Why I’m not sewing, and my new shoes

I haven’t been able to sew at all for the last two weeks. We’ve either been away attending weddings or at home entertaining houseguests, which is of course delightful, but makes it rather difficult to spend hours in my sewing room (or the spare room, as some people insist on calling it).

I keep reading people’s posts about ‘what’s on my sewing table’ and gnashing my teeth in envy. The only thing on my sewing table is dust and an old mug.

I’m also in that awkward autumn stage of ‘I have nothing to wear!’, and really want to sew myself an AW13 wardrobe. I have grand plans so hopefully I’ll be able to get started soon.

In the meantime though I just had to show you an amazing present I got in the post – a new tailors ham and pressing roll! These were handmade and posted to me by the lovely Emma of Clipped Curves, after she read my post about sewing accessories, and my moaning about not having a tailors ham and being too lazy to make my own.

tailors ham

How amazing is that? Check out the fabulous fabric. I know that sewing with these will cheer me up every time. Can’t wait to give them a try, I feel extremely lucky. Thanks Emma!

I also accidentally bought some new shoes from Clarks in anticipation of a rainy autumn. They’re these ones, called ‘Hotel Diva‘.

hotel diva

I love them. Clarks have some brilliant shoes this season. Sadly they have toned down the crazy shoe-naming for the latest collection. Possibly the person in charge of coming up with the names has been sacked, or just been given some Valium in their tea. Hotel Diva seems like a fairly reasonable name for a shiny shoe (although you might expect more of a Joan Collins-esque 80s stiletto).

They also have 20% off at the moment! Knock yourself out!

The only creative thing I have been doing is knitting this jumper:

IMG_7075_medium2

Well not this exact one, that’s the pattern picture. It’s called Robin and you can find it here on Ravelry. As it’s 4-ply wool and I am the world’s slowest knitter so you probably won’t hear about it again until Xmas 2014. Good thing I don’t run a knitting blog.

21 thoughts on “Why I’m not sewing, and my new shoes

  1. Rico January 21, 2014 / 6:57 PM

    Ooh, you have so beautiful legs. Together with these shoes they are even more beautiful!!!

  2. Nancy October 19, 2013 / 4:45 AM

    Thanks for the link, I’ve been looking for a fabric to use since I am planning to make a sweater. Since I really love black the fabric would be a great material for the sweater I’m doing.

  3. helen October 3, 2013 / 12:13 PM

    Hello – just found you via a link somebody posted on TFS.
    Anyway, I have just bought two new pairs of clarks shoes. (ankle boots & brogues) I was very excited about wearing them this week and then I knocked a cup of boiling hot camomile tea over my left foot. Off to the nurse again the afternoon to have the scalds re-dressed. It will be a while before I’ll be wearing my new shoes.
    On a positive note I did get to use the 20% off voucher!

    • helen October 3, 2013 / 12:13 PM

      Sorry, its TSF not TFS!

    • yesilikethat October 3, 2013 / 12:57 PM

      Hello! Sorry to hear about your foot, that sounds painful 😦 Hope you can wear your new shoes again soon!

  4. gingermakes September 29, 2013 / 8:34 PM

    Ooh, the sweater looks lovely– hope you finish it quickly enough to wear it this fall/winter! I’ve had a sweater on the needles for… well, let’s not discuss how long…

  5. Zoe September 28, 2013 / 5:17 AM

    I love how cute the tailors ham is! I’ve been meaning to make my own… but that will probably never happen…

  6. Miss Demeanour September 27, 2013 / 8:29 AM

    Ah doll I love that jumper it’s gorgeous. I’m nearly at the end of the tangerine dream just a few rows of body and then the sleeves. Enjoy the sewing when you get back round there.

    xxx

  7. Chuck September 26, 2013 / 3:34 PM

    Give Clarks some credit, ‘Hotel Diva’ is still preeeetty weird! x

  8. Pootle and Make September 26, 2013 / 10:44 AM

    Love the stripes and shaping of that jumper. Wish I could knit something like this.

    • yesilikethat September 26, 2013 / 11:06 AM

      Do you knit? It’s quite a simple pattern, good TV knitting!

    • Pootle and Make September 26, 2013 / 2:30 PM

      I used to but it’s all about the sewing now. I have a cowl neck scarf to finish that I started 2 winters ago.

  9. Shivani September 25, 2013 / 8:44 PM

    Excellent choice – I bought the hotel chic (with the tassles). Love that stripey knit too – looking forward to seeing it in AW14 🙂

    • yesilikethat September 26, 2013 / 8:51 AM

      I tried them on too! Found it hard to choose. I might still go back for the black hotel chic ones, they are so cool.

      Strictly starts soon, and that is my secret weapon when it comes to jumper knitting. 3 hours a week of concentrated knitting/dance-watching time!

  10. craftylittlebugger September 25, 2013 / 8:34 PM

    I’ve not been sewing lately either, too many people getting in the way of me being selfish. And weirdly enough I just found that jumper pattern on ravelry today, I totally want to try it.

  11. Clipped Curves September 25, 2013 / 7:42 PM

    Ooo nice new shoes! And very practical for rainy autumn. I’m also a slow knitter… but then knitting is slow, portable but slow.

  12. Charise @ CRUNCH compass September 25, 2013 / 6:35 PM

    I love your new shoes! But not as much as I LOVE your wedding rings! Truly amazing and so romantic! Meant to comment on that before and you’ve already beaten me with another post 🙂

    • yesilikethat September 26, 2013 / 8:52 AM

      Thanks Charise! It did feel quite romantic, it was lovely to do something together in the middle of all the wedding-planning madness.

  13. Elise September 25, 2013 / 6:00 PM

    Ooh excellent shoes! I was in Clarks earlier and nothing really took my fancy… I love that jumper too, my knitting has def slowed down lately, must get back to it! 🙂

What do you think?

