Spring Sewing Swap!

Readers, do you swap? I am, of course, referring to exchanges of the sewing variety. I recently took part in my first postal swapping event, which was kindly organised by the lovely Kerrie of Kestrel Finds and Makes.

I was lucky enough to be paired up with Amy of Sylko Twist, who I first met at the HUGE swap earlier this year, and even better, she put me to shame by sending her stuff early!

Is there anything better than a big mystery parcel? I think not, especially when you get it at work and sneakily take it to the kitchen to tear it open and paw through all the lovely stuff. Amy sent me some gorgeous things. First, the fabric. This was all beautifully wrapped up in tissue paper and ribbon, unlike the sorry parcel I sent her…

fabric

Check out these beauties! On the left we have a semi-sheer knit in some fabulous colours. I think I’m going to leave this until the colder months (although that’s all relative in the UK at the moment), and maybe make a Hot Cocoa sweater. Or possibly another little knit dress. There’s loads of it so I have a myriad of options!

On the right is a beautifully drapey crepe type fabric – I’ve already decided this is going to be a Scout Tee with long sleeves, like Shivani’s lovely versions. The print is too awesome to let any darts or pleats get in the way.

patterns
Next, some amazing patterns. I have some cunning plans for the jumpsuit on the left. I am a huge fan of the pattern art (and the pattern) in the middle – Upper arm bangle! Manicure inspection! 60s hair! And the shirt dress on the right is completely perfect, will definitely be making a version of that.

trimmings

But that’s not all! Amy also included a card of beautiful buttons, which I think she must have hand-stitched on herself. They are almost too pretty to use, I may have to just admire them. Plus there was some gorgeous ribbon and lace trim.

parrots

Finally, the icing on the cake – a parrot tea-towel! These may not technically be parrots –  if any Australians want to chime in to identify them, please feel free. They’ll always be parrots to me though.

And what’s that on the left-hand side? Could it be…I think it could be…yes it is….

parrot jumper

A parrot jumper knitting pattern!! Goodness knows where Amy managed to find this, but it’s made me very happy. At my current knitting speed it would take me over 20 years to make this, but I can dream…

Thanks to the lovely Kerrie for organising this swap, and the gorgeous Amy for sending me such beautiful things!

22 thoughts on “Spring Sewing Swap!

  1. Elise June 23, 2013 / 9:05 PM

    Wow excellent parcel, that blue fabric is perfect!

  2. Danielle June 23, 2013 / 1:39 PM

    The red and blue bird looks like a Crimson Rosella. We have lots of these in southern Victoria, and they’re absolutely beautiful – really vivid. We also have lots of the galahs (lower pink and grey). I liked those a lot better before they ate all the cherries on my new tree… 😦

    • yesilikethat June 23, 2013 / 10:09 PM

      Ooh thanks Danielle! I love colourful birds.

  3. Sharron June 23, 2013 / 7:32 AM

    I just want add to the bird id, the pink crested parrot is a Major Mitchell cockatoo and the green and blue one on the left a Rainbow Lorikeet – very common in suburban Brisbane, they love nectar rich blossoms and can get a bit rowdy when a flock descends on a bottle brush tree in bloom. The red and blue one is another form of Lorikeet but I’m not sure whether has any special name other than Red Lorikeet.
    Love reading your blog, thanks for all your informative posts.

    • yesilikethat June 23, 2013 / 10:10 PM

      Thanks so much Sharron, that’s so nice of you! I wish we had birds like that here, it would definitely cheer up my morning cycle ride to work…

  4. Jill June 22, 2013 / 6:30 AM

    I love the fabrics! And of course, the icing on the cake-that knitting pattern 🙂

  5. Hemstitch June 21, 2013 / 4:18 PM

    The middle pattern is identical to one of the first things I made (back in the day when the pattern was new!). I put pockets in the side seams and nearly wore it to death. It probably cost me something like ten bob to make ( 10/- or 50p). Cheap, even then. I hope you enjoy it, too.

    • yesilikethat June 23, 2013 / 10:11 PM

      Ah that’s awesome, do you know what happened to it?

  6. Helen June 21, 2013 / 2:18 PM

    Wow! What a haul! How on EARTH did she manage to get all that for fifteen quid?! I found the swap really stressful because I was so concerned that what I bought looked like nothing (obviously I enjoyed it in the end, though). I am clearly shopping in the wrong places! 😦

    • yesilikethat June 23, 2013 / 10:11 PM

      I know, I was super lucky! Your swap parcel looked lovely though 🙂

  7. Zoe June 21, 2013 / 10:17 AM

    Damn! You are one lucky chica! Can’t wait to see your version of the jumpsuit pattern, and I bet that shirt dress pattern will be a real winner too. LOVE the spotty floral crepe.. xx

    • yesilikethat June 21, 2013 / 12:35 PM

      I know, so pretty! The jumpsuit will probably be a while in coming, but hopefully it’ll be worth it when it arrives… xx

  8. sylkotwist June 21, 2013 / 8:09 AM

    So happy and relieved that you like them! The tea towel was a bit of a risk, not too savvy as far as parrots go! As for the knitting pattern, I thought I was dreaming when I spotted it – Looking forward to seeing that jumpsuit … and jumper! x

  9. crab&bee June 20, 2013 / 11:15 PM

    Ooh, that romper pattern is killer! I’m excited to see what you make of it.

  10. Blogless Anna June 20, 2013 / 10:42 PM

    Although I’m an Aussie, I’m no bird expert, but here are my thoughts… The green & yellow and red & blue are indeed parrots. Flossie was right, the bird in the middle is a kookaburra, and the pinky ones are galahs. Bottom left looks like a male superb fairy-wren (http://www.birdlife.org.au/bird-profile/superb-fairy-wren) and if I had to put money on it, the bird second from the bottom on the right is a type of honey eater. The bird at the top of the tree is some type of bird of prey …an eagle perhaps? That knitting pattern is priceless!

    • yesilikethat June 21, 2013 / 12:36 PM

      Wow, thanks for your awesome knowledge! I am so happy there is a bird called a ‘superb fairy wren’, that has just about made my week. I must head to Australia to see all this amazing wildlife they have down there.

  11. gingermakes June 20, 2013 / 8:49 PM

    OH. MY. GAH. A parrot knitting pattern!!!!!!!! Amazing!

  12. Melizza June 20, 2013 / 6:30 PM

    How super thoughtful! That parrot knitting pattern is ace!

  13. Kerry June 20, 2013 / 6:16 PM

    Wow, what a lovely parcel to receive, Amy did a great job tailoring it just to you. Jumpsuits and parrots – fantastic!

  14. flossiejamieson June 20, 2013 / 5:25 PM

    I’m not an Aussie but I do believe you have a kookaburra (brown and squat in the middle) and a gala (sp? – red and blue, top right, as in Alf from Home and Away saying “Vinnie, you flamin’ gala!”) in there. And possibly a cockatoo. But I am no bird expert so I await correction from a proper antipodal ornithologist.

    • flossiejamieson June 20, 2013 / 7:45 PM

      I do actually mean antipodean, not antipodal, whatever that is …

    • yesilikethat June 21, 2013 / 12:37 PM

      Ha ha, your Alf impression is spot on! I used to sing that song about a kookaburra sitting in the gum tree when I was a girl guide, so I should have spotted that one…

What do you think?

