Epic wedding post – we’re married!

Full warning – this is massively long and crammed with about a million pictures. I’ve put it all in one post so it’s easy to skip if weddings bore you senseless.

We did it! We got married! After 9 years together we finally took the plunge. And it was the best party ever.

wedding 1

The Dress

Okay, so your marriage is the most important thing about your wedding, but the dress comes pretty close, don’t you think? I really didn’t want your typical white strapless number and initially thought I’d buy vintage or make one myself. But, as you can see, that didn’t exactly happen.

I ended up with this:

flowers wedding

Although part of me is sad I didn’t make my own dress, as soon as I put this one on I felt like Ginger Rogers or Carole Lombard. It’s so glamorous, in an old-school Hollywood way. It was perfect.

So how did it happen?

During the planning process, I tried on this fabulous Alice Temperley gold lace dress. It was love at first sight except for one thing – the price. I started feverishly researching ways to recreate it, even buying a hideous 80s fishtail prom dress pattern on Etsy.

Then one happy day I was browsing the Issa website, and saw this very similar dress, reduced from over a grand to just £500. After dithering for weeks until there was only one size 12 left, I bit the bullet and ordered it, sight unseen. I figured I could always return it.

But as soon as I tried it on, the decision was made. Surprisingly fast for me. It’s the most expensive dress I’ve ever owned, but at least I can wear it again. Not sure where – possibly just to Tescos?

wedding 4

It’s a very simple shape. There are two bust darts, two hip darts, a midriff band, and a skirt in two pieces. The armholes and neckline are finished with a flesh coloured silk binding, and there are tiny buttons on the sleeves so you can get your hands through.

The top layer is gold lace, and it’s lined with two layers of silk – a beige chiffon and a buttercup yellow charmeuse. The lining forms a strapless bodice, which is tacked to the overlayer of gold lace. It’s very well made. The only damage after three hours of strenuous ceilidh dancing was the tacking which came away slightly on one side.

The front may be demure and long sleeved, but the back has a surprise:

wedding 5

It fit nearly perfectly, but I took it to a London tailors to have about 2 cm taken out of the waistline, and the bust darts curved in.  I could have done it myself, but I was nervous about all that lace unravelling, so for £50 I thought it was worth the peace of mind.

It was ridiculously comfortable to wear and took me about 10 seconds to get into. I just needed some help with the hook and eye at the back.

wedding 6

Hair, shoes, etc

One of the best decisions I made was getting the lovely Alexis Miller to come and do my hair and make-up, as well as make-up for my bridesmaids, sisters, and mum. I really don’t have that much hair, but somehow she magically coaxed it into a Swedish style plait with a side bun, and gave me beautiful smokey eyes.

wedding makeup

A few people advised me not to hire a make-up artist as I wouldn’t end up looking like myself, but I think that really depends on whether you usually wear make-up, and also who you get. I was worried about hiring someone who would slap on a trowelful of foundation and give me 80s bridal ringlets, but Alexis was the total opposite of that.

I wish I could get her to do my hair and face for every special occasion. If I was rich I would definitely have her on retainer.

Shoes-wise, at the last minute I bought these gold leather numbers by Rachel Simpson after eyeing them up for months. They only arrived two days before the wedding. Again, they are more expensive than any shoes I have ever bought, so I plan on wearing them for housework, food shopping, yoga classes, etc etc.

wedding 7

shoes times two

I do love this picture of me showing them off to Alex though.

shoes

The Flowers and Decoration

Another amazing decision I made (so modest) was hiring Pyrus as our florists. I love flowers but I’m not that keen on typical wedding arrangements. But Pyrus are local, seasonal florists who grow all their own flowers and plants.

They created the most colourful, stunning bouquet I have ever seen. You may notice I am clutching it in every photo – I really didn’t want to let go. It smelt INCREDIBLE. I got yellow pollen all over my nose because I kept sticking it in there.

wedding flowers

They also did gorgeous, wild table arrangements in recycled glass bottles. We had a branch from a fig tree on our table which smelt like heaven.

flowers 1

Alex designed all the table plans, which were named after our favourite places in Edinburgh and London, with corresponding photos.

the river

clissold

I generally think favours are a waste of time at weddings. The only good ones are edible, and who really wants more to eat after a three-course dinner? Having said that, we did them anyway. Weddings make you crazy like that.

