Me-Made-May-13 Week 2: featuring sunshine, rain, and a Lego robot

Another week of Me-Made-May! I’m finding this much easier than last year. If only the weather would behave itself.

Day 6 and Day 7

Day 6 – Bank holiday! Oh yeah! I’d just finished this skirt when this picture was taken, and I totally love it. Will blog about it later this week. Rest of my outfit is shop-bought.

Day 7 – Still sunny enough to wear sandals! Hooray! Me-made jeans and a very old, pre-blog shirt made from the first Built By Wendy book. It has an extremely wonky, self-drafted Peter Pan collar and doesn’t see much wear.

Day 8, 9,10

Day 8 – Went to work and ballet class. There was a teacher substitution and it turned into a ridiculously hard aerobics session. That’s why I’m propping myself up on the railing. Me-made jeans again, my double-collar shirt, and a jumper from Uniqlo. These jeans are extremely comfortable.

Day 9 – Off to see Star Trek: Into Darkness and eat a big cheeseburger at Byron. Wearing my brown jeans, my white shirt, and brogues from Clarks. Jacket is from Whistles, I got it on Ebay and it’s amazing for this weird spring weather.

Day 10 – You’ve already seen this. MMM has made me re-evaluate this dress. I really love it now! That’s what I like about this challenge. Still in intense muscle pain from ballet class. I am bravely soldiering on.

Day 11, 12

Day 11 – I met C-3P0 on a trip to John Lewis. He wasn’t very chatty. I am wearing my Beignet skirt, an unblogged kimono sleeve top, and a jacket from the Whistles sale. Plus me-knitted-cowl. I reshaped the side seams in this skirt so I wear it a bit more, but it’s not my favourite. I don’t like the shape of the pattern as drafted, it’s like a weird cross between an A-line and a pencil which doesn’t really suit me.

Day 12 – Eating quesadillas at home and frantically sewing a dress to wear to a wedding next weekend, then going out for a lovely pizza with friends. Wearing my brown jeans again, my Burda stripey top (you can just see it), and more shop-bought stuff.

This was a great week! I’m really pleased with how much more stuff I’ve made than this time last year.

p.s. In unrelated news, I am getting married exactly two months from today! Eek!

18 thoughts on “Me-Made-May-13 Week 2: featuring sunshine, rain, and a Lego robot

  1. Alice May 18, 2013 / 8:39 AM

    All your outfits are really stylish but I do love your green skirt. It’s just so great on you!

  2. gingermakes May 17, 2013 / 2:09 AM

    Cute outfits!!! You look awesome! And yay– two months!!

  3. flossiejamieson May 13, 2013 / 4:32 PM

    I love, love, love th pic of you and c3po! That kind of picture deserves a post of its own surely? I would however really like to see a repeat performance of you in the same pose next to him, but wearing your wedding dress … Can you make it so?

    • yesilikethat May 13, 2013 / 4:36 PM

      Ha ha! I think I would need Jedi skills to do that, I’m getting married in Edinburgh and this particular C3PO lives on Oxford Street. However maybe I can use the magical powers of Photoshop. As a side note, I was getting some funny looks as I persuaded my boyfriend to take this photo but I just couldn’t resist.

  4. thesecretlifeofseams May 13, 2013 / 4:30 PM

    Love day 6 and 8 especially! Can’t believe it’s two months already? This year has been insane.
    Side bar: did they run out of gold bricks for one of C3PO’s legs? And super-jealous of Star Trek watch, can’t wait to see it even though 3D also leaves me meh.

    • yesilikethat May 13, 2013 / 4:35 PM

      You have good eyes, I didn’t even spot that! They must have used up every gold brick in John Lewis Oxford Street. Either that or he has some kind of creeping necrosis on his leg. The year is going so fast. I think the weather contributes. I know I constantly bang on about it but it feels like endless winter (raining outside again!! oh joy).

  5. Sarah May 13, 2013 / 2:45 PM

    Ah, jealous of your jeans! And your green skirt. And black and white dress. And that you’ve seen StarTrek already!

  6. suzy May 13, 2013 / 12:44 PM

    Such great outfits! I like the black and white dress too.
    Congratulations on the two-months-to-go wedding countdown, I hope it all goes smoothly.

    • yesilikethat May 13, 2013 / 2:33 PM

      Thank you! I thought it would be too hot to wear that black and white dress as we got towards the end of May but looks like it may get another airing yet….

  7. ZoSews May 13, 2013 / 11:34 AM

    Love that green skirt! Is it a hollyburn?

    • yesilikethat May 13, 2013 / 12:05 PM

      Nope not a Hollyburn, it’s an adapted 70s pattern, basically an A-line dirndl skirt with some extras!

  8. Danielle May 13, 2013 / 11:32 AM

    Oh wow, I have a serious case of skirt envy! Blog it soon, please!
    Congratulations on the two-months-to-go milestone, hope all preparations are going smoothly and stress-free. 🙂

    • yesilikethat May 13, 2013 / 12:05 PM

      Thanks Danielle! Can’t believe where the time has gone.

  9. Katy May 13, 2013 / 11:28 AM

    I have many things to say!
    1.Your wardrobe is so great! I can’t wait till I have that much stuff 🙂
    2. I just went to see star trek 🙂
    3. Congratulations on two months till the wedding:) how exciting !

    • yesilikethat May 13, 2013 / 12:06 PM

      Ooh what did you think of Star Trek? I liked it but the 3D was terrible, it seemed totally pointless. The plotline was a bit holey but it was so action-packed I didn’t really notice until I got home 🙂

  10. shivani May 13, 2013 / 11:11 AM

    I love your me-made wardrobe. I might have borrow the double collar idea – it’s fab! Also, it is a bit ridiculous how many of the same shoes we have.

    • yesilikethat May 13, 2013 / 12:06 PM

      Shoe twins! It’s a shame I didn’t get a better fit on that shirt, I only really wear it under jumpers as I love the collar but it pulls badly at the front.

What do you think?

