New Look 6070 – The Last Dress of Summer

Two dresses finished and blogged in one week! What’s going on? Have I opened up an illegal sweatshop in my spare room? Have I reduced my sleeping requirements to 4 hours a night?

dress 1

Well, no. I have cheated. I finished this ages ago, 3 whole weeks before the wedding it was intended for. This advance planning is unprecedented in the history of this blog, or indeed in my entire sewing career.

This was the first wedding I have EVER attended in London, despite living in the city for 5 years and going to about 25 weddings in that time period. I highly approve and wish more people would get married here (slightly hypocritical given that we dragged everyone up to Scotland). There’s nothing better than getting a taxi home to your own bed.

It was a really beautiful, emotional wedding. The bride’s dress was beyond gorgeous, the vows made me weep, and it was sunny! This only downside was realising that I really can’t dance in these shoes for more than 10 minutes. Should have brought flats.

But anyway, the dress. The pattern is New Look Workroom 6070, which I bought in America more than 2 years ago. Sometimes it takes a while to find the right match, you know?

6070line (1)

I like the use of pleats in this pattern, I think it looks quite RTW, and it’s very forgiving to fit. The only issue was my fabric, which was so drapey and badly behaved! I had to treat it with a firm hand – I interfaced the midriff band, the facing, and a 2cm ring around the whole neckline to stop it stretching out of shape, as well as stay-stitching everything in sight.

I also basted down all the pleats rather than just pinning them as usual. You can see I also added piping, which helps to add some structure, although I’m not sure now if it detracts from the fabric.

IMG_2616

Now the fabric is a vintage piece from The Shop on Cheshire Street, and I just barely managed to squeeze this dress out of it. I did lengthen the bodice piece by 1 inch and the skirt 2 inches.

My only issue with this print? I’m not sure if  it looks like I’m wearing this dress, or that I’ve been upholstered in it. There is more than a hint of the chaise longue.

It might just be my discomfort with florals – I don’t really wear or sew them. But the fit of the dress makes up for that. I’m really keen to make this again with long sleeves for the winter, in a plain crepe fabric (maybe an aubergine-y purple?)

I need a bragging moment now. Check out how well I managed to match up the piping on the back! It’s not perfect but it’s probably my best midriff matching ever. High-five to myself.

back zip

Also, I hand-sewed the hems on the skirt and the sleeves. I KNOW. This is probably the first time I have hand sewn a hem since I made my friend’s wedding dress (pre-blog) but this fabric really needed it.

I think this is probably my Last Summer Sewing of 2013 – it’s time to think about autumn now. Unfortunately.

29 thoughts on “New Look 6070 – The Last Dress of Summer

  1. samanthanewson October 3, 2013 / 11:13 AM

    It looks great, I think the pipping really finishes the dress off nicely

  2. yosami September 19, 2013 / 8:36 AM

    Your dress is so lovely and that fabric is really pretty – what material is it? This dress suits you so well and I’m sure was perfect for the wedding. I’ve just ordered this pattern and you’ve confirmed that I made the right pattern choice! Thanks!

    • yesilikethat September 22, 2013 / 2:32 PM

      Thank you! I think it’s a great pattern. Am planning another version maybe in a ponte knit.

  3. Helen September 15, 2013 / 8:54 PM

    This is beautiful. It doesn’t look the least bit like you are upholstered, and the piping adds to it (and seriously, well done for that matching!)

  4. Elise September 9, 2013 / 1:02 PM

    Ooh it’s lovely, the shape is so flattering on you 🙂

  5. EmSewCrazy September 9, 2013 / 12:59 PM

    1. You look lovely
    2. Awesome waistband matching skills!
    3. I really like the piping since it brings out the waistband which would have faded into the background without it, I think.
    4. This looks like a great pattern. I really like the design as well.

  6. gingermakes September 8, 2013 / 7:40 PM

    This is so stunning! I love it! You look so gorgeous!

  7. Gjeometry September 7, 2013 / 8:54 PM

    Wow, what a beautiful dress!! The fabric is just gorgeous, it’s making my mouth water! I like the piping you added to the waist, but I know what you are saying, it does make it a whole different dress than without it. High five on the waistband matching!!

  8. Lynne September 7, 2013 / 6:08 PM

    This is gorgeous! I can see why you like the pleats because they look fab, and the matching on the piping looks perfect to me.

