McCalls 6355 – white broderie top

I am currently on the train to Edinburgh, on the way to GET MARRIED, OMG. It seems like a good moment to blog about a top I recently made, while I enjoy my free wine, free food (brownies!!) and free wi-fi. First class rail travel is amazing.

mccalls white top

Hot sunshine-y weather has finally arrived in Britain. It’s no big deal or anything, we’ve only been waiting eight bloody years. Everyone in London is looking very over-coordinated, they’re all wearing carefully hoarded holiday outfits to work and it shows. Maxi-skirts a go go.

I have responded by making an all-white top, because if anything says summery it’s a chocolate ice-cream spillage just waiting to happen.

The pattern is trusty McCalls 6355. It’s worth having a simple top template like this in your stash –  you can make so many variations. For this one I just drew a line in the front and back pieces to create a yoke. Couldn’t be easier.

mcalls white top 4

This was a super thrifty little make. The main fabric is left over from another McCalls blouse I made last summer. The yoke is a very small old tablecloth I found in a charity shop about 6 years ago and have been hoarding ever since.

The trim down the front was a gift from the lovely Amy in our recent swap, and the trim on the sleeves was a present from the equally lovely Rehanon. The bias binding finishing the neck was made from the lining of this dress.

Basically, it was all free! Hooray!

mccalls white top 2

I did a faux-buttoned back (apart from the top one which is real), as you can pull this over your head with no zips or fastenings. The buttons are left over from the Peter Jensen sample sale.

I was heavily inspired by this Whistles broderie top, so basically I have saved myself £65.

c8d3ee0c9f706653e39c3e25303957c1

Plus I look slightly more cheerful than the Whistles model.

mccalls white top 3

Yay for summer! Of course I am going to Italy now so will probably miss all the nice British weather, there’s a cloud to every silver lining, as we pessimists like to say.

I hope you are all enjoying summer, or having a nice winter if you are in the Southern Hemisphere. I probably won’t be able to blog again for a while so I’m sending you lots of happy summertime vibes in the meantime! See you soon dudes!

p.s. it turns out that swap shop thing I did was actually a styling competition. Obviously am not expecting to win but I currently am right at the bottom with 2 votes, so if you can be bothered to vote for me by tomorrow, it will save me some public humiliation. Thanking you in advance.

42 thoughts on “McCalls 6355 – white broderie top

  1. nettie July 13, 2013 / 6:11 PM

    This is so pretty!! I love a nice white top!

  2. Andrea July 13, 2013 / 5:30 AM

    This is a beautiful top. Enjoy your marriage!! Is that weird to say? But it’s true that I wish you the best. Xoxoxoxoxo

  3. Jane July 13, 2013 / 1:46 AM

    Hi there, I just stumble on your blog- it’s awesome! I had to buy some of those moth iron on’s, they are so great.
    Congrats are probably due for the nuptials. I look forward to seeing your dress.

  4. thesecretlifeofseams July 12, 2013 / 11:58 AM

    Good luck for this weekend! Looks like you’ll have beautiful weather for it as well, perfect. Italy sounds amazing, hope you both have a blast.
    Plus the top is ace. The touch of trim on the sleeves is perfect, looks cuter than the Whistles one I think.

  5. Danielle July 12, 2013 / 10:09 AM

    Oh, it’s just lovely! Quintessentially summery 🙂 Hope everything comes together beautifully for your wedding; congratulations!

  6. Elise July 11, 2013 / 9:08 PM

    Love your top, have a fab wedding! (just voted, yours was one of my faves) 🙂

  7. Thea July 11, 2013 / 9:02 PM

    Love the top – it’s got some great details, and I’m crossing my fingers for you so it will see plenty of icecream action, but without the mishap. Have a very happy wedding and honeymoon!

  8. Handmade Jane July 11, 2013 / 9:00 PM

    Lovely top, you look fab, especially in that first photo! Aw lots of love and luck for your wedding, enjoy the day and enjoy Italy (by far the best place to have a honeymoon! ) xx

  9. emily July 11, 2013 / 7:13 PM

    This top is easy-breezy-summer in a nut shell! Gorgeous! (and much nicer than the inspiration)
    Have a super fun wedding day and happy honeymooning! Hopefully the lovely weather will still be here on your return!

  10. Kerry July 11, 2013 / 7:10 PM

    This is beautiful, very stylish and classic.

    Enjoy your wedding and honeymoon! x

  11. Claire (aka Seemane) July 11, 2013 / 6:15 PM

    Lovely blouse Kathryn – and best wishes for your imminent nuptials 🙂

  12. senjiva July 11, 2013 / 2:59 PM

    Multiple congratulations to you! Your blouse is far superior to the retail version (and your hair is prettier). Enjoy your wedding day!!!!!! xo Margaret

  13. jen July 11, 2013 / 2:59 PM

    Such a beautiful top, I love all the lace mixing! Congrats on your wedding also, so exciting!

