Brand new shirt – from a vintage Maudella pattern (again)

I’ve made another Maudella pattern! I just can’t stop. I’m a Maudella machine.

maudella shirt 5

It’s a 70s shirt pattern that I’ve posted about before, I couldn’t resist buying it from Ebay, although I wouldn’t exactly describe my lifestyle as ‘ship and shore’, whatever that means. It includes a pattern for a rather excellent pair of 70s bellbottoms which I may make at some stage.

Photo nicked from Ebay seller as I couldn't find the envelope in my sewing room
Photo nicked from Ebay seller as I couldn’t find the envelope in my sewing room

I really liked the yokes on this pattern, and the pocket placement on the front. I can let you into a little secret though – the pockets are completely non-functional.

maudella shirt closeup

The pattern has you sew two pointy rectangles right sides together, turn them right side out, fold over the top point and topstitch the whole thing down. Does that make any sense at all? Anyway they look neat, and I never use shirt pockets anyway.

I spent a lot of time working on the shoulder and bodice fit of this pattern, but somehow forgot to account for my gorilla arms so the sleeves are too short. I mostly wear them rolled up anyway.

shirt done up

The collar has a pointy finish to the band, which you can see when it’s buttoned up to the top. I know it’s trendy but I feel like I’m suffocating when I wear shirts like this. Maybe I have a particularly thick neck (must be all that weightlifting I do).

Here’s the back, with a lovely matching pointy yoke.

maudella shirt 2

This shirt was almost entirely brought to you by Wonder Tape. If you haven’t used this, it’s a thin double-sided sticky tape that dissolves in the wash, and which you can sew through without gumming up your needle.

photo (3)

This stuff has transformed my sewing career. It’s a brilliant cheating aid for lazy people who can’t be bothered to pin and baste, like myself. I used it to stick down the yokes and pockets before topstitching them, as well as securing the button placket facing before stitching in the ditch.

The fabric is a fine dotted swiss, part of my Peter Jensen sample sale haul. Yeah, I’m still working through it! I’ve still got a metre and a half left. Not sure what to do with it. Suggestions welcome! I don’t think I need two beige shirts….

maudella shirt 6

32 thoughts on “Brand new shirt – from a vintage Maudella pattern (again)

  1. sewamysew June 27, 2013 / 4:33 AM

    It looks great. I love this fabric! The detail on this pattern is amazing, I love the back, the yoke and button and the gathers. Well worth the ebay trawling. šŸ™‚

  2. redsilvia June 26, 2013 / 2:08 AM

    Very cute! I too am wondering what a “ship ‘n shore life” is and why they’re too busy to type out “and”.

    If your fabric is cotton you could always dye it and make another shirt that would now be totally different…

    • yesilikethat June 27, 2013 / 9:25 AM

      I love that idea, and I have some lilac dye ready and waiting which could be an interesting experiment! Thank you!

  3. lafolieemilieLo June 25, 2013 / 9:54 AM

    gorgeous fabric, tres chic result. I also simply adore the jumpsuit illustration on the pattern enveloppe! can I have it?! I would seriously buy a photocopy of the pattern from you, its too cute…and in my size!!!

    • yesilikethat June 25, 2013 / 9:57 AM

      Hello! I’m afraid it’s actually not a jumpsuit but the bellbottom trousers and a sleeveless shirt made in the same fabric… it does look cute though!

  4. hemfatale June 25, 2013 / 7:59 AM

    This is marvellous. You look great in these nude shades – it really suits you. You HAVE to make the crazy flared chefs trousers off the envelope. Perfect for any occasion.

    • yesilikethat June 25, 2013 / 9:55 AM

      I am so tempted. Need to find the perfect fabric first.

  5. Uzezi June 25, 2013 / 5:34 AM

    Hiya,

    Where can one get Wonder Tape?

    • yesilikethat June 25, 2013 / 9:54 AM

      Where are you based? I got my first roll on holiday in America two years ago, and my second from Jaycotts who are an online UK store, however I’ve noticed the first lot was better at dissolving in the wash. The Jaycotts one is very stubborn, I keep finding traces of it that haven’t disappeared.

  6. Melizza June 24, 2013 / 10:40 PM

    Super cute. I love that fabric. You look well nice in it.

  7. lloubb June 24, 2013 / 8:25 PM

    awesome make. What a cool pattern – lots of great details without being cluttered.

  8. Sally @ thequirkypeach June 24, 2013 / 5:33 PM

    Ship and shore! HA! Love the 70’s šŸ™‚ This shirt is great – the fabric is so cute and the back yoke with the button – too perfect! Love it!

  9. gingermakes June 24, 2013 / 4:58 PM

    Suuuuuper cute! I love all the details– what an awesome pattern! And YES! You definitely need those bell-bottoms!

  10. Donna June 24, 2013 / 2:51 PM

    Ooh, love it! The little details make all the difference. I’m with you, I can’t do the whole top-button thing.

  11. Jenny Clark June 24, 2013 / 2:30 PM

    This is great! I love that pointy back yoke (sometimes the little details really make a garment!) and I’m definitely going to get some Wonder Tape – that sounds brilliant! x

  12. Kelly June 24, 2013 / 2:30 PM

    The details on this shirt are really fantastic – I love the back yoke and pockets! You’ll have to try out those pants sometime too, they look fabulous!

  13. Elise June 24, 2013 / 1:13 PM

    I love this fabric, it’s perfect as a shirt! šŸ™‚

  14. Rachel-Lou June 24, 2013 / 12:21 PM

    Very nice, I also LOVE Maudella patterns, I think part of the reason is that the envelope art is so stylised and naive compared to other patterns of the same era. What about a simple gathered skirt for the rest of the fabric, or maybe some Tania culottes?

    • yesilikethat June 25, 2013 / 9:53 AM

      Nice ideas! I’m not too sure about culottes, I was scarred for life by my Girl Guides uniform, although the Tania pattern is so cute it might sway me one day.

    • Latricia May 16, 2017 / 10:59 AM

      If not for your writing this topic could be very coelnvutod and oblique.

  15. shivani June 24, 2013 / 12:13 PM

    very nice! love the front and back yokes x

  16. Blogless Anna June 24, 2013 / 12:06 PM

    Love this shirt. Might just need to go and try and source that pattern myself šŸ™‚ I’m also a fan of wonder tape. Was using it today to baste a zip, and yesterday when making a bag, and the day before…

    • yesilikethat June 27, 2013 / 9:26 AM

      Anna I’ve definitely seen another version of it on Ebay before, so keep hunting!

  17. flossiejamieson June 24, 2013 / 11:46 AM

    Excellent shirt. Although if that pattern is a size 14 on you, I dread to think what that makes me. Why not make yourself a matching pair of long shorts a la 1920s safari suits with the remainder of the material? It could be the look of the “summer.”

    • yesilikethat June 25, 2013 / 9:53 AM

      These 70s patterns come up tiny, I made a skirt where the size 14 waistband was way too small. I am LOVING your safari suit idea, however as you say it’s not a look I can see myself rocking in the Great British Summer, should it ever appear…

  18. Sarah June 24, 2013 / 11:04 AM

    Very nice, love the front yoke.

  19. rehanon June 24, 2013 / 10:57 AM

    This is tremendous duck! Such a great colour on you and if anything your neck is nothing but swan like xxx

    • yesilikethat June 25, 2013 / 9:52 AM

      ha ha, thank you! I must make a Bjork-style swan dress…

  20. charityshopchic June 24, 2013 / 10:29 AM

    Gorgeous as usual… I think the sleeves look cute in their slightly cropped length šŸ™‚

What do you think?

