Psychedelic jungle By Hand London Anna dress in Liberty print

Hey guys! I’m back! I’m massively sunburnt, have 8 loads of washing to do, and I’ve eaten a lifetime’s supply of pizza and gelato in the last 10 days.

We had a awesome honeymoon, right up until the ridiculously turbulent Easyjet flight through stormy London skies last night. I’m still prising my fingernails out of my palms. Once I’m fully recovered, I’ll be boring you with loads of holiday photos.

I’ve also SO NEARLY got some wedding pics, but I’m just waiting for the final files from the photographer. So in the meantime I thought I’d jump on the Anna dress bandwagon and blog about the version I made while testing the pattern for the girls at By Hand London.

anna dress three

Photos are all from our holiday, you have to admit they are rather nicer than my usual backdrops of ‘Rainy London Street’ and ‘Untidy Flat’.

The fabric is Liberty Tana lawn. Extravagant I know, but I went on a shopping trip to Shaukut with Rachel and Shivani, and I just couldn’t resist. If you’re going to buy Liberty print, that’s the place to do it. They have the biggest choice and the best prices. Also, if you’re buying Liberty print, I recommend taking the lovely Shivani with you. She knows EVERYTHING on the subject,  I think they should hire her as an official fabric tour guide.

I’m not sure what this print is called or which collection it’s from, but it’s a semi-photographic neon pink jungle, with palm trees and tropical flowers all over. It’s gorgeous. And it’s a dream to sew with.

anna dress bodice

Here’s a better close-up of the print. Oh man, I am in love with it. I have enough left over to make a Scout tee too.

This pattern is my favourite BHL design yet. I went for the shorter length with the V-neck. Everything is beautifully well-drafted, with unusual details you don’t see that often in commercial sewing patterns, like the tucks in the bodice, the panelled A-line skirt, and the little kimono sleeves. Not that you can see any of that in this print, so I think another plain version is called for.

anna dress 1

I used french seams on everything except the waistline, which I finished with some of this seam tape.  I also interfaced the neck facing and the area around the invisible zip, as this fabric is quite thin.

I had to make some of my usual fitting changes, including bringing the shoulders forward and narrowing the back neck. I recommend making a muslin if you sometimes need to make a FBA.  I had to do one for this dress, as the bodice and waist are very fitted (I sewed the 12). There’s a brilliant tutorial here from Lazy Stitching on how you can do a full bust adjustment on a pleated bodice, which works very well for this pattern.

anna dress 4

Here’s the envelope with the line-drawing and measurements. The short version really doesn’t need much fabric.

anna dress back

It’s such a versatile pattern, I really recommend tracing it as you’ll be making lots. It would work for a slash neck 60s mini number in a retro print, or a long slinky maxi with the thigh-high slit like Karen’s version.

Basically, it’s yet another belter from By Hand London! Go and buy it now!

42 thoughts on “Psychedelic jungle By Hand London Anna dress in Liberty print

  1. Cirque Du Bebe December 3, 2013 / 3:28 AM

    Oh your Anna dress is spendorific! Perfectly holiday / anywhere dress. Love the fabric too!

    • yesilikethat December 3, 2013 / 9:58 AM

      Thank you! I must make another one, it’s such a great pattern.

  2. Jo August 2, 2013 / 7:13 AM

    Really lovely – the dress and the scenery! Congratulations! And THANK YOU for the FBA link as well, I have been wondering how on earth to go about it with the pleats and kimono sleeves. Did you just extend the line (line 1 in Alanna’s tutorial) up to the sleeve edge??

    • yesilikethat August 2, 2013 / 8:14 AM

      Ah – no, I should have mentioned this part. What I actually did was follow the Fit For Real People book instructions for adjusting a kimono sleeve – you basically cut off the sleeve part at the shoulder so you have a square bodice, make the adjustments, then tape it back on, filling in the hole that you’ll have with tissue (from memory). Hope that makes sense!

  3. SewQuester August 1, 2013 / 7:31 AM

    Very feminine dress. Printing is a super awesome, looks like fireworks.

  4. yosami July 30, 2013 / 8:22 PM

    Hi there, I’ve just come across your blog when I was searching for the By Hand London Anna dress.
    Congratulations on your marriage. I wish you lots of happiness together!
    Also I love your version of this dress – it’s stunning and such a great colour! You’ve helped inspire me to order the pattern – I was a bit undecided before. Do you think it would work in a lightweight linen?

    • yesilikethat July 31, 2013 / 9:35 AM

      Thank you! Glad you’ve decided to buy the pattern, I think it’s a great one. I can see it working really well in a lightweight linen. The only issue you might have is ironing out the bodice pleats, but I think the body of linen fabric would make the A-line skirt look gorgeous. Can’t wait to see your version!

  5. Susanne July 30, 2013 / 5:22 PM

    Pretty! Love the fabric, too.
    And congratulations on being MARRIED!

    • yesilikethat July 31, 2013 / 9:35 AM

      ha ha, it’s very odd! Keep forgetting to call Alex my husband.