  14. flossiejamieson July 11, 2013 / 2:36 PM

    Really love that top. I have been scouting the charity shops for white broderie anglaise for ages now in an attempt to find enough to make a top out of. Sadly a conveniently large enough skirt/dress/tablecloth hasn’t manifested itself just yet, but I live in hope, inspired by your delightful creation. Poo to Whistles, when we can do it ourselves! Good luck on the big day!

  15. sewlittletime July 11, 2013 / 1:03 PM

    woo – free top and WEDDING! have a brilliant time. i have voted for you and it seems like lots of your other readers have too – 73 votes and counting!

  16. shivani July 11, 2013 / 11:40 AM

    I absolutely love this top – it is perfection (even more so since it was free!!!).

    Have a super day on Saturday – can’t wait to see pics of the dress in action! And have a truly amazing honeymoon. So exciting! x

  17. Kirsty July 11, 2013 / 11:33 AM

    Just love this top. Great make. Enjoy Italy.

  18. Katy July 11, 2013 / 9:57 AM

    I just voted for you. This top is stunning! I really want a white top like this, you hit the nail on the head. I hope your wedding is fabulous, I’m sure it will be!!Have an amazing day 🙂

  19. charityshopchic July 11, 2013 / 9:01 AM

    Love your broderie top, much nicer than the Whistles version and it will be great in the Italian sunshine! Hope everything goes smoothly for the wedding this weekend! Congrats!

  20. didyoumakethat July 11, 2013 / 8:38 AM

    I absolutely love this top and all the re-use of materials. Very, very inspiring. And you’re getting married!!!! Good luck, my lovely. I hope you share some photos with us.

  21. Maryall July 11, 2013 / 7:20 AM

    I’ve voted! 🙂 Best wishes for the wonderful new trip you are beginning as a married woman 😉

  22. Rachel-Lou July 11, 2013 / 6:43 AM

    Beautiful top! Best of luck with your wedding, I hope everything goes smoothly x

  23. Joelle July 11, 2013 / 4:35 AM

    Great shirt! Congratulations on your wedding and enjoy your honeymoon!

  24. Zoe July 11, 2013 / 4:32 AM

    What a sweet top and how it awesome it was practically free, I love projects like that. Hope the wedding is great and the nice weather lasts so you can enjoy it!

  25. suzy July 10, 2013 / 11:20 PM

    I love the top! And all the best for your wedding & honeymoon & married life. I hope you have a wonderful day.

  26. Jenni July 10, 2013 / 10:49 PM

    Beautiful Top :o) hope all goes well for your wedding and honey moon ;o)

  27. JacqC July 10, 2013 / 10:38 PM

    What a brilliant thrifty top. I much prefer it to the Whistles version – more individual 🙂
    Have a wonderful wedding day, wishing you every happiness

  28. gingermakes July 10, 2013 / 10:33 PM

    Oooh, this really is so summery and lovely! Beautifully done! Enjoy your wedding and honeymoon, girl! So excited for you!

  29. crab&bee July 10, 2013 / 10:24 PM

    Happy wedding! And I love love love your thrifty top, it suits you perfectly.

  30. sylkotwist July 10, 2013 / 10:15 PM

    How Exciting!! Have a fabulous wedding and chocolate ice cream fuelled Italian trip! I’m so happy you used the trim from our swap in your pretty top too, it looks lovely!

  31. Marie July 10, 2013 / 9:41 PM

    This is truly adorable, what a great job! And OMG how exciting about your wedding!!! You’ll have nice weather for it too…whooop! Hope you’ll be sharing some photos with us soon ;o)

  32. Fiona July 10, 2013 / 9:37 PM

    Beautiful top! So simple and perfect for this little bit of summer we’ve been having! Fingers crossed the beautiful weather continues into the weekend for you and I hope you have the most amazing wedding day!

  33. lloubb July 10, 2013 / 9:36 PM

    bwahaha summer should indeed be about the potential for chocolate ice cream spillage!! Love this top – I think the neckline is super flattering on you.
    Have a lovely wedding – and trip to Italy!

  34. Béa July 10, 2013 / 9:25 PM

    “because if anything says summery it’s a chocolate ice-cream spillage just waiting to happen.”
    Heehee- sooooo true!
    I love this top, it looks really cool and summery and elegant. Maybe a pimms spillage is also on the cards?

  35. katy sinclair July 10, 2013 / 9:19 PM

    Beautiful top! Happy wedding and honeymooning

  36. nicoleneedles July 10, 2013 / 9:14 PM

    So lovely! I love all the different textures – they work really well together. Have a fabulous wedding – I expect blog posts (no pressure)

  37. Kathryn July 10, 2013 / 8:37 PM

    This is gorgeous! I love all the different textures you’ve used, and it’s so cool that it’s made up of bits from other makes and from gifts. I’ve still not used anything from the Peter Jensen sale except some yellow cotton (which was an unsuccessful make) so thanks for the reminders about the lovely buttons! Wishing you a very happy wedding day and honeymoon!!

What do you think?