They were sweetie bags filled with sherbert dib dabs, love hearts, trivia cards, and party poppers. We designed stickers with our faces on to close them, as a joke, rather than because of our massive narcissism (I hope). There were only a few Dib Dabs left at the end of the night so hopefully people enjoyed them.

favours

The Venue

Teviot Row House, where we got married, is actually part of Edinburgh Student Union. It was built in 1899 and is about a million times nicer than any other student union I have ever been to, and the main hall is beautiful, with wooden panelling and balconies. It was also ridiculously cheap compared to most other venues we looked at – they only charged us for catering.

Even so, the terrace bar still has a slight student-y ambience, so we covered it with streamers and paper pompoms. Cheap, cheerful and colourful. Our friends Solii, Bob and Tom helped us out massively, spending hours up ladders the day before the wedding putting them all up.

streamers

pom poms

I know you can make these paper pompoms yourself, but again I took the lazy option and ordered them from here. One tip though – fluff them up before the wedding day. It takes bloody ages.

The Day

We wanted it to be a big, fun, happy family party, and it was really was. I have never smiled so much.

laughing 2

I found planning was easy until about a month before, when the logistics start to get pressing and I started to get stressed (who’s going to drop off the wine? Where do people sit? How will they get from church to venue? etc etc).

As I’ve already confessed, I did no DIY at all for our wedding, but we were incredibly lucky to have a huge amount of help from friends and family. The social committee at the church made and served ALL the canapes in the garden after the service – more than 1000 (!).

canapes

The Christ Church flower ladies did some beautiful arrangements in church.

church flowers

Alex’s mum Jean made the delicious wedding cake, which was soaked in brandy, and decorated with shimmering white icing feathers.

cake

My beautiful friends (including the lovely Lizzy) acted as bridesmaids and helped me get ready in the morning, bringing champagne and nibbles. Alex, on the other hand, had to go to Greggs for his nuptial breakfast. I think I win.

These ladies are the best, I really can’t thank them enough for being awesome.

kathrynalex17199

My favourite parts

We walked down the aisle together, alone. We wanted to enter married life as a couple, and I’m really glad we did it like this.

I met Alex outside the church in the garden and then we headed in together. I was a bit nervous, and it was lovely to have a quiet moment together before we saw everyone else.

kathrynalex16930

garden

Walking down the aisle is a blur. I was so jumpy I couldn’t smile properly without my mouth starting to shake.

wedding 8

But walking back down the aisle, and out into the church garden with my husband (still keep forgetting to call him that), was brilliant.

Coming out of church

The whole morning I was convinced I was going to catch my dress in my heels and fall over and break my ankle in the middle of the church, but luckily this didn’t happen. I even managed walking up and down steps with no problems. What a pro.

out of church

Another great part was making a speech at the reception. I woke up at 4am worrying about it, but it turned out to be one of my highlights of the day. Why should the men have all the fun?

wedding speech

After that, my friend Bea read out a poem she’d written especially for us, which made me totally lose it and start crying (happy tears).

Another highlight was the ceilidh. The band were called Carrie On Dancing and they were really, really good. I switched to flat shoes for this part of the evening. Ceilidh-dancing in thin heels is a recipe for a broken ankle.

ceilidh

For our first dance we decided to do the Gay Gordons, which is the traditional start to a ceilidh. We began it on our own, then people joined in as the music went on. I just couldn’t see us swaying around the floor for 5 minutes on our own to some cheesy love song, so this was a good compromise, although we did have fun suggesting more and more ridiculous first dance ideas to each other (The Final Countdown! Respectable by Mel and Kim! Vibe by R Kelly!)

ceilidh dancing

Actually, I think my favourite thing about our wedding was looking around and seeing so many of our friends and family together in one room. I have never hugged so many people in one day. It was the best.

ceilidh 3

ceilidh 2

ceilidh 1

Our photos

The absolutely definite BEST decision we made was having Caro Weiss as our photographer.

I was a bit daunted by finding a photographer. There are so many out there. Plus, we got married in Edinburgh but organised everything from London, so we didn’t get a chance to meet with most of the suppliers before the day. But we completely lucked out with Caroline.

