Vintage fabric prints from the V+A

Did you know that the Victoria & Albert museum sell fabric?

I think it was introduced as a tie-in with the quilting exhibition in 2010 but it’s now a permanent fixture in their online shop.

Originally all the designs were based on vintage quilt fabrics, but they seem to be adding to the collection regularly and there are a couple of gorgeous new ones.

This is my no.1 top favourite design. It’s called ‘Kinross‘ and it’s a 50s design by Edinburgh Weavers. I love the cross-hatched shading on the flower heads (or are they thistles?). I think this would make amazing curtains for a small window.

kinross_high res

This is my second favourite. It’s called ‘Medallion‘ and it’s based on the endpapers from a 1925 French fashion journal. Imagine if Vogue had designs like this on the inside cover! I would be buying it a lot more frequently.

It’s hard to tell from this image but those medallions are big, about 12cm across.

medallion

Now I’ve sewn from V&A prints before, and if they’re still using the same fabric as a base, it is suitable for dressmaking. It’s basically quilting cotton, but not that horrible stiff cotton that hangs like cardboard. Just approach with caution – it’s good for skirts, pyjama bottoms, and structured dresses I reckon.

Although to be honest I’d be tempted just to make a couple of cushion covers to admire! You can buy all the fabrics online here.

11 thoughts on “Vintage fabric prints from the V+A

  1. Franca May 25, 2013 / 8:53 PM

    oh these are lovely!

  2. Kat H May 23, 2013 / 10:27 AM

    Those are gorgeous! Thanks for telling us about them. 🙂

  3. sewamysew May 22, 2013 / 11:44 PM

    YOu are full of awesome tips, thanks so much for this I’m going to check them out in person when I’m there! I’m liking the coral colour seed head on the site.

  4. Helen May 22, 2013 / 9:00 PM

    I love these! Thanks for sharing. Both are lovely, particularly Kinross.

    The V&A is one of the things I really miss about London – I had membership when I lived there. It never occurred to me they’d have an online shop! How daft am I?!

  5. flossiejamieson May 22, 2013 / 6:39 PM

    I hav been listing after these for a while now. I have refused to delete the email they sent me telling me the new fabrics were in as some kind of proof to myself that I will actually have the money and the gumption to buy some and make something out of them! My friend very kindly made me a makeup bag with some she got a couple of years back, and it is indeed a thing of beauty.

    • flossiejamieson May 22, 2013 / 6:39 PM

      I haven’t been listing – I have in fact been lusting. Doh.

  6. Kelly May 22, 2013 / 3:42 PM

    This is so neat! The Kinross print is amazing. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Kirsty May 22, 2013 / 12:45 PM

    Oooh the Kinross is just fantastic! I’ll have to go and check out the online store…..!

  8. Thea May 22, 2013 / 12:15 PM

    I did not know that, thanks for sharing! I saw your post when I was close to the V&A after work today, and as I surprisingly had a half day off, I decided to take inspiration from the post and wandered around for a bit 🙂

What do you think?

