I used to sew all my own clothes in the late 70’s from trendy Vogue patterns, which I threw out (I know!!) and have yearned for in recent times. Now I’m sewing tops and dresses again not only for myself but for my 21 year old daughter. Would love to add one of these yummy designs to our ‘collection’ 🙂 x

  36. Kat November 14, 2013 / 10:20 PM

    I used to dream of a pattern for trousers that would fit a curvy/pear shape like me, but then Sewaholic released Thurlow and my dream came true!
    What I would absolutely love, still, is a pattern for a proper waterproof jacket that is not ugly and tells you all you need to know about making it properly waterproof. (I live in London and I walk everywhere, so that would be an ESSENTIAL for me.)
    Thanks for the great giveaway!

  37. Funkbunny November 14, 2013 / 8:23 PM

    I’d love the wrap dress pattern. Dream pattern? Perhaps a great blazer. I’ve just ordered the Bellatrix Papercut pattern so maybe that will be it!

  38. Amanda Taylor November 14, 2013 / 5:18 PM

    My dream pattern would be a wrap dress that can work as both casual and formal wear.

  39. Paunnet November 14, 2013 / 2:22 PM

    My dream pattern is the Bleuet shirt dress by Deer and Doe. Before it was released, I had been looking forever for the perfect shirtdress, feminine, well-fitting and with cute details. I already made it 3 times and plan to make more!

    Thank you for the giveaway!

  40. punkmik November 14, 2013 / 1:53 PM

    so nice of you to be so generous!
    my dream pattern would be a trench coat a bit like sewaholics but I want to make it with lace like burberry! *swoon*

  41. Katherine Ryan November 14, 2013 / 11:16 AM

    My ideal pattern would be a tailored trench coat, so I can make myself one in a fabulous, patterned retro fabric 🙂

  42. Joanne November 14, 2013 / 10:52 AM

    Great giveaway! In loving the new sew over it range. My dream pattern would be my wedding dress – full circle mid length skirt, wrap over bodice with three quarter length sleeves. It was divine!

  43. dottiedoodle November 14, 2013 / 9:36 AM

    What a generous giveaway! Have just sewn my dream pattern, a vintage Vogue Couturier evening dress-just love it!

  44. Kat H November 14, 2013 / 9:28 AM

    Oh my, a dream pattern? Hard question! 😉

    Even though I live in dresses and skirts, I think my dream pattern would be the perfect-fitting-for-me pair of jeans. One day, I’m gonna try to draft that pattern….

  45. Emma November 14, 2013 / 7:46 AM

    My dream pattern would be to find a shift dress that fits well without me having to make loads of alterations. I always have to put a pleat in cf neckline to avoid gaping.

  46. giddyauntlola November 14, 2013 / 7:31 AM

    I love all these patterns and have been thinking about how useful that shift dress would be – I have as tweenager who I think would suit the shift dress. For me, I have been hunting for vintage esque tea dress pattern for ages and this look perfect – this is all I want for summer – to float around on the school runs in a selection of pretty tea dresses!

    http://asaucystitch.blogspot.co.uk/

  47. Patty November 14, 2013 / 6:42 AM

    great giveaway – but the shift dress wins any time! so many combinations, so little time to try out every one…

  48. Stacy November 14, 2013 / 6:39 AM

    In my mind the perfect pattern would be a wrap dress with long sleeves. And I have to say that this one does look pretty perfect to me. However, if reality, it may well be the Sewaholic Renfrew as I have made 9 so far, with a few more planned!
    Thanks for the chance to win.

  49. erin November 14, 2013 / 5:08 AM

    My dream pattern would be the ultimate shift dress with sleeves that would make me look like a million bucks 🙂 I have yet to find the perfect fit 😦

  50. Toni November 14, 2013 / 4:27 AM

    It’s so funny but I have been wanting a wrap dress pattern for eons now!

  51. andrea Ruglys November 14, 2013 / 3:29 AM

    I would love to win either of these gorgeous looking patterns, especially the wrap-dress one. Am currently coveting the new Papercuts Saiph tunic pattern, definitely one for the Christmas wish list.

  52. Kieran November 14, 2013 / 2:58 AM

    Ooo, great giveaway! I would love to win the shift dress. My dream sewing pattern would have to be for a pair of jeans that I know would fit…the idea of a toile freakes me out as I just don’t know enough about fitting!

  53. Mel November 14, 2013 / 1:39 AM

    I’ve only just started sewing and have had much trouble finding nice patterns to fit my curvy figure. I’d say the shift dress pattern above looks like my dream pattern – the measurements fit my body for starters *fist pump* and I like that it’s a straight up and down shape…no waistbands to choke my tummy!