I’ve been to a lot of weddings where the bride and groom disappear for 3 hours for a mammoth photo sesssion, while you stand around aimlessly, waiting for them to reappear so you can get your dinner. That was something we definitely wanted to avoid.

Caroline only took us away for 20 minutes, so guests got to stand around aimlessly with us instead. And she still got pictures like these:

walking

caro 1

To be honest, I hardly noticed her on the day. She’s like a photography ninja. She captured so many lovely moments, and got the nicest pictures of us and our friends and family that I’ve ever seen.

kathrynalex17042

The photos in this post are all from her. If you’re a glutton for punishment, you can see even more pictures of our wedding on her blog here.

If you’re getting married in Scotland, hire this woman! She’s a genius.

The end

Did you make it this far? I hope it wasn’t too boring. As a bonus, here’s my one piece of wedding advice:

It will be over in a FLASH, so don’t stress about it too much. It’s just one day of your life. As long as you end up married, it’s all good.

(Just try not to set the legal paperwork on fire, as we nearly did while signing it next to a lit candle. That could really have put a dampener on the day).

caro 4

Thanks for reading!

91 thoughts on “Epic wedding post – we’re married!

  1. annikins August 9, 2013 / 12:10 AM

    I love weddings and your was gorgeous, your dress stunning, may your marriage be the same 🙂

  2. Thea August 8, 2013 / 9:49 PM

    Wow, lovely lovely pictures – thanks so much for sharing all the happiness and nice things, I didn’t get bored one bit reading it! I love your dress, you look stunning and wear it so well – it’s so simple, but so nicely done, and such a lovely colour. All the best to you two 🙂

  3. Suzie August 7, 2013 / 2:53 PM

    Oh wow – you looked so beautiful, what a stunning dress! Looks like you had the most amazing and personal day – congratulations on becoming Mr and Mrs!!! And love that you had your reception in Teviot. I went to uni at Edinburgh so I remember it well, and have fond memories of dancing to ceilidhs there!

    • yesilikethat August 7, 2013 / 3:19 PM

      That’s so cool! Alex was at Napier so he remembers some drunken nights out at Teviot too 🙂

      But how was your wedding?? I want to see photos!

  4. rehanon August 7, 2013 / 8:47 AM

    Hugest congratulations my darlings. Just read this before starting work and gonna have to have a little toilet weep. Bless you both look so, so happy 🙂 and don’t even let me get started on that dress my days you look like you should have been on the poster for the Great Gatsby. Can’t wait to see you and toast you properly.

    Love to you and the man

    xxx

    • yesilikethat August 7, 2013 / 3:18 PM

      Thank you! I love looking at the pictures of us grinning away. Would be awesome to meet for a cheeky drink sometime lady 🙂

  5. Chuck August 6, 2013 / 4:13 PM

    I thought I’d commented on this already but apparently not… Def losing it. Anyway! Congratulations! Everything looks wonderful! Your dress! Your hair! Your makeup! The fact you were actually having fun and not taking everything far far too seriously. Also, walking down the aisle together – love. I don’t want to be given away, this is the 21st century. Such a sweet idea. x

    • yesilikethat August 7, 2013 / 8:54 AM

      Thanks dude! I felt the same about not wanting to be given away. Plus it helped the nerves to have Alex there! 🙂

  6. flossiejamieson August 4, 2013 / 8:37 AM

    Having just returned from our 9th wedding anniversary mini celebration (first time of leaving both children with grandparents at once! Eek!) it makes me all teary looking at your simply divine dress and stunning photos. We got married in Cupar, just down the road from Edinburgh, and we have attended many family and friend based weddings in Scotland over the years, so I love nothing more than a good weuching session on the ceilidh dance floor. You both look amazing and since I have been to no weddings this summer (boo!) it’s incredibly nice to feel I have shared a small slice of yours. Lang may your lum reek, as my father in law used to say!

