Backstitch discount code, and fabric tidying news

Check out the colours on this:

Hurricane sea bundle

It’s the ‘Hurricane Sea Bundle’ from Backstitch, and it makes me want to drop £100 on a walking foot and go over to the dark side (or take up quilting, as it’s also known).

If you like beautiful bundles of colourful fabric too, you’re in luck, because I’m part of the blog-hop that Alice of Backstitch has organised to promote their shiny new website. And that means I have a 10% discount code for you!

The code is: WLYES, and it’s valid from today (the 29th October) until Thursday at midnight (the 31st October). Just put it in at checkout on www.backstitch.co.uk

If you’re not a quilter they have lots of independent dressmaking patterns, including Victory, Sewaholic, and Megan Nielsen. And of course they sell beautiful fabric by the metre too.

To celebrate the new site, Backstitch are also running a competition. To enter, you just need to order something from their site. The prizes are pretty ace:

1st Prize: £50 off first order and 20% off all subsequent orders for a whole year

2nd Prize: £25 off first order and 15% off all subsequent orders for six months

3rd prize: £10 off first order and 15% off all subsequent orders for three months

So if you want to support an awesome small business, go and order something!

Fabric tidying news

In other news, I have finally got around to tidying up my fabric stash. You may remember from a previous post that my crafting area is not the most orderly of places. An annual clean-up is necessary, or I will end up sewing in a squalid nest of fraying scraps, orphaned pattern pieces, and stray threads.

My usual method is just to dump everything on the floor, and then fold it up and cull as I go.

Here’s the before shot. Readers of a nervous disposition might want to avert their eyes:

fabric stash

And here’s afterwards:

tidied fabric stash

I use these Samla IKEA boxes, and they’re great. I’ve currently got four boxes of fabric (one is entirely scraps) and two of wool. They’re completely full so I’m not allowed in any fabric shops until I’ve managed to sew some of this stuff.

What’s particularly pleasing is that we now have a shelf free for storing our picnic basket, a household essential as I’m sure you’ll agree.

That concludes your exciting tidying-up news for today. Does anyone else feel the need to do a seasonal cull like this?

13 thoughts on “Backstitch discount code, and fabric tidying news

  1. Thea October 29, 2013 / 9:05 PM

    Oh yes, definitely the urge to cull! not because of the season, but because we have to move. I’m trying to tell myself that sewing = culling, because less fabric, right? …Right? Incidentally, a tidy sewing area was one of my new year’s resewlutions. Well, there’s still hope of finding a new flat before January! Your post has inspired me to shuffle over to the office now and sew, errr, tidy.

    • yesilikethat October 30, 2013 / 9:58 AM

      Good luck! I have been putting this off for ages. Although I still need to sort through all my patterns and wool, I am running out of pattern storage space and I will never get around to knitting half of my wool stash, sewing has basically spoiled me for knitting.

  2. Sheree October 29, 2013 / 8:52 PM

    I have just moved my sewing things into a new room and same as you, decided to tidy up my fabrics. I am SO pleased with how it all worked out !! Unfortunately, I have no sewing friends in the real world, and my non-sewing friends only looked on blankly at my delight! Here’s what I did. In Ikea they sell a pack of 2 thin plastic chopping boards for about £1.40 ish. I folded each piece of fabric and wrapped it around each board – rather like they do in shops. I was then able to stand each piece up in a box (like a filing system). I can now see at a glance what I have. It is also not that important to use a board for each piece as once the box is full they stand up simply by using one every now and again.

    • yesilikethat October 30, 2013 / 9:58 AM

      Wow, amazing organisation skillz! What a good idea. Cuts down on ironing time too, I bet. My fabric is always mega-crumpled because I just stuff it in the boxes (as are my clothes).

  3. Helen October 29, 2013 / 7:38 PM

    No, but I most definitely ought to! I forget what I have in there, but even though it’s not that big a stash, I can never seem to face it!robably helps that it’s stuffed in a cupboard and on top of my wardrobe, so easy to ignore!

  4. EmSewCrazy October 29, 2013 / 3:56 PM

    OOh I have to do this periodically too. I’ve been working on a great new organizing system that I think is going to work really well for storing my fabric and help keep things organized for longer.

    • yesilikethat October 30, 2013 / 9:56 AM

      Sounds intriguing! Look forward to hearing about it.

  5. gingermakes October 29, 2013 / 2:38 PM

    Ooh, well done on the tidying efforts! It’s such a smart thing to do seasonally. I did a pretty massive cull in the spring, so I’m still in decent shape, but I should go back through everything before it gets out of control and reorganize again.

    • yesilikethat October 30, 2013 / 9:57 AM

      I just let things build up so badly, then I get overwhelmed and can’t sew! It will be messy again in a week…

  6. shivani October 29, 2013 / 2:24 PM

    So tidy! Do you want to come around and do mine? We too have a picnic basket, which was essential for the wedding list, but has never been used, and just sits there making us feel bad all summer long.

    • yesilikethat October 30, 2013 / 9:56 AM

      Ours arrived in October so it has never been used. I need to get invited to Glyndebourne or something so I can bust it out. Although it makes me feel fancier just having it in the house.

    • Jenni November 5, 2013 / 8:48 PM

      I had my essential wedding gift picnic basket 5 years before it got used! so worry not, they don’t go out of style so you can use them forever :o) also love the tidy new look x

What do you think?