  54. sewexhausted November 14, 2013 / 12:03 AM

    Happy Happy Birthday! And thanks for the giveaway. All of those patterns are awesome!… I dream about bohemian style patterns- Something you would see on Stevie Nicks in her heyday… I am planning on putting together a few Stevie outfits this next year- Will probably end up drafting them! ~Laurie

  55. velosewer November 13, 2013 / 10:24 PM

    Thanks for bringing these patterns to my attention. I love vintage inspired and indie patterns. I’ll take a closer look at their range after Christmas so please leave me out of the giveaway. You’re very generous.

  56. Becky November 13, 2013 / 10:11 PM

    I love the shift. My dream pattern is a dress like one in one of my daughters’ favourite book…a multi layered, frilly dress, so the little girl in the book looks like her white hen, never found anything that satisfies the diva daughter 🙂

  57. Jennifer November 13, 2013 / 9:55 PM

    The pattern I’ve been on the hunt for is a hip cape. There are patterens out there, but not the one I can see in my minds eye!

  58. Elena November 13, 2013 / 9:06 PM

    My dream pattern would be a copy of a Zara dress I owned a few years ago and wore to death… this 1940s dress might be a good replacement! Thanks so much for the giveaway!

  59. Michelle Huang November 13, 2013 / 8:57 PM

    A pattern I’ve been coveting lately is Papercut Patterns’ Rigel Bomber. I never thought I would want a bomber, but this pattern looks amazing.

  60. Caro November 13, 2013 / 8:15 PM

    I love dresses with floaty skirts and fitter bodices with lots of colour.

  61. Tatiana November 13, 2013 / 7:39 PM

    I am trying to find the perfect wrap dress, this might be the one?

  62. nx44 November 13, 2013 / 7:31 PM

    Love the look of that shift. This is pretty boring but the pattern I am wanting at the moment is just a perfecting fitted dress with long sleeves (that can also be removed). That way I can add collars/embellishments etc to make a whole wardrobe worth on different looks. I actually had a pretty good pattern but lost all the pieces to it.. how does that happen!? I have a half made version that I am considering unpicking and tracing around.

  63. Ruth Procter November 13, 2013 / 7:26 PM

    The patterns look great – thank you for being generous and giving us all a chance to win them! My dream pattern would probably be a copy of a RTW jersey dress I bought a couple of years ago (princess seams on the bodice and a lovely full skirt) and wear all the time so that I could create my own versions and not worry about wearing the original one out!

  64. sewbusylizzy November 13, 2013 / 7:00 PM

    I’m dying for that wrap dress, I ADORE wrap dresses. My dream pattern… a very simple bias cut dress, next to no seams, that just slips on and slithers over curves. No sleeves. Rather like an overgrown Tiny Pocket Tank but on the bias and coming in at the waist. I know – simple as hell but so easy to wear in summer!

  65. Karen November 13, 2013 / 6:49 PM

    I would love a pattern for the iconic Yves St Laurent Mondrian dress!

  66. rachsews November 13, 2013 / 6:20 PM

    How generous of you to give away these lovely patterns! I don’t know about my dream pattern, but I am currently dreaming about recreating a loose fitting, empire line, button back, cotton jersey dress that I owned 20 years ago and wore until it fell apart. (not sure the description makes it sound that appealing, but I loved that sucker!). Both of these patterns are fab, but I feel that I am in more need of a good wrap dress…

  67. Boony November 13, 2013 / 6:19 PM

    My dream pattern would be for the green dress Keira Knightly wears in the film Atonement. I don’t know when I would ever wear it though. I love this pattern company!

  68. creative pixie November 13, 2013 / 5:26 PM

    I’d love to do a 1950’s day dress pattern . These patterns that you’ve shown are pretty-must look into getting some.

  69. Sue November 13, 2013 / 5:23 PM

    Dream pattern would be something forgiving of my not quite perfect sewing! A simple dress with drawn in waist and cap sleeves. Saw the sew over it stand at ally pally and fell for their ultimate shift dress pattern then.

  70. Pam November 13, 2013 / 5:00 PM

    My dream pattern would be the ultimate shift dress.

  71. Shelley Gibb November 13, 2013 / 4:55 PM

    That shift dress looks great. I would like a pattern for a frock which shrinks my bum, boosts my bust and has a whole load of options.