    • yesilikethat August 4, 2013 / 1:51 PM

      Congratulations on your anniversary! No weddings this summer, that is a shame. We’ve got two left, can’t wait – neither will feature a ceilidh though unfortunately, need another Scottish wedding to go to… Thank you so much for the good wishes 🙂

  7. Nadia August 3, 2013 / 7:24 AM

    Congratulations!!! Beautiful dress, bride and wedding. It’s such a small world – i’ve been following your blog for a while as a frustrated beginner stitcher and then this popped up and I gave a little squeal! I’m a Vice President at the edinburgh students union (full time student politician here, suppress your excitement please haha). So happy you had such a great day here and have sent the post over to honours too. They love it 🙂 Wishing you all the best! Nadia x

    • yesilikethat August 4, 2013 / 1:49 PM

      Hey, that’s so cool! Thanks Nadia! The Honours staff were amazing, and the food was SO GOOD. Everyone keeps telling me they loved it. We had chicken pie and summer pudding, yum. Of course it all looks pretty different at Teviot now the Gilded Balloon have moved in 🙂 Hope you’re enjoying the break! x

  8. Maaike August 3, 2013 / 2:53 AM

    I loved that epic post! Then I went and looked at all the photos on your photographer’s website too! You are an absolutely beautiful bride, and everyone looked they were having the best time! Congratulations!

    • yesilikethat August 5, 2013 / 8:52 AM

      Thank you Maaike! I definitely had the best time, it was such a fun day.

  9. meandmypolarbear August 2, 2013 / 10:30 PM

    Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous. That dress it a total stunner. Massive massive congratulations, it all looks wonderful! x

  10. didyoumakethat August 2, 2013 / 9:41 PM

    IF I ever get married (big if) I am totally channelling you. I love every single one of your choices. You have immaculate taste. I’m so glad you didn’t go for white! You both look soooo happy.

    • yesilikethat August 5, 2013 / 8:53 AM

      Aw thank you, I can’t really take credit for any of it except finding my dress. With the florists I just told them to do whatever they wanted (as long as it wasn’t too twee/vintagey). I love how much we are grinning in every photo!

  11. abinadressmaker August 2, 2013 / 6:55 PM

    I LOVE your dress and I think it’s so lovely that you walked down the aisle together! Eeeeeee!
    I found it incredibly stressful making my own wedding(ish – we’re still not really married) dress. If I were to do it again I’d buy one. And it would be gold! I really wanted the sparkly gold dress from Hello Dolly, but I don’t think my embroidery skills are up to it.
    Congratulations again!

    • yesilikethat August 5, 2013 / 8:54 AM

      I also LOVE that Hello Dolly dress! It has to be worn with the massive feathery hat of course. Wish I could have found a similar one for my wedding, although I might have had trouble getting in the door of the church with that on my head.

  12. charityshopchic August 2, 2013 / 12:40 PM

    Congratulations to both of you! You look fantastic Kathryn. x

  13. Ellie August 2, 2013 / 7:49 AM

    congratulations- what beautiful memories!

  14. Miss Piggy August 2, 2013 / 3:30 AM

    Your dress is LOVELY! I love that it’s not the traditional white (mine wasn’t either, but it was nothing like yours — more of a 1950s style with poodle skirt). And I love that you walked down the aisle together — we did that too…I liked turning up together already a couple. Congrats.

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:17 AM

      Thank you! It’s lovely to hear about everyone else who walked down the aisle together. Your dress sounds awesome!

  15. Molly August 2, 2013 / 12:00 AM

    You look amazing and that dress is just gorgeous on you! Love all your pictures, it looks a like a good time!

  16. Huff August 1, 2013 / 10:52 PM

    Congratulations! What a perfect day and you are absolutely stunninng. The love and joy in both your smiles is intoxicating. Wishing you every happiness.

  17. Handmade Jane August 1, 2013 / 9:54 PM

    I loved looking at all the photos and reading every word of this post Kathryn! You looked absolutely stunning and so, so happy, congratulations to both of you! xx
    ps. I walked down the aisle with my husband when we got married too! x

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:17 AM

      Ah thank you Jane. It was such a happy day!

  18. The Amazing Taracat August 1, 2013 / 6:06 PM

    Congratulations! It looks like a perfect day and that dress is absolutely gorgeous!

  19. Sewing Sveta August 1, 2013 / 1:16 PM

    So nice wedding! You both look beatiful! Congratulatons!

  20. suzy August 1, 2013 / 11:50 AM

    Ah! What a beautiful post. I love your dress and the flowers and everything – it looks like a gorgeous wedding and sounds like you did a great job of staying focused on the important stuff (getting married, lots of friends and family, happy day) and not on the stressful details that you forget about later. You look so glamorous!

