Emerald green dirndl skirt

This was one of those unicorn projects where it all comes together exactly like you imagined. Right fabric, right pattern, and the right modifications. How rare is that?

green skirt 2

And as with most great ideas, this skirt is 100% plagiarised.

I first got the idea for a BRIGHT GREEN dirndl from this amazing skirt by blogger Gail of Today’s Agenda. It was love at first sight.

She in turn was inspired by this skirt from a US designer called Emerson Fry.

Emerson Fry

As soon as I saw these photos, I knew I needed an emerald-green flared skirt. I bought some suitable fabric in Goldhawk Road while on the epic sewing meet-up, 1.5 metres for £6, and it’s SO PERFECT. I think it’s cotton, but it almost feels like silk twill, with a slight sheen and a crisp hang to it. It hardly creases either.

green skirt 1
For the skirt pieces, I went digging through the stash, and came up with this battered pattern from an Ebay job lot. It’s actually for a pleated skirt, but it had the perfect shape and ready-drafted inseam pockets (yay!) so I just smoothed the waistline and gathered it rather than adding the pleats.

Style skirt pattern
I think rectangular dirndls can be a bit much if you’re pear-shaped, there’s so much bulk around the waist. This A-line shape flares nicely and avoids the full on Sound Of Music look (not that there’s anything wrong with dressing like Julie Andrews in an old pair of curtains. It’s a good look)

The colour is not right in this photo, but you get a better idea of the shape.

skirt laid out

You might be wondering about that big seam in the middle of the skirt. You see, I wasn’t sure about the front patch pockets on the original versions. I wanted something a bit different as embellishment. Then I remembered a Carven skirt I’d pinned on Pinterest, which had a flat-felled seam right across the middle. Voila:

seersucker full skirt carvenIt’s a subtle detail, but there’s something about that seam that makes the skirt hang differently and look posher. So basically I decided to rip off the idea and add a flat-felled seam to my emerald skirt, saving myself £220 in the process (yep, that’s how much the Carven skirt was.

The seam is purely decorative, but I love the extra bit of detail it adds, and it didn’t take long to sew. The trick is to avoid cutting it straight across the pattern piece. You need to curve it in line with the hem so it looks straight when you wear it. There’s a great flat-felling tutorial here from Colette which helped me a lot.

I also added little tabs and covered buttons inspired by the original Emerson Fry skirt, because why not? They’re just sewn into the waistband side seam.

skirt tab and button
I love this skirt! Now let’s hope the sunshine stays with us so i can wear it again.

greenskirt

42 thoughts on “Emerald green dirndl skirt

  1. Jenice Nathaniel November 29, 2015 / 10:44 AM

    Alagasia! I love the Inheritance Cycle, I cannot wait for the newest book. I think it comes out early November!LikeLike

  2. Helen June 26, 2013 / 10:20 PM

    Catching up with blog posts since I’ve been on holiday!

    I absolutely love this skirt! The colour is perfect (for someone who’s favourite colour, and blog name, is green, it’s not a colour I’ve really made any garments in) and I love love love the flat felled seam. What a great detail. It really makes the skirt special (along with the button tabs). I may have to rip this one off myself, if you don’t mind. This is just perfect in every way.

  3. Tara June 12, 2013 / 6:26 PM

    Oh wow! I LOVE this. It looks so put together and yet so comfy and its so GREEEEN. Very nice indeed! x

  4. Clare June 12, 2013 / 1:53 PM

    That’s awesome! Really love the colour and how you have styled that with the cardi and white top. Really nice xx

  5. shivani June 11, 2013 / 10:51 AM

    I have serious skirt envy – this is so gorgeous. I love that flat felled seam detail. Perfect skirt.

  6. Zoe June 10, 2013 / 5:54 PM

    Holy smokes Kathryn, that is the nicest skirt possibly anywhere ever!!!!!!! No doubt it’s your have. Genius xxx

  7. Jill June 10, 2013 / 4:35 AM

    Is it ok that I want to steal this? Seriously, this is my absolute favorite color, and it just looks so darn cute and comfy!

  8. Elizabeth June 10, 2013 / 4:17 AM

    Super cute skirt. I love that color.

  9. nettie June 10, 2013 / 3:45 AM

    I have that same green skirt saved to my style pin board!! Yours is lovely!

