Crafty hen do and bunting extravaganza

So, I’m getting married two weeks on Saturday. I haven’t really posted about my wedding planning, because I’ve done absolutely no DIY, crafting, or sewing for it at all. It’s been a total CRAFT-FREE ZONE.

This is because I prefer to keep crafting and deadlines far, far away from each other. Luckily for me though, my friends have more than compensated, putting me to shame with their amazing creativity.

This applies especially to my hen do which was a couple of weekends ago. My lovely friends hired a room above a pub in Shoreditch, and filled it with embarrassing photos, crafting activities and wine.

It looked like this:

knitting, wine and bunting

Check out the bunting/knitting action!

I am far too lazy to make bunting so I was very touched that so many lovely people took the trouble to sew so much, and decorated the room so beautifully.

My friend Lizzy made some of it, and it’s the most perfectly finished bunting I have ever seen – she’s posted about it on her blog here. It’s basically the Rolls Royce of bunting. I have some in my living room adorning the bookshelves.

bunting from lizzy
Photo stolen from Lizzy’s blog

As well as this, my friends organised a fascinator making session run by the v talented Jess, who I met on the textiles course at Morley College. She brought along so many trims, ribbons, buttons, templates, millinery bases, and bits of fabric, I was like a kid in a sweet shop. Everyone was having a go! I hope to see them all at the wedding…

fascinators
My friends don’t know I’ve posted this but hopefully they won’t mind. Or alternatively never find out.

Here’s my fascinator effort. Not bad for an hour’s work while drinking rosé, I reckon.

fascinator

We also had a writing area run by my friend Bea, where you looked up the meaning of your name and filled in a template to create your own poem:

poem

And a knitting area, led by Lizzy who is a knitting fiend. That woman has made more jumpers in the last year than I have ever owned in my life.

knitting

I loved that when I looked around, everyone was sitting crafting, drinking, and chatting. It was more relaxed than a formal crafting class, but still really fun and creative.

It was an amazing weekend, and I feel very lucky and privileged to know such lovely people. Cheesy but true.

9 thoughts on “Crafty hen do and bunting extravaganza

  1. Franca July 1, 2013 / 9:13 AM

    How fun! I didn’t even know you were getting married – have an amazing day!

  2. Emma June 30, 2013 / 3:13 PM

    Fascinator making? What a fab hen party idea! All the best for the two week countdown. We’ve got six weeks til ours! Ex

    • yesilikethat July 1, 2013 / 3:14 PM

      Good luck Emma! Hope you have a wonderful day x

  3. Nicoline June 29, 2013 / 5:43 AM

    Wowee, that’s so lovely, you have very thoughtful friends! Hope you are enjoying the lead-in to the big day!

  4. thesecretlifeofseams June 28, 2013 / 5:07 PM

    Looks like a great do! Very sensible to take the pressure off the wedding by not undertaking a craftaganza, you’re going to have enough going on as it is.
    Hope you have a blast on the day, and best wishes to you and your partner!

  5. gingermakes June 28, 2013 / 3:21 PM

    How FUN! Sounds like you have awesome friends!

    I think you’re so wise to avoid deadlines and sewing– they sure can be a toxic mix! Nearly every project I do for Mood ends in a meltdown as I’m finishing at the last minute… I can’t imagine how much more stressful it would be for your wedding!

  6. katy sinclair June 28, 2013 / 12:10 PM

    That looks like a perfect hen do! Well done your chums!

  7. Suzie June 28, 2013 / 10:22 AM

    Aw – what a fab hen party, so lovely of your friends to organise all of that for you! Good luck for 2 weeks time – I am sure you will have a wonderful day. I’ve got 8 days until mine…eek! And you were wise to avoid the DIY/crafting for your actual wedding…I have been sewing non-stop for what seems like forever…last night I proclaimed that after the wedding I would not be sewing for a long LONG time!!!

    • yesilikethat June 28, 2013 / 10:27 AM

      Massive good luck to you, you’ll have an amazing day and it’ll be worth it! How exciting that it’s so close! x

What do you think?