  72. Tonie November 13, 2013 / 4:24 PM

    Got my dream fabric to make a swingy kind of coat. Now just need my dream swingy kind of coat pattern

  73. ParisGrrl November 13, 2013 / 3:18 PM

    Those are cute patterns! My dream pattern is any design that fits without alterations. 🙂

  74. Alessa November 13, 2013 / 2:44 PM

    Those patterns look so cute, I really like the wrap dress. 🙂
    I’ve been on the lookout for the perfect shirt dress for a while. I’d love it to be nicely fitted, with a flowy skirt and a wide notched collar.

  75. sewmanju November 13, 2013 / 2:17 PM

    My dream pattern would be a duffle coat. Yes I have seen colette patterns have just released one…but I am waiting to see it made up on a woman before rushing off to buy 🙂 would love to win the wrap dress. Great giveaway.

  76. Ann-Sophie November 13, 2013 / 2:13 PM

    Overals (no idea if this is the correct spelling or even term… maybe I shoudl say jumpsuit?), where both the “pants” part and the “bodice” actually fit..

  77. Suzie November 13, 2013 / 2:12 PM

    Oh yeay – thank you so much for the giveaway. If I win the wrap dress I know exactly what fabric I would make it in! But obvs would be more that delighted in ANY of the dresses!
    As for my dream pattern – I would love an exact copy of the dress I planned to make for my Hen Party: http://su-sews-so-so.blogspot.co.uk/2013/02/diy-i-do-hen-party-dress-inspiration.html

    I found Gertie’s dress was similar, but not quite right, so I thought I would draft it myself – but I tried, and it was difficult to alter….and I just don’t have the energy to put into it…so I would love to have an extact pattern that I could just make up! lol….lazy I know!

  78. Alice chambers November 13, 2013 / 2:06 PM

    Hello hello, my dream pattern to find would be the black dress with an oversized bow that Sofia Coppola has worn – I’ve only ever seen a photo from the back with her overlooking a bridge but this is enough to make me drool over it!! If you haven’t seen it worth a google just to ogle its elegance!!!

  79. Pootle and Make November 13, 2013 / 2:01 PM

    My dream pattern would be a pea coat. I also love Lisa’s 60’s coat that she uses for one of her Sew over classes. I hope she releases this as a pattern too. I love the shift dress pattern.

  80. Sox November 13, 2013 / 2:01 PM

    My dream dress is an Advance pattern with a full skirt and pleated scoop neckline. I can’t remember the number but I have a picture and a plans to recreate it.
    Belated Happy Birthday and thank you for sharing.

  81. nicola November 13, 2013 / 1:53 PM

    Great giveaway – these patterns look great! I would love to find a pattern that fits me well without alterations. I am quite new to seeing and beginning to realise my proportions are not t”standard”! I have worn ill fitting rtw clothes for years but it matters more when you put in your blood, sweat and tears to make something yourself. I don’t yet have the experience to make loads of pattern alterations so something that fits (and flatters!) my apple shape would be great!

  82. Lady Stitcher November 13, 2013 / 1:31 PM

    Ooh, Happy Birthday! 🙂 Their patterns are so gorgeous, I’d love to win either of those! Attending one of their 1960s coat (see it here: http://sewoverit.co.uk/1960s-coat/) classes is firmly in my ‘when I have money’ list – I’d love if they made that pattern available to buy online too, it’s such a gorgeous shape and is basically my dream coat.
    Looking forward to seeing your tea dress!

  83. gingermakes November 13, 2013 / 1:11 PM

    Oooh, you are too sweet to give these away! You can leave me out of the giveaway as my sewing queue is a bit out of control at the moment, but I just wanted to say that I can’t wait to see your tea dress– I bet it’s going to be adorable!!! I’m interested to see people make the shift dress as I’m in search of a great shift pattern.

  84. Yamie November 13, 2013 / 1:08 PM

    Love them both but the wrap dress looks perfect to me! Keeping my fingers crossed

  85. Ulrike November 13, 2013 / 12:52 PM

    My dream pattern would be a mandarin collared shirt dress. Probably with a bib detail?! I am pretty much into any dress pattern, so I’d love to win any of the two you are kindly giving away.

  86. Kathy November 13, 2013 / 12:49 PM

    I would love o be added o the drawing… I’ve been curious to see how these sew up, especially since they look so wearable and so my cup of tea!! My dream pattern? A pair of perfectly fitting jeans/pants that fit precisely and have no butt wrinkles 🙂 And all with little to no fitting effort on my part.