  21. Caroline August 1, 2013 / 11:21 AM

    Congratulations! You look stunning, what a fab dress! I never get bored of wedding photos – more please!

  22. Danielle August 1, 2013 / 10:32 AM

    It all looks perfect! What a lovely, lovely day. Just what a wedding should be, full of joyful memories of each other, family and friends…thanks for sharing!

  23. Debi August 1, 2013 / 5:02 AM

    Yippppppppeeeee! I am so happy for the two of you! Looks like the day was absolutely divine! And I just adore your 30s inspired dress!!

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:22 AM

      Thanks Debi! It is quite 1930s, I feel like I need Fred Astaire to come and dance with me so I can wear it again…

  24. mrsdibble July 31, 2013 / 10:45 PM

    What a happy….and the dress and the flowers and the bride and groom were gorgeous…long and happy life together

  25. Helen July 31, 2013 / 9:41 PM

    Congratulations! Your dress was absolutely perfect.

  26. Sarah July 31, 2013 / 9:39 PM

    Just so lovely! I only got married 3 weeks ago and your happy photos and thoughts made my happy memories from the day absolutely flood back. So funny I keep forgetting to refer to mine as husband too! You and I must think alike – my dress goals were very similar. Thankyou for sharing.

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:23 AM

      Congratulations Sarah! x

  27. Jenni July 31, 2013 / 9:25 PM

    Beautiful pictures of a beautiful day, congratulations. Love your dress, shoes, flowers, everything really! I remember the party of all our favorite people being a high point of our wedding too 🙂 blessed be x

  28. Scruffy badger July 31, 2013 / 9:10 PM

    I’ve loved reading about your fantastic beautiful wedding. You look absolutely gorgeous and I adore your dress and whole look. Your day looks like it truly delivered everything you’d hoped. Huge congratulations!!

  29. Sadie July 31, 2013 / 8:52 PM

    Oh my goodness I love everything about your wedding! The dress is fabulous! You look amazing!! I’m planning my wedding for next summer and I am definitely getting Rachel Simpson shoes, they are gorgeous.

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:23 AM

      GET THEM!! They’re the best! I hesitated for so long, but they’re really comfortable and well-made. Get a pair you can wear again then it’s an investment purchase 🙂

  30. babygreens July 31, 2013 / 7:24 PM

    Congratulations! I seem to have something in my eye. What gorgeous everythings! Your dress, flowers, hair & make-up, set up, photos, husband – my husband wore a kilt too so clearly I’m biased – but it all looks wonderful. All the very best for your life together.

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:24 AM

      Aw thank you! What tartan was your husband’s kilt? Alex just picked the Stewart because he liked it the best 🙂

  31. Katy July 31, 2013 / 7:20 PM

    Gorgeous photos! Loved seeing all the special touches. Thanks for sharing. May you have many happy times together

  32. Ami July 31, 2013 / 7:18 PM

    All so so beautiful! I love those Rachel
    Simpson shoes- have been stalking them on the website but am already married- need to
    find another way to justify them! Hehe 🙂

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:25 AM

      Someone else’s wedding maybe? That’s how I justify all my new shoe purchases… 🙂

  33. annieloveslinen July 31, 2013 / 7:04 PM

    What a charming post thank you for sharing. You are luminous and steal every shot and rightly so. The stars were in your alignment on your special day. It really couldn’t have been more perfect. x

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:25 AM

      Thank you Annie, that is so lovely of you to stay. We even had sunshine, a miracle in Scotland!

  34. sylkotwist July 31, 2013 / 5:50 PM

    Wow! Congratulations to you both, what a beautiful, happy day you had and your dress is absolutely gorgeous on you. So happy for you! x

  35. Charise @ CRUNCH compass July 31, 2013 / 5:47 PM

    Congratulations! I love that you already know “it’s just one day in your life”. You looked radiant – I love your dress and flowers but especially your hair!

  36. crab&bee July 31, 2013 / 5:25 PM

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful day! I love how you really made the day suit the two of you, especially meeting up before walking down the aisle. I did end up crafting a lot for my wedding and it caused me a lot of stress (even though everything turned out nicely and I thoroughly enjoyed myself the day of) – so good on you for avoiding that temptation and focusing on other things.

