Me-Made-May 2013 – first week! + Maudella denim skirt

So the first week of Me-Made-May 2013 has been and gone. Here’s a round-up of what I wore on days 1-4.

mmm1-4

Man, I am bad at taking photos of myself in the mirror. How do other people manage one-handed phone selfies? It’s so hard! I was complaining about this to my boyfriend but he just laughed at me for using the word ‘selfie’, which is basically a fair comment.

Anyway, you might be able to spot my black and white dress, my brown jeans, my Moss denim skirt, and this blue floral dress which I’ve since shortened into a top.

I’m pleased that I’ve managed to wear 90% me-made clothes, except for knitwear (can’t give up my knitwear). There’s a few new things I haven’t blogged yet. One is a denim skirt from a 70s pattern, which I also wore today:

mmm13day5

It doesn’t look so great with tights so it’s been languishing in a drawer until this week, but I think it’ll be a summer staple.

The pattern is a Maudella classic, very kindly sent to me by Kestrel Makes. The fabric is £1 a metre denim from the Peter Jensen sample sale. Yes, I’m still working my way through my massive PJ haul.

maudella skirt

I added slash pockets from a Burda pattern, ripped off from inspired by the Hollyburn from Sewaholic. Pockets are an essential in a denim skirt, don’t you think? I also added lots of jeans-style topstitching, and a lapped zipper using this tutorial.

denim skirt collage

Here’s a top tip – don’t try and hem a heavy denim skirt by turning it up twice and stitching. The hem will keep flipping up no matter how much you iron it. You’ll have to undo the whole stupid thing, then re-sew it using some yellow bias-binding you have lying around. At least that’s my experience.

I’m looking forward to the rest of the month! My sewing has been super-productive lately, the May challenge is really getting me inspired. I’ve got lots of new things to show you as soon as I’ve got some decent photos.

16 thoughts on “Me-Made-May 2013 – first week! + Maudella denim skirt

  1. Kelly May 13, 2013 / 3:11 PM

    I hear you on the mirror self-portraits (I just can’t use “selfie” just yet!). Some people can really pull them off, but I am not one of those people. Your MMM outfits look fantastic – you seem really comfortable in your handmade clothes. The new skirt is great too!

  2. Helen May 12, 2013 / 4:02 PM

    I love your outfits and I love that denim skirt! It’s great! And I like the flash of yellow on the hem. It’s a nice touch.

  3. JacqC May 9, 2013 / 10:23 PM

    I especially like the denim skirt, it’s a lovely shape 🙂

  4. gingermakes May 8, 2013 / 12:12 PM

    Love the outfits! They’re just so cute! Thanks for the tip about hemming denim– that’s good to know.

  5. Jill May 6, 2013 / 11:43 PM

    Love that last outfit!

  6. Danielle May 6, 2013 / 11:16 AM

    Great outfits! I love that black and white dress – and it looks fantastic as a “skirt” too. I read your post on those brown jeans at the time and I have to tell you, they are in the back of my mind every time I attempt to sew pants/trousers (“Remember the jeans! It can be done!”) One day I’ll master them…

    • yesilikethat May 6, 2013 / 11:33 AM

      Oh man I’ve seen the wedding dresses on your blog, don’t think you need to worry at all about making trousers! It’ll be a piece of cake 🙂

  7. Kathryn May 5, 2013 / 10:33 PM

    I’m with you on the difficulties with taking photos, I always feel so awkward! 90% me-made – that’s really impressive!

  8. Kerry May 5, 2013 / 10:24 PM

    Ooh, glad you’ve used the pattern. Looks like a great basic you’ll get lots of wear out of. Like the pocket addition.

  9. Miriana May 5, 2013 / 9:39 PM

    Selfie…ha ha ha.

What do you think?

