Handmade honeymoon, or, What I wore on my holidays

Oh dear, I haven’t managed to blog for nearly two weeks, which is a bit pitiful. Weddings, hen dos, work, and boring house things all keep getting in the way. I haven’t had time to sew either, so instead you get this post which is a thinly disguised excuse to show you more honeymoon photos.

This year has been my best-ever when it comes to making things I actually wear. When packing my suitcase, over half of it was handmade. I present you with the pictorial evidence:

holiday 1

Here’s me in Positano wearing my yellow skirt and McCalls white blouse. I got rid of the pleats in this skirt as they never hung nicely, and I like it better now. The fabric is very odd though. It’s a bit too limp for an A-line.

This outfit was actually way too hot. I learned the hard way that you don’t want anything tucked in around your waist when it’s 30 degrees and you’re climbing up a massive hill, even if the view from the top is pretty spectacular.

positano
Positano – as you can see, it’s built on an ENORMOUS hill

The shorts I made were ridiculously useful, I wore them to death. Here I am wearing them in Pompeii and doing my best tourist impression:

pompeii

Pompeii was an amazing experience, although I’m glad I saw this British Museum exhibition about it before we went. The site is so vast, and there’s so many tourists wandering around, that it can be hard to get a sense of how special the place is. Having that context from the exhibition helped a lot.

pompeii2
Room in Pompeii

The shorts also went really well with the vintage Maudella shirt I made earlier this year. As you can see from this (rather smug) photo, I don’t actually tan at all, so I like to wear something to avoid that ‘lobster-red British person on holiday look’. This shirt was a great cover-up.

photo (7)

The shorts are also great with my Whistles-tribute white top. Here’s me waiting for the ferry in Capri while wearing it.

capri ferry

Incidentally I took my Kindle along thinking I’d have an endless supply of reading material, but it was hijacked by my new husband, so I had to resort to buying expensive English language books from a tiny selection on Ischia. I ended up reading the book you can see in this photo, Silver by Andrew Motion, which I can’t really recommend.

You can also just about spot me in this photo from the chairlift on Capri, which is in my top ten experiences EVER. I’ve never been on a chairlift before, and it was just like flying. I wish this mode of transport was available in more places. It would make the commute to work a lot more enjoyable.

capri chair lift

This is the view from the top. WHY DO I LIVE IN LONDON. WHY.

capri day trip

One thing I don’t really have in my hand-sewn wardrobe is summer dresses. This is disconcerting as every other sewing blogger seems to have 100s. Must work on that for next year. At least I took along  my Anna dress so I could get a bit dressed up in the evenings.

photo (9)

I also took my emerald-green skirt which goes nicely with a simple navy top, and is breezy enough for aperitivo time.

photo (15)

I’m ending this post with some holiday photos, just to show you how colourful everything is in Italy. I want to go back!

photo (13)
Beach umbrellas
flowers
Flowers in Ravello
sunset
Sunset in Ischia
boat
Boats in Capri
procida3
Washing in Procida
ischia
another Ischia sunset
procida
Red buildings on Procida
photo (14)
Flowers in William Walton’s garden on Ischia
photo (8)
More flowers from somewhere
photo (12)
Chinese lanterns in Sorrento
kiss
Just to prove that Alex was actually there and I didn’t go on honeymoon by myself. Also that we are both big fans of navy blue.
34 thoughts on “Handmade honeymoon, or, What I wore on my holidays

  1. Gjeometry August 29, 2013 / 2:08 AM

    Beeeyoooouutiful pics!!! Looks like the weather has been sheer perfection every day for you! And, you have the most delightful wardrobe to go along with the beautiful scenery! I hope you are having as much fun as your pics show!

  2. mary August 28, 2013 / 6:21 PM

    Amazing outfits and pics. You both look so happy, congrats! Can you share your fabric sources? I tend to buy organic from http://www.organiccottonplus.com but would love to hear about your resources

  3. Danielle August 28, 2013 / 12:54 PM

    Such beautiful photos – thanks for sharing! Glad you had such a wonderful time 🙂

  4. sewamysew August 27, 2013 / 11:18 PM

    Such amazing shots! Sounds like the perfect honeymoon. I would love to see your take on the summer dress.

    • yesilikethat August 28, 2013 / 8:38 AM

      My next Minerva Crafts project is a summer dress! Just need to actually find time to sew it before the deadline…eek

  5. alwhatley August 27, 2013 / 9:56 PM

    I really love everything you make but oh man, those skirts! I love the mustard one (especially now sans pleats), and the green one is gorgeous. Might have to do some sneaky borrowing of those… Also loved the pictures. All that colour! I used to live in Italy and this makes me want to go back!

    • yesilikethat August 28, 2013 / 8:37 AM

      I think it is a lot better without the pleats, they were just too saggy. I love the colour but the fabric is very strange, it’s like a linen but without the body. Hmmm. Am jealous that you lived in Italy!

  6. Elise August 27, 2013 / 7:44 PM

    Argh such gorgeous photos! And lovely outfits of course, I love all your blouses 🙂

    • yesilikethat August 28, 2013 / 8:37 AM

      I am a big fan of sewing separates, you get so many more outfits from them!