  9. thisblogisnotforyou September 7, 2013 / 12:07 PM

    Wow this dress is amazing! And I can’t stop swooning at the fabric. Normally I’m not a big fan of floral prints, but this one is super super chic! Great job!

  10. Thea September 7, 2013 / 8:31 AM

    It looks gorgeous – not a hint of chaise-longue that I can see! It just looks lovely and dainty and pretty 🙂 Don’t burry summer just yet – I heard rumours the rain was but a blib before more sunshine – but I’m with you on the summer sewing: that’s definitely over for me, too. But yay for the awesome summer sewing you have done!

  11. busyellebee September 7, 2013 / 7:43 AM

    No No NO! It’s still Summer, for at least 3 more weeks! That’s how I think about it, so plenty of time to sew and wear more of your lovely dresses. Really like the pattern and the piping detail is brilliant. Love this dress 🙂

    Just remember it’s still officially Summer!!

  12. Marilla September 7, 2013 / 6:34 AM

    Lovely dress. I love the pleating detail. It’s very flattering and the print is something that I would definitely be drawn to. Good job!

  13. Jane September 6, 2013 / 8:09 PM

    This is really lovely, perfect for a wedding. Looks like quite a nice pattern too. I can see it being made up and appropriate for work.

  14. flossiejamieson September 6, 2013 / 7:36 PM

    I don’t think you look too chaise longue-y – it is a bit grande dame, but sometimes we all need to channel Lady Grantham just to get through the day. In a good way of course! I think the piping does a good job of breaking up the large print a little, and I high five you right back for the matching up of seams on the waistband. I don’t think I’ve ever had a wedding in London that I can recall – but many, many north of the border …

  15. Blue Sunday September 6, 2013 / 4:51 PM

    I high five the piping on your dress. What an accomplishment! Great job. The piping makes the dress look very expensive. Congratulations!

  16. Donna September 6, 2013 / 3:41 PM

    You look gorgeous and the piping is a good addition I think 🙂 Also, the piping matching in back is ***purrfect***! 😉

  17. Marie September 6, 2013 / 3:27 PM

    Oh wow, this is so stunning! The shape is perfect on you and I love your fabric choice. Also, the piping, matching up of seams and general beautiful finish is ace!

  18. Elizabeth September 6, 2013 / 3:23 PM

    You definitely do NOT look like a sofa. Great workarounds for the fabric drape issue. Beautiful dress. Love the print and the pleats.

  19. craftylittlebugger September 6, 2013 / 3:07 PM

    This is gorgeous! A really nice not-too-floral floral fabric, and I love the pattern too. It’s not very upholstery-y either, I think you’re safe. When I was younger and foolish-er I used to make skirts out of old curtains, and not in a Scarlett O’Hara way – in an intentional trying to be different way.

  20. Sally {thequirkypeach} September 6, 2013 / 2:37 PM

    This is so adorable! Definitely very fashionable and not at all like furniture 🙂 I really like the added detail of the piping – way to match it up!!! I might just have to get this pattern myself!

  21. ZoSews September 6, 2013 / 1:48 PM

    Totally gorgeous and it looks just beautiful on you 🙂

    • yesilikethat September 6, 2013 / 1:57 PM

      Thank you! It’s a great pattern, doesn’t seem like many bloggers have made it (although Rachel Pinheiro has a nice sleeveless version)

  22. Kathryn September 6, 2013 / 1:39 PM

    I love this fabric and it didn’t raise any thoughts of upholstery in my head – I think you’re safe on that front! The piping details is so great as well. I do love the Shop and it was thanks to you that I first heard about it.
    We’ve got our 1st London wedding in January and I’m so looking forward to being able to go home afterwards – especially as we’ll have a three-month old baby by then!

    • yesilikethat September 6, 2013 / 1:54 PM

      Is your baby due in November? Wow, not long! Exciting! It was lovely to go to a city wedding, the reception was at the Museum of St John and I’ve always wanted to go there. x

  23. katie September 6, 2013 / 1:29 PM

    It’s beautiful – perfect match of fabric to pattern and also perfect for a summery city wedding. I just hit The Shop again today, whoops.

    • yesilikethat September 6, 2013 / 1:53 PM

      I need a visit too, it’s been too long. I am planning on a massive fabric sort-out next weekend, so I can go and buy stuff for the autumn with a clean conscience… my scraps are taking over!

What do you think?