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:26 AM

      I think making things yourself does make your wedding very special and personal though. It must have been very satisfying when you looked around and saw all the fruits of your labour! 🙂

  37. Elena July 31, 2013 / 4:48 PM

    I loved reading this post SO MUCH! It looks like you had the most incredible day. Congratulations!

  38. nicoleneedles July 31, 2013 / 4:41 PM

    It looks just amazing! So glad you had a wonderful day and that it was so personal – walking down the aisle together was a lovely touch. Congratulations!

  39. Amber July 31, 2013 / 3:49 PM

    I’m one of those people that doesn’t care for weddings, but I had to click through based on that first photo. Every wedding I’ve been to has done the strapless fluffy white gown thing, which is fine, but I loved your dress. Very inspirational. I also liked the walking in together. Congrats!

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:26 AM

      Thanks Amber, that means a lot.

  40. Beth July 31, 2013 / 3:25 PM

    Beautiful!

  41. CGCouture July 31, 2013 / 3:23 PM

    Congratulations! You made a beautiful bride, you’ve a lovely new husband, and may you have many happy decades together. 🙂

    I loved that you pointed out that a wedding is only one day and that it goes by so fast you don’t hardly have time to enjoy it, because that is so true! So many people seem to get wrapped up in the planning that they forget that the day is supposed to be about two people who love each other. Good on you for keeping your feet firmly planted on the ground. And you had a beautiful wedding, so it worked out–just like it always does. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your special day with us! 🙂

  42. Sheila Dalgleish July 31, 2013 / 2:42 PM

    So sorry I missed singing at your wedding, Kathryn. You had a perfect day, and your dress is fabulous, I just love it! Many congratulations to both of you.

  43. CG July 31, 2013 / 2:19 PM

    Congratulations! What what lovely, deeply happy pics, and what a truly stunning dress – I’m with Shivani above, like an Oscar statuette with fluidity and grace, and the flowers are wonderful too. They look like they came out of someone’s garden – which are the best kind as far as I’m concerned (not pastel air freighted thornless roses from Kenya). As for the shoes, I ended up in Rachel Simpson’s shop in Birmingham last weekend with a friend who’s getting married at the end of the summer – so I can vouch for their sheer gorgeousness, and she does non-wedding ones downstairs… Dear goodness it was an act of self control to keep my purse in my bag!

    We got married last summer and are somehow only just getting round to printing the photographs (erm, yeah), but was reminded by your comment about it all going in a flash that if I could have had a single magical power for the day, it would have been a ‘pause’ button to be able to take it all in!

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:27 AM

      I didn’t realise she had a shop! More temptation. They are so beautifully made.

      Have to agree about the pastel air freighted roses… not my thing!

  44. gingermakes July 31, 2013 / 2:02 PM

    Oh my gosh, this has to have been the loveliest wedding of all time! You look so, so beautiful, and you two look so happy together! My sincerest congratulations!!! Thanks for sharing about your day– I’m so glad you did!

  45. shivani July 31, 2013 / 1:43 PM

    wow you look so beautiful Kathryn – like a walking Oscar statue! Sounds like a truly amazing day – so so happy for you! And now we need a trip report of the honeymoon please… x

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:27 AM

      Best description ever! I will doubtless bore you with some honeymoon photos soon. My tan still hasn’t faded…

  46. Leanne Finn-Davis July 31, 2013 / 1:29 PM

    WOW! Thank you for brightening my day. I’ve smiled, admired and at one moment shed a a little tear of joy! Oo dear, couldn’t help myself, weddings are such a wonderful thing. Well done!! You’ve made me want to get married again (To the same man of course).

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:28 AM

      Aw thank you! A vow renewal perhaps? I would like to do it all over again, except for the organising part!

  47. Elise July 31, 2013 / 1:18 PM

    You look so beautiful, I’m welling up reading about your special day, so glad it was everything you wanted 🙂

  48. dottiedoodle July 31, 2013 / 1:10 PM

    Oh, your dress, the cake, the flowers -everything is perfect! Congratulations, you both look very happy.

  49. alisonesther July 31, 2013 / 1:09 PM

    Your dress is absolutely beautiful and your hair looks amazing. Congrats!

