Minerva Blogging Network

Hello everyone! Thank you SO MUCH for all the lovely comments on my last post.  They properly made me well up.

Also, I love looking at pictures of other people’s weddings because I am incurably nosy, but I know it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, so thanks for bearing with me if you come here for the sewing rather than the over-sharing.

I do have some actual sewing news for you! I’m rather amazed and happy to say that I’m part of the new Minerva Bloggers Network, which you may have seen announced on some other blogs this week.

Minerva-Crafts-Network-Logo

This project was the brainchild of Vicky at Minerva Crafts and the indefatigable Rachel of House of Pinheiro, two super-inspiring women, and I’m very proud to be part of it.

Each month I’ll be sewing up a garment, with all the supplies coming from the Minerva website. It’ll all be documented on their blog, and you’ll also be able to buy the project as a kit.

I’m interested to see if this kit idea takes off – I think people might enjoy the convenience of it, but I also wonder if other sewers will want to make exact copies of an existing garment. It’ll be fascinating to find out! Of course I’ll link to all the separate parts here on my blog as well in case you like the look of something in particular.

Also, I’ve not been the smartest sandwich at the picnic, as I didn’t quite get the whole ‘kit’ concept when I sent off my requests to Minerva. Therefore some of mine do not include essentials like thread, elastic, etc etc. I will link the missing pieces here too. Sorry guys.

On a practical level, I’m hoping that I can test out some lesser-known fabrics and patterns, and help you navigate the enormous warehouse of craftiness that is the Minerva website. I imagine it to be a bit like Hanger 51 in the Indiana Jones films. You could get lost in there for weeks…

The Minerva Fabrics warehouse, yesterday
The Minerva Fabrics warehouse, yesterday

There are 7 other ladies in the network, and they’re all rather amazing (I know I overuse this word spectacularly but for once it’s true).

Bloggernetwork

I’m sure you’re an avid reader of their blogs already, but as an introduction I thought I’d link to my favourite items they’ve made. This is what I would steal from their wardrobes if they invited me round for tea, and I had a bit less moral fibre:

I’m really excited about the network, and I can’t wait to show you what I’ve been making!

6 thoughts on “Minerva Blogging Network

  1. gingermakes August 3, 2013 / 9:30 PM

    Yay! I’m so excited to see what you make!

  2. Zoe August 2, 2013 / 11:27 PM

    How exciting, it will be cool to see what you have made. Also you looked gorgeous in your wedding photos 🙂

  3. meandmypolarbear August 2, 2013 / 10:28 PM

    This is super exciting – really looking forward to all your posts!! x

  4. Blue Sunday August 2, 2013 / 8:56 PM

    Being new to sewing, I’m excited about the idea of a kit! Can’t wait to see what happens!

  5. Helen August 2, 2013 / 7:27 PM

    Exciting! Can’t wait to see what you all come up with!

  6. Claire (aka Seemane) August 2, 2013 / 6:54 PM

    Congrats hun on this new adventure… this network idea will be interesting reading! The kit-idea seems pretty smart too 🙂

What do you think?

