Minerva Blogging Network: Simplicity 2258

Thanks for all your thoughtful comments on my last post about my image being used by a styling website. I just wanted to say that I was impressed with how quickly the CEO of the business emailed me, and I’m happy with their response. I’m sure they’ll source their photos more carefully from now on….

Anyway, on to more exciting things, like sewing!

The first thing I made for the Minerva Blogging Network is up today, and it’s a colourful cotton skirt.


photo 4

Initially, when I saw what all the other bloggers had lined up, I felt slightly ashamed of the ridiculously simple pattern that I chose.

But actually, I’ve been reaching for this skirt non-stop! It’s perfect for summer weather and super easy and comfortable to wear.  The ties at the side stop it from looking too elasticated. Also, and this is crucial, it has pockets (and a gigantic bow).

Image 3

For once I matched up the fabric and pattern pretty well. This cotton poplin is delicious to sew with and the print is crazily awesome. It also hardly wrinkles.

If you do buy the kit you’ll have half a metre or so left over once you’ve made the skirt. I’m thinking of using mine for pocket linings or for the yoke on a top like my McCalls one.

I also think this would be the perfect project for beginners. Just please, please, promise me that you won’t try and sew up the long tie pieces right sides together and then turn them out. That has to be the worst, must frustrating sewing task ever.

All I did was iron down the edges, fold the tie in half, and then sew the long edge up. In this fabric nobody is going to notice if your stitching is a bit wonky or if the edges don’t quite meet.

Here’s what it looks like before you fold it in half and sew:

photo 2

You could probably draft this skirt yourself if you have the inclination, but the pattern also includes options for shorts and capris which could come in handy, so I think it’s worth a purchase.

You can buy the kit for this skirt here.

If you like the cotton poplin fabric you can get that on it’s own here, and the pattern is here. I totally forgot to include elastic in the kit as I usually have some lying around, but you’ll need a metre of this 32mm elastic, and some black thread.

photo 1

Thanks again to Minerva Crafts, and you can read my post for the Bloggers Network here. I can’t wait to see all the other projects now!

15 thoughts on “Minerva Blogging Network: Simplicity 2258

  1. Clare August 20, 2013 / 9:10 PM

    I love this skirt! I saw this fabric on the site and was very tempted. The bow at the front is so cute and I love your styling. Awesome job!

  2. Handmade Jane August 8, 2013 / 3:28 PM

    Really lovely skirt Kathryn and so summery, I can see why why you’ve worn it a lot. I’ve been a bit rubbish about the whole kit thing too! The kit for my first project is pretty comprehensive but the next ones are very spartan. I had notions at home I wanted to use up so didn’t include them in my kit, duh! I didn’t really think the whole ‘kit’ through! x

    • yesilikethat August 8, 2013 / 3:50 PM

      I’m glad I wasn’t the only one! 🙂 I can’t wait to see your project for the network.

  3. gingermakes August 8, 2013 / 2:44 PM

    How cute! This looks awesome! And it’s so exciting to see your kit for sale– you’re a professional, girl!

  4. shivani August 7, 2013 / 10:07 AM

    oo – I love this! such a great skirt and I love the fabric choice. I’m not supposed to be buying any more fabric, but this is very tempting.

  5. Alice Keen August 7, 2013 / 7:56 AM

    The skirt looks so summery but not in a twee way. I really like your laid back style. You always look (what appears to be) effortlessly cool! I mean it when I say I wish I could pull off this whole look. But I cant seem to help overdoing it when I get dressed in the morning! Perhaps I should stick a huge picture of you inside my wardrobe!

    I hope lots of people buy your kit and take your advice about the tie. I remember the belt loops on the beignet. I did the same thing as you but I did wonder how many people struggled to turn a teeny loop in heavy drill. Insane instructions in that respect.

    • yesilikethat August 7, 2013 / 8:56 AM

      Wow, thanks! That’s incredibly nice of you. I definitely pick and choose the photos I display on my blog, most of the time I look like a big old mess 🙂

      Totally agree about the Beignet belt loops, it’s just insanity to try and turn them inside out. Would put you off sewing for life!

  6. Clipped Curves August 7, 2013 / 6:46 AM

    Cool make. I love a skirt that can be paired with many different tops.

  7. Sally {thequirkypeach} August 7, 2013 / 2:14 AM

    Ooooh I really like this fabric! And this pattern is a favorite 🙂 Great pairing! And thanks for the tip on the ties – who doesn’t love easy shortcuts like that? 😉

  8. joellestlaurent August 6, 2013 / 5:40 PM

    yay for a great summer skirt! sometimes a simple pattern is exactly what you need.

  9. katie August 6, 2013 / 3:52 PM

    Oh wow, I love it! The rest of your outfit goes great with it, too.

    I was a little skeptical about the kit idea as I wasn’t sure people would want to make the same item in the same fabric but this is such a great match, I can see myself making it too. What a cute sticker on the front of the kit, too.

    Oh hey, just seen you can get a sneaky peek at the other kits, even though all the blog posts aren’t up yet (http://www.minervacrafts.com/itemlist.html?searchquery=blogger+network)

    • yesilikethat August 6, 2013 / 4:00 PM

      Really glad you like it. I was a bit unsure about the kit idea too (but hoped it would drive sales for Minerva anyway). But looking at some of the pattern/fabric matches the other bloggers have put together the kits look pretty tempting. Can’t wait to see Shivani’s tee-shirt.

      Think I need to make more printed skirts, they make it so easy to put an outfit together!

What do you think?