  50. Joanne July 31, 2013 / 1:08 PM

    Oh my God! Those are the most amazingly beautiful wedding pictures I’ve ever seen! You look gorgeous, and your husband looks so dashing, too! What a joyous day! Totally agree with your advice to relax and enjoy the day… We took pictures together before our wedding, and I still think that quiet time alone together was one of my favorite parts of our wedding. Congratulations!

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:28 AM

      She is such a great photographer! I showed Alex your comment and he was very happy with the description of himself 🙂 Thanks lady!

  51. Heather Jenkinson (@heatherdesign) July 31, 2013 / 1:07 PM

    *sigh* that is a BEAUTIFUL dress. What a vision, you were… I’ve been anticipating this post, for a while, thank you so much for sharing it. (My life may now resume.)

  52. theperfectnose July 31, 2013 / 1:03 PM

    You’re both beautiful. I’m so happy for you I hope that you share this happiness (and dancing, definitely the dancing) for keeps.

  53. Kirsty July 31, 2013 / 12:23 PM

    Great wedding post. Just adore that dress of yours. Everything looked perfect !! Oh and congrats on the minerva gig 🙂

  54. craftylittlebugger July 31, 2013 / 12:13 PM

    How lovely! Congratulations to you both, and well done for choosing such an unconventional yet classy, glamorous dress. You really do look stunning.

  55. lizzylikescake July 31, 2013 / 12:11 PM

    What an awesome day and what lovely pictures! xxxx

  56. Claire (aka Seemane) July 31, 2013 / 12:09 PM

    Wow! What a wonderful day – and you both look so happy and gorgeous 🙂 (P.S. I reckon you should wear your dress to Tesco’s – why shouldn’t a girl feel ultra glam whilst doing her groceries shopping huh ;)?)

  57. katie July 31, 2013 / 11:56 AM

    I LOVE YOUR DRESS. I’m so anti-white wedding dresses that will only ever get worn once, and you look so elegant. You can tell from the photos how comfortable it was, too. Think it was a smart move doing no DIY and hiring the right people to make it as low stress and special as possible. The last picture is especially awesome!

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:29 AM

      I think it’s my favourite. I felt happy about the people we did hire, they are so great at what they do. Wouldn’t have liked paying for more traditional wedding-y stuff, there is so much tat out there…

  58. Gidd Aunt Lola July 31, 2013 / 11:55 AM

    What a beautiful dress; how stunningly lovely you look. Thank you so much for sharing all this with us – my son and daughter in law to be are getting married in October, and your post fills me with emotion and joy, looking forward to their wedding.

    Congratulations!!
    xx
    http://asaucystitch.blogspot.co.uk/

  59. Roisin Muldoon July 31, 2013 / 11:54 AM

    Oh what a beautiful post and such amazing photos! Congratulations on such a wonderful day and I hope you have many many years of bliss ahead of you xxx

  60. Stevie July 31, 2013 / 11:53 AM

    Congratulations hun! It looks like it was an amazing day and you look stunning! xxxx

  61. Kerry July 31, 2013 / 11:50 AM

    Congratulations! It looks like a lovely day and you look gorgeous x

  62. SewLittleTime July 31, 2013 / 11:47 AM

    OMG that looks amazing! your dress was gorgeous and your day looked perfect! i know how hard it is arranging a wedding so far from where you live (we also got married in scotland) and i totally agree that the one month out bit was the most stressful. so glad you had such am amazing day! (i still find it weird to call mine husband and we’ve just had our 7th wedding anniversary!) and congrats on the minerva crafts thingy!

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:30 AM

      Congratulations on 7 years! x

    • Happy May 16, 2017 / 6:48 PM

      Exlremety helpful article, please write more.

  63. sewbusylizzy July 31, 2013 / 11:45 AM

    So beautiful – and thank you for sharing.
    Totally agree – relax & enjoy it, it really is a fun, joyful day that way. I had a blast when I got married. There was the odd hiccup but it was all funny & 13 years later I’m still happily married and that’s what counts.
    STUNNING DRESS!!!!

    • sallybeemakes July 31, 2013 / 1:55 PM

      Congratulations! What an incredible post, brought tears to my eyes. Your dress is absolutely gorgeous, as are all the photos. Thanks for sharing all this – you’ve given me loads of ideas for my wedding (when we get round to it!). It’s so refreshing to see loads of photos of the couple looking so relaxed rather than the usual posed to death photos.

What do you think?