  6. The Amazing Taracat July 30, 2013 / 4:59 PM

    You look absolutely stunning in this! I love the print, perfect with this pattern. After seeing yours, Lizzy’s and Karen’s I’ve given in and ordered my Anna. Hopefully it will turn out as nice as yours.

    • yesilikethat July 31, 2013 / 9:36 AM

      Hooray! Join us! Looking forward to seeing yours. After that amazing Hawthorne you made an Anna will be no problem!

  7. Gjeometry July 29, 2013 / 6:39 PM

    Beautiful Anna Dress! I have seen several versions in the last few days, people seem to really love it! The fabric on yours is gorgeous as well. Glad you had a nice honeymoon, your pics are lovely.

    • yesilikethat July 31, 2013 / 9:36 AM

      Thanks! It does seem to be taking off, I’ve had quite a lot of search traffic for ‘by hand london anna dress’. A very versatile pattern.

  8. gingermakes July 29, 2013 / 5:30 PM

    This is fabulous fabulous fabulous! I really, really love it! It’s just so gorgeous!

    • yesilikethat July 31, 2013 / 9:37 AM

      Aw thanks Sonja! Hope to see you make one too!

  9. dinagideon July 29, 2013 / 2:14 PM

    Oh, I have that Liberty print in my stash (the green version, though), and I was planning on a flowy dress, too. Another project from you to inspire me. Really, I just need to see what you do and follow suit. 😉

    It looks so pretty on you…well done!

  10. Nicoline July 29, 2013 / 9:18 AM

    Congratulations on the wedding and looks like a lovely honeymoon! I love your version of the Anna dress – worth splashing out on the fabric!

  11. Scruffy badger July 29, 2013 / 6:10 AM

    Beeeaaauuuttiful!! Lovely choice of print and I love the way it hangs for the shorter version. And what a backdrop! So glad you had a lovely honeymoon. Looks very romantic and with the perfectly romantic dress 🙂

    • yesilikethat July 29, 2013 / 9:55 AM

      Thank you! I think I have been massively upstaged by the scenery but I love it 🙂

  12. sewamysew July 28, 2013 / 10:13 PM

    So glad you had a fabulous trip, you look so relaxed in these shots. I saw this print in the green at Tessuti and fell in love with it. It looks perfect with the Anna, can’t wait to make mine up!

    • yesilikethat July 29, 2013 / 9:56 AM

      Look forward to seeing yours! I didn’t see the green version, I bet that is fabulous. Liberty are geniuses.

  13. Emily July 28, 2013 / 8:54 PM

    Gorgeous dress… I really like the v neck. Love the LIberty print! I can’t wait to try out my own Anna dress 🙂 That is one beautiful backdrop! Where were you? Hope you had a lovely honeymoon!

    • yesilikethat July 29, 2013 / 9:56 AM

      Thank you so much! We went to Italy – Sorrento for 5 nights (the first few photos), then Ischia for 5 nights (the last two, I think). It was fabulous! Back at work now though…

  14. sewbusylizzy July 28, 2013 / 8:30 PM

    Congratulations on your marriage and your lovely honeymoon Anna!
    I’ve made this (three times – went a bit nuts) and also had to do a adjustment by putting some back neck darts in – what did you do?

    • yesilikethat July 29, 2013 / 9:57 AM

      I’ve just seen your versions, they are all fabulous! I must make a maxi version! I took the lazy option and just took the extra fabric out at the top of the zip. I nearly always have to do this, I think I have a high round back or whatever it’s called, fitting my back is a mystery to me… Darts seem like a much better option.

    • sewbusylizzy July 29, 2013 / 11:06 AM

      People have suggested a shoulder adjustment but I’m not sure how that works with the kimono sleeve… and if I experiment with pattern drafting too much, I sew less 😉 LOL!

    • yesilikethat July 29, 2013 / 1:34 PM

      Me neither – I think back neck darts are prob the best solution!

  15. Becky July 28, 2013 / 6:19 PM

    I hope your marriage is long and happy, and that the bumps along the way are more fun than not. I love this dress! I have already ordered the pattern, but I had not thought of splurging on Liberty Lawn! Lovely. Glad you’re back.

    • yesilikethat July 29, 2013 / 9:58 AM

      Aw thanks Becky. Lovely sentiment!

  16. Lynne July 28, 2013 / 5:55 PM

    Ooo, your dress is lovely! I so want this pattern.

  17. Land girl July 28, 2013 / 4:57 PM

    It so good to see the V neck version, first one have seen and it’s much deeper and sharper than I expected having only seen the model on the BHL website. Probably to do with the fabric you have used which is also lovely. It’s a super pattern, may add a full skirt to mine, hoping to get it soon.

    • yesilikethat July 29, 2013 / 9:58 AM

      Thank you! I think a full skirt would look fabulous with this bodice. Maybe even adding a midriff band as well? I think the sharper V might be because I interfaced the facing and also stay-stitched and understitched it.

What do you think?