  10. giddyauntlola June 9, 2013 / 7:58 PM

    Lovely skirt and nice detailed explanation of how u got to it.
    asaucystitch.blogspot.co.uk

  11. Kelly June 9, 2013 / 5:27 PM

    I love this! The color, middle seam, and shape all work together perfectly. Great job!

  12. craftylittlebugger June 9, 2013 / 9:31 AM

    Really really lovely – I might have to do a third generation rip-off of yours! I’m not usually into dirndls, but I love the flat felled seam and the waist tabs. Great details.

  13. Miss Demeanour June 9, 2013 / 8:10 AM

    Green with envy bah boom! 🙂 Seriously though lady you’ve owned this one. Nice work with all the details and the colour just sings on you xxx

  14. Kirsty June 8, 2013 / 3:07 PM

    You are so right with the middle seam. It makes a big difference. Yay to Carven and yay to you. Love this skirt, the colour is perfect and those little tabs are super cute.

  15. Blogless Anna June 8, 2013 / 8:55 AM

    I love you new green skirt. In fact I’m a little green with envy! The little details, like the flat-felled seam and the tabs/buttons, are what makes it special.

  16. Tilly June 7, 2013 / 6:34 PM

    Lurrrve this! Particularly the fabric covered buttons on the waist tabs – so chic.

  17. Donna June 7, 2013 / 5:07 PM

    It’s gorgeous – those little details do make all the difference! Beautiful color too!

  18. thesecretlifeofseams June 7, 2013 / 4:56 PM

    The tabs and the flat-felled seam finish it off fantastically. It’s really cool to see you inspiration collected together as well.

  19. gingermakes June 7, 2013 / 4:39 PM

    I love this! It’s stunning! The flat-felled seam and tabs are super professional and look great!

  20. Lynne June 7, 2013 / 1:33 PM

    I love your skirt too! The colour is fab, green is one of my favourites. I would never have “seen” how lovely the shape is from the pattern envelope, yours looks more sitty-out than on the pattern, and I love a sitty-out skirt! Also, the flat-fell seam and button tabs are a great detail.

  21. Joelle June 7, 2013 / 1:07 PM

    Your skirt is awesome! I’m inspired, too!

  22. Janice A. June 7, 2013 / 10:49 AM

    Very pleasing. The seam going round the skirt is a brilliantly simple idea and well worth copying.

  23. Sandra June 7, 2013 / 10:48 AM

    Loving the unicorn. The seam through the middle is great and the tabs and buttons are wonderful finishing touch.

  24. Kristy June 7, 2013 / 10:43 AM

    Gorgeous shape and colour. It’s funny how such a strong colour can be so versatile – I made a skirt from a similar colour several months ago and have nearly worn it to death now. Luckily I have enough fabric to make another one this summer

  25. Katy June 7, 2013 / 10:40 AM

    It’s so lovely, and such a great idea to add the tabs. Very inspired 🙂

  26. dandeliondrift June 7, 2013 / 10:36 AM

    Lve it! I just made a circle skirt in the same color green…it is such a happy color! I really like your button tabs on your waistband!

  27. sewlittletime June 7, 2013 / 10:10 AM

    really lovely! looks like just the right sort of fabric i need for a slightly lighter weight kelly skirt. any idea which shop you got it from?

  28. didyoumakethat June 7, 2013 / 9:22 AM

    Wonderful! I also greatly admire your wine bottle collection!

    • yesilikethat June 7, 2013 / 9:24 AM

      Ha ha, I was sort of hoping nobody would notice those. It’s my boyfriend’s booze collection for his stag do. I think we need a wine rack though, floor storage doesn’t seem very elegant.

  29. Emily June 7, 2013 / 7:58 AM

    I love green but hardly ever wear it – might have to get my hands on some of that fabric, looks like it has a really lovely drape!

    I love the tabs on the waistband too. All in all <3.

    • yesilikethat June 7, 2013 / 9:23 AM

      Nothing like some useless tabs to add something extra 🙂

  30. Stevie June 7, 2013 / 7:43 AM

    Beautiful! I love that green on you and those little details really do make for a lovely finish, Clever you! xx

  31. Kerry June 7, 2013 / 7:38 AM

    Just lovely, sounds like it was meant to be, how easily it came together. I’ve been lusting over that same Pinterest image too.

What do you think?