  7. Helena August 27, 2013 / 7:00 PM

    I like your photos and your outfits are great. You look so stylish and comfortable in each of them.

    • yesilikethat August 28, 2013 / 8:36 AM

      Thanks Helena! I think I underestimated just how hot it would be, I needed a lot more loose things. Just not used to that kind of weather…

  8. IngeMaakt August 27, 2013 / 6:08 PM

    Looks like you had a wonderfull honeymoon! Beautiful pics with those pretty outfits, I really like your style.

    • yesilikethat August 28, 2013 / 8:35 AM

      Thank you! There were a fair few sweaty, hot and crumpled photos of me too but obviously I only picked the nicest ones 🙂

  9. Marie August 27, 2013 / 5:14 PM

    Oh what stunning photos… I need to visit Italy before I die! And I love how you took so many handmade clothes with you, you look super cute in all of them!

    • yesilikethat August 28, 2013 / 8:34 AM

      You must go! I definitely recommend Sorrento/Amalfi Coast, it was beautiful.

  10. Donna August 27, 2013 / 5:10 PM

    I love the honeymoon photos – such beautiful images – I won’t complain if you share more! 😉

    • yesilikethat August 28, 2013 / 8:33 AM

      Ha ha, don’t tempt me, I have 1000s! Need to get some printed, it’s a shame always just having them on the laptop.

  11. Eva August 27, 2013 / 4:46 PM

    Coming out of lurkhood to say congrats on your amazing handmade wardrobe 🙂 really inspiring to see you make things that you wear all the time! I love your choices in colour and fabric. And in travel destinations!

    • yesilikethat August 28, 2013 / 8:33 AM

      Thank you Eva! It is satisfying to take along things you’ve made…

  12. gingermakes August 27, 2013 / 3:17 PM

    Wow! Gorgeous pics– what an amazing trip! Your outfits all look so perfect for travel! Great job!

  13. Kathryn August 27, 2013 / 1:16 PM

    Thanks for sharing all these photos – your honeymoon looks beautiful and it’s so cool to see all your clothes. I just love that emerald skirt, in fact I prety much covet everything you’re wearing in these photos, they’re all such great stylish pieces! I’ve been to Sorrento for a friend’s wedding and would love to go back sometime, even more so after seeing these photos!

    • yesilikethat August 27, 2013 / 1:41 PM

      Thanks Kathryn! Sorrento is beautiful, it’s very touristy but still somehow very Italian. Also it has the best gelato anywhere! I wish I had some right now…

  14. sewlittletime August 27, 2013 / 12:30 PM

    looks amazing. i love italy so much – we went there on honeymoon too (sardinia then florence and siena). and your handmade clothes looked fab – i love your anna!

    • yesilikethat August 27, 2013 / 1:40 PM

      I’ve never been to Sardinia, would love to go sometime. It’s such a beautiful country. Need to make another Anna, it’s the best pattern.

  15. Charise @ CRUNCH compass August 27, 2013 / 12:24 PM

    Wow! The sights and clothes are all SO beautiful. You inspire me to bring out my sewing machine and buy some new fabric! That is such a cute pic of you and your hubby – congrats again!

    • yesilikethat August 27, 2013 / 1:40 PM

      Thanks! Definitely get sewing, it’s so nice to be able to wear things you’ve made 🙂

  16. Handmade Jane August 27, 2013 / 12:09 PM

    Ah you must be really pleased with yourself, what a gorgeous selection of holiday clothes! I may have to shamelessly copy your emerald skirt/navy blue top combo, it works so well and I have trillions of navy tops! Beautiful, beautiful photos of a beautiful country, I also went to Italy for my honeymoon 15 years ago and loved every second of it. Thanks for sharing them. x

    • yesilikethat August 27, 2013 / 1:39 PM

      Thanks Jane – I got the idea from Pinterest (re: emerald and navy) so I’m glad to pass it on! I love Italy, never been so far south before and it was absolutely beautiful. x

  17. Heather Jenkinson (@heatherdesign) August 27, 2013 / 11:18 AM

    This post makes me happy. You have a way of seeing – and sayin’ things that makes a Tuesday morning (post Bank Holiday weekend) seem like a nice place to be. Even if it is, decidedly not, Positano… Thank you.

    • yesilikethat August 27, 2013 / 1:49 PM

      Thank you Heather – I’m really glad you enjoyed it. It’s such a beautiful place that every photo turns out okay!

  18. suzy August 27, 2013 / 11:08 AM

    That looks like such a lovely honeymoon! And the clothes look fabulous too. I need to make an Anna dress.
    (Also, I ordered Simplicity 2258 immediately after seeing your version)

    • yesilikethat August 27, 2013 / 1:39 PM

      Hooray! It’s a great pattern, I’ve been wearing my skirt so much. It just shows that sometimes the simplest patterns are the best.

  19. dandeliondrift August 27, 2013 / 11:00 AM

    These photos are all gorgeous! And this is my goal…to make my handmade wardrobe truly wearable. I’m working on it as I figure out my style and what I gravitate towards in my closet!
    I hope you had an amazing time on your trip!

    • yesilikethat August 27, 2013 / 1:38 PM

      Thank you! We did have the most amazing time, it was so hot and lovely.

What do you think?

