Minerva Blogging Network: New Look 6180

My second project for the Minerva Bloggers Network is now up! You can see it here. Warning: you might need to wear sunglasses.

pink dress 5

See what I mean? This fabric was described as ‘coral’ but in soft light it turns to a screamingly loud hot-pink. When it arrived I was very dubious about the colour. But in the end, I just had to give in to the pinkness. It won!

Here are 7 things about this project that I didn’t have room for in my Minerva post:

  1. I sewed a straight size 10, as there’s a lot of ease in this pattern. I could probably should have done a tiny FBA but for a last gasp summer project it didn’t seem worth it.
  2. New Look patterns appear to be designed for narrow-shouldered hunchbacks (ie. me). I didn’t do any alterations around the back and shoulders and it fits like a dream.
  3. I really should have added pockets in the side seams but I ran out of time.
  4. I managed to buy the perfect matching thread for this fabric without taking a swatch to the shop, which shows how memorable this colour is.
  5. I used this tutorial for turning out lovely pointy shirt collars, which worked really well.
  6. My shirt stand sewing skills are not good. I need to find a better method of doing this. I’ve got that David Coffin book about shirtmaking but I find it too intimidating to read for more than five minutes.
  7. This is not my usual style – too pink, too full-on retro. Which proves that it’s good to go outside your sewing comfort zone occasionally.

Here’s the back of this dress. This fabric is a dream to sew with. It’s a slubby linen-look cotton that presses beautifully.

pink dress3

There’s a v clever way of sewing a notched cuff in this pattern, which I am definitely going to steal for other projects. Here’s a photo, which also gives a better idea of the colour in full daylight.

sleeve cuff

Here’s a covered button close-up to finish. Originally I chose some lovely white buttons from Minerva which are included in the kit, but by the end of sewing I was obsessed with this fabric and needed the whole dress to be pink, including the buttons. The white ones will find a good home in another project.

pink dress4

You can buy the whole kit here from Minerva – it’s £21 including the pattern, which doesn’t seem bad for a new dress (although I forgot to include elastic and thread, as usual). Alternatively you can buy the linen-look cotton fabric I used in this dress here, or the New Look 6130 pattern here.

28 thoughts on “Minerva Blogging Network: New Look 6180

  1. paunnet September 10, 2013 / 5:39 PM

    It’s adorable! It’s great to have at least one loud colored item in your wardrobe, to pull out when you feel down.

  2. Fiona September 6, 2013 / 2:31 PM

    Really lovely Kathryn! The pink looks so great on you, I’m glad you just went for it with the colour! It looks like a lovely quality of fabric too

  3. gingermakes September 6, 2013 / 2:09 AM

    I looooove this! It’s definitely outside your usual style, but it’s so cool and looks awesome on you!

  4. charityshopchic September 5, 2013 / 5:37 PM

    Love it! The colour is fantastic. Love the buttons too. Covered buttons are underrated, in my opinion.

  5. Joanne September 5, 2013 / 1:20 PM

    This colour looks great on you! Indeed that’s a very reasonable price for a new dress. I really like the Minerva blog network makes! I don’t live in the UK though, so I’m not sure I’d want to spend extra money for it to be shipped to another EU country.
    I also wanted to let you know I nominated you for a blog award. http://zoelivana.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/terribly-sweet-blogger/

  6. nicoleneedles September 5, 2013 / 12:19 AM

    The colour really suits you – going out of your comfort zone paid off! And I love the covered buttons.

  7. Scruffy badger September 4, 2013 / 6:39 PM

    I also think that this link really suits you Kathryn and I love the details on this dress that having chosen a solid colour fabric show up all the better: notched cuffs, covered buttons especially. Awesome second make! Love it!!

  8. Chuck September 4, 2013 / 1:26 PM

    Pink! I love the colour, it looks great on you.

  9. Kirsty September 4, 2013 / 8:21 AM

    This looks so fantastic. That colour is great on you.

  10. Joanne September 4, 2013 / 12:43 AM

    I think you rock this dress!

  11. Vicki Kate September 3, 2013 / 10:01 PM

    I love the dress and the colour! It’ll look awesome with black tights in the winter and the covered buttons are perfect!

  12. unlabelled clothes September 3, 2013 / 9:39 PM

    It looks lovely on you. I’m a fan of hot pink, but it’s true that you need to be feeling confident on the day you wear it, as it’s a bit hard to hide in that colour. But at the same time it can cheer you up.

  13. Gjeometry September 3, 2013 / 9:20 PM

    Woowheeee!! That is a bright colour, I love it! I think it really adds a great fun spin onto a more practical shirt dress style. I also love how you covered the buttons, it really makes the dress look complete.

  14. Elise September 3, 2013 / 5:54 PM

    Ooh lovely! I’d never have picked that colour either but it looks fab as a dress 🙂

  15. Jen September 3, 2013 / 5:08 PM

    Lovely! It certainly is bright but it really suits you. And TOTALLY disproves the old adage that blondes shouldn’t wear pink! X

    • yesilikethat September 6, 2013 / 1:51 PM

      I didn’t even know that was a thing! I have to confess I am an assisted blonde so possibly that makes it better… 🙂

    • Jenny Clark September 11, 2013 / 12:18 PM

      Yup, apparently! But it’s clearly a load of rubbish 😉

  16. Handmade Jane September 3, 2013 / 4:47 PM

    Ohhh what a fab dress, you look great in it Kathryn and the fit’s spot on. I’m not a fan of pink either but I may have a rethink after seeing this, it really does look lovely with your colouring. And you’ve just given me yet another great shirt dress pattern to add to my ginormous list! x

    • yesilikethat September 6, 2013 / 1:52 PM

      I still think the McCalls one is the best – this is a nice summer option though, might try and make it in a chambray next year…

  17. Béa September 3, 2013 / 4:29 PM

    That’s really pretty (but then, I do love a hot-pink!) and that notched cuff is a delicious detail. Now I’m off to the Minerva blog to read more about it.

  18. Donna September 3, 2013 / 3:56 PM

    That’s a stunning color on you – beautiful work!

  19. Elizabeth September 3, 2013 / 3:16 PM

    This dress is super cute. Love the color on you. Great pattern!

  20. Clare September 3, 2013 / 2:29 PM

    Absolutely fantastic! I love this colour on you and pink is one of the big colours for A/W so why not bust it out in the cold months too? I agree with Solii, you made the right choice in going for the covered buttons. The dress needed to be pink and ONLY pink 🙂 Really love this.

  21. Solii September 3, 2013 / 2:25 PM

    Oh my goodness I LOVE this Kathryn! The pink is Awesome,& I’m not usually a pink lover either! think you were totally right with the matching buttons too. cant wait to see it in the flesh. xx

What do you think?