  87. mrszandstra November 13, 2013 / 12:48 PM

    I would love to win either of these patterns

    I definitely haven’t found the perfect pattern yet – I saw a lovely dress in White Stuff in the summer which should have been easy to replicate bit I couldn’t find a pattern with the shape I wanted sadly – I keep looking though..

    Louise

  88. mrszandstra November 13, 2013 / 12:45 PM

    I would love to win either of these patterns!

    I am still getting started so definitely haven’t found the perfect pattern yet – in the summer I saw a lovely dress in White Stuff which should have been easy to replicate but I couldn’t find a pattern with the exact shape I wanted!

    Louise

  89. Louise November 13, 2013 / 12:44 PM

    These look great, I have been eyeing them up, too! I really want to find a peplum dress that is ‘just right’ – so far I think the Leanne Marshall Simplicity 1877 is my closest bet but it’s still not quite ‘right’!

  90. helen November 13, 2013 / 12:36 PM

    These look fab. Both the wrap and the shift look really wearable. I’m not sure what my dream pattern would be but now I’ve mastered sewing with knits a long sleeved Breton type top would serve me well.

  91. Joanne November 13, 2013 / 12:31 PM

    My dream pattern that I’ve looked for and haven’t been able to find is a knit wrap dress, and there it is! Happy early birthday!

  92. Blogless Anna November 13, 2013 / 12:19 PM

    I’m still in search of the perfect shift dress. Could this be the one?

  93. Kerry November 13, 2013 / 12:12 PM

    I like the look of that wrap dress. My dream pattern is for a classic fitted bodice shell that I can adapt to make in a range of lovely woven fabric. Like the Sewaholic alma blouse but one that actually fits my wide shoulders without alteration and still allows me to move my arms. Basically I want a pattern drafted exactly to my measurements so I don’t have to do any work!

  94. Liz A November 13, 2013 / 11:54 AM

    I once saw the most fabulous suit – short fitted skirt, with a lovely short jacket that had a lot of ‘swing’ and a short, standup collar. I’ve never seen it again, and wouldn’t know where to start if I had the pattern, so I guess it’s a dream pattern, with dream skills to go with it.

    Lovely dress patterns – I can’t wait to see what you tea dress looks like.

    Thanks for the giveaway.

  95. whatkatiedoes (@whatkatiedoes) November 13, 2013 / 11:52 AM

    Both of these patterns look lovely! I’m all about basic patterns that you can adapt and make over and over.

    My dream pattern would be the perfect coat – a longline biker style with fitted waist. Miraculously since we’re dreaming, it would be really easy to sew as well.

  96. sewhopeful November 13, 2013 / 11:49 AM

    I think I’m still looking for my perfect pattern. A great wrap dress comes pretty close. Some Dior inspired is always appealing. I’d love a pattern that included the perfect for me fabric as well, that would be a dream come true as often I have a vision in my head and cannot find the fabric anywhere. Eg: wool crepe in jewel colours to make a wiggle dress with. Have the pattern. Can’t find the fabric anywhere. Anyway I would be chuffed to win either of these patterns so thanks heaps for the generosity.

    • Kathy November 13, 2013 / 2:09 PM

      sewhopeful: Have you tried Linton Tweed for wool crepe fabric? They have an online shop. It’s £22 a metre but you probably wouldn’t need a huge amount for a wiggle dress.

  97. Clipped Curves November 13, 2013 / 11:45 AM

    How exciting! I have a dipped hem party dress with some interesting pattern pieces making up the bodice which then completely flare out to make a rather full skirt (it’s the dress in my Obi Belt post http://clippedcurves.wordpress.com/tag/obi-belt/ but sadly you can’t see the bodice seams in the images). I would love to make this dress in a different colour – a bright cotton for the summer and also with long sleeves in plum for a winter day dress. Sadly it is far too complicated for me to even begin to try to re-create without taking this dress apart (which I couldn’t do till it’s falling apart!).

    I have the perfect fabric for the wrap dress in my stash – greys, petrol blue and the tiniest hint of yellow.

  98. Jo November 13, 2013 / 11:42 AM

    Oh I’d love to win either! My dream pattern, which I haven’t managed to find yet, would be a hoodie. I wear them all the time on weekends, but have yet to find the perfect one. If I could find and fit the right pattern, I would be sorted for life and over the moon about it! It’d have to have different pocket and closure options (including none of either), and I’d happily customise it over and over again. If anyone knows of a good one, I’d love to know about it!

  99. wara4699 November 13, 2013 / 11:32 AM

    Love wrap dresses, need one with good coverage for the front view so it does not become a show, preferably with sleeves.

What do you think?

