Me-Made-May-13 – weekly round-up

So I’ve decided to do my MMM round-up today instead of Sunday. I’m just a rebel who won’t play by the rules (the made-up rules I imposed on myself).

Oh okay, the real reason is that I just sewed a fancy new dress to wear to a wedding tomorrow, and I think it deserves a post of its own.

So here’s the last 5 days. They aren’t particularly inspiring so I’ve made a handy collage instead of individual pics.

Day 13 - 17

From top to bottom, left to right we have:

Day 13: Moss skirt, unblogged Maudella shirt, baggy Gap sweatshirt, awful photo. I have cropped my face for your own protection.

Day 14: Birthday dress, Uniqlo jumper, sparkly heart brooch from Tatty Devine.

Day 15: McCalls dress, cardigan from COS.

Day 16: McCalls skirt, unblogged kimono sleeve top, thrifted red cardigan.

Day 17: Burda jeans, Burda leopard print top, cardigan from COS (again), knitted cowl.

I’m getting slightly better at taking my own photo in the mirror, mainly because the alternative involves getting up early enough for my boyfriend to take a picture before he leaves for work. And extra sleep normally wins out.

Here’s a baffling question that Me-Made-May has made me ponder:

I love wearing colour. I really like pinning pictures of other people wearing colour. I gravitate to colourful fabrics in fabric shops.

So WHY ON EARTH do I sew so many black, navy, white, grey, and beige clothes? Is there a deep psychological issue here I need to address? Answers on the back of a postcard, please.

17 thoughts on “Me-Made-May-13 – weekly round-up

  1. thesecretlifeofseams May 20, 2013 / 7:23 PM

    I noticed the exact same thing last week! All my stuff feels like it’s black, blue or browns. i guess because these colours are really easy to match? So really you’re sewing a super-flexible wardrobe which integrates with your life seamlessly. And the pictures kind of prove that!

    • yesilikethat May 22, 2013 / 11:05 AM

      That’s a great way of looking at it! Taking a photo every day is very eye-opening, you start to realise what your style looks like to other people. I realised that I only buy red, pink, or navy knitwear, for some reason.

  2. gingermakes May 20, 2013 / 2:06 PM

    I like your outfits! They’re all really cute. I like the combo of b&w prints with red or pink that you’re rocking.

    • yesilikethat May 22, 2013 / 11:05 AM

      Thanks lady! I am a big fan of red, it’s true…

  3. sewamysew May 17, 2013 / 10:50 PM

    That is weird. I was talking to a sewer the other day and she said that she always cute a size too big and ends up having to take it in. She reckons it’s a body issue thing, like she thinks she’s bigger than she really is. I think you wear colour really well.

    I’m finding I have to start making some basic neutral and dark pieces because everything I’m making is so “crazy fabric”, I can’t wear anything together! So balance is important. 😉

  4. Liz May 17, 2013 / 9:18 PM

    Ooh if you go to freed factory and they have a shop, get me some shoes please……I can tell you the name and size, think it’s topspin 4 1/2…..

  5. Miriana May 17, 2013 / 7:20 PM

    There’s quite a bit of red and pink going on in those outfits, so I think you may be overstating your psychological issue a touch.

    • yesilikethat May 17, 2013 / 7:45 PM

      Ha ha, you’re probably right. The thing is, that’s nearly all knitwear that I’ve bought. When it comes to sewing I seem to gravitate towards more neutral fabrics for some reason.

  6. Helen May 17, 2013 / 7:08 PM

    Can’t help you on your colour versus black and white question. But I do love your black and white dress with the yellow belt! I think that looks fab and now want a yellow belt myself!

    PS. At least you are wearing prints! And they are lovely!

    • yesilikethat May 17, 2013 / 7:45 PM

      Everyone should have a yellow belt I think! 🙂

  7. flossiejamieson May 17, 2013 / 5:24 PM

    Again, I share your shame on the lack of colour. I was considering writing a post about how I’ve never really stopped being a goth at heart, given my rather black/navy/neutrals wardrobe. (At least I no longer wear/can fit into my PVC trousers though, for which we can all be grateful …) But this is the good thing about MMM as it has forced me to work with more random materials, namely stuff from charity shops and fabric from boot fairs or my mum’s loft, so I am actually starting to tell myself off for even thinking about anything from the list of naughty colours. Maybe you should write yourself a Naughty List on a post it and out it in your wallet, to prevent you from purchasing fabric in those colours.

    • yesilikethat May 17, 2013 / 7:46 PM

      Good idea! I hope you do write that post, I would love to read it. I’m a lot better than I used to be, at one point I realised I had 4 very similar navy dresses that I’d bought in a row…

  8. Michelle May 17, 2013 / 3:33 PM

    I love your use of print in your outfits this week! Nicely done.

    • yesilikethat May 17, 2013 / 7:47 PM

      Hey thanks! I must make some more print tops, they do cheer up an outfit.

    • Emma May 17, 2013 / 2:16 PM

      Ahh! I see you already have Spitalfields life in your side bar. Apologies – just ignore me!

    • yesilikethat May 17, 2013 / 2:22 PM

      Hey Emma, thanks for thinking of me and describing me as a dancer, which stretches the trade descriptions act a bit but makes me very happy! 🙂 That post about Freed was amazing, wasn’t it, had no idea they were made in Hackney! Now I really want to visit the factory…

What do you think?

