Me-Made-May 2013 – who’s in?

Spring is here! Tomorrow is payday! And there’s one more thing that’s making me happy – guess what starts on Wednesday? It’s:

mmay13

OH YEAH!!!!

I wouldn’t normally stretch to four exclamation marks, but I’m very excited about this year’s challenge. Huge thanks go out to Zoe for organising this again.

wardrobe

So far I’ve taken part in Self-Stitched September 11 (went on holiday halfway through and gave up) and Me-Made-May 12 (left my camera on the train so had many outfits undocumented). This year I’m going to see it through the end. Fingers crossed.

Here’s why I love the Me-Made-May concept:

  • It forces me to think creatively about what I put on every day.
  • Photographing my outfits is a great way to find out what I actually wear.
  • It helps me figure out where the gaps in my me-made wardrobe are and plan to fill them.
  • The community of people taking part is amazing. It’s inspiring to see what others around the world make and wear.

I have a lot more home-sewn stuff than last year, so I’m hoping to wear mainly me-made outfits, combined with RTW stuff that I really love. I’ve been thinking a lot about the issues in my last post – if you didn’t see the comments, Franca of Oranges and Apples made a great point about buying less clothing (and make sure you read her comprehensive post about untangling ethical fashion).

My major piece of sewing will be a dress for a wedding on 18th May. I have the fabric – gorgeous polka dot crepe I won in a giveaway from the lovely Rehanon – but still need to decide on a pattern.

If you’re taking part, I have a question – where are you going to document your progress? I’ve joined the Flickr group, which is always a great place to find everyone’s outfits. But I’ll also probably post some via Instagram (you can find my feed here), and do a weekly blog round-up. Let me know what you’re doing so I can follow you!

Good luck to everyone taking part! Ready….steady….

12 thoughts on “Me-Made-May 2013 – who’s in?

  1. Helen May 3, 2013 / 9:39 PM

    Hi! My first me made may, so it’s all very exciting! I’m aiming to post daily on Flickr, with a weekly roundup post on a Friday on my blog. I’m already loving the fact that so many people are leaving such lovely comments on Flickr. I even got one from Megan Nielsen herself!!!! Too exciting for words!

  2. abinadressmaker May 2, 2013 / 7:18 PM

    I’m taking part too! Just decided today… better late than never, eh? I am definitely going to find it challenging, I don’t think I have nearly enough me-made clothes, as I seem to spend all my time sewing for other people or for college! Good luck!

  3. Thea May 2, 2013 / 12:15 PM

    Cool, I look forward to watching everyone’s MMMs! I’m not participating – I don’t feel like I have enough clothes, and I also don’t have the time to catch up. All that fabric I bought two weeks ago is still sitting unwashed. Oh, the guilt! 😉 Have fun!

  4. gingermakes May 1, 2013 / 6:29 PM

    Looking forward to seeing your outfits! I’m posting same as you– daily Instagram/Flickr, and then a weekly roundup post. I’m pretty sure I’ll be sick to death of seeing the same garments over and over all month, but that’s OK, I guess.

  5. thesecretlifeofseams May 1, 2013 / 12:22 PM

    Woo hoo! Looking forward to seeing your outfits, you look like you have quite a few options lined up.
    I’m going to be doing semi-weekly round-ups on my blog. If I attempt flickr as well it might become too adminy. I refuse to rule out panic sewing in the month.

  6. suzy May 1, 2013 / 1:07 AM

    I’m taking part for the first time too – hopefully I’ll be able to get over the logistical photo-taking problems and document everything on flickr too.

  7. Giulia (Drop Stitches Not Bombs) April 30, 2013 / 9:37 PM

    I’m going to be doing a weekly blog round-up, I think. I haven’t touched my Flickr account for years, but maybe it’s time to fire it up again!

  8. Vicki Kate April 30, 2013 / 5:52 PM

    I’m going to do a weekly round up on my blog, I’m not on Flickr. The photos will be the most challenging bit (they always are!) and I know I’ll be repeating items but it’ll be interesting to see which get reached for time and time again!
    Looking forward to seeing what you do for the month, it’s gonna be fun!

  9. craftylittlebugger April 30, 2013 / 4:15 PM

    I’ve pledged and am having a bit of a freakout as I’m not that happy with my wardrobe right now, me-made or otherwise. Saying that, I think it will be a really useful experience – especially the documenting part. I’m hoping that I’ll realise my me-mades aren’t that bad, I’ll be able to spot areas that need improvement, and get some inspiration, which I’m definitely lacking.

    As for documenting the process – its going to be hard as I hate taking photos of myself. We’ll see! I plan to have a round up post at the end of the month if I make it through! Looking forward to it!

  10. shivani April 30, 2013 / 1:15 PM

    I’m not taking part this year. I’m a bit out of love with a lot of my me-made wardrobe, and what I like I already wear pretty regularly, so I’m not sure what more I can do with it. I might try to set myself a separate May challenge, but I haven’t got long to think one up!

  11. flossiejamieson April 30, 2013 / 12:30 PM

    I’m also a newbie to this and to sewing for myself, so I am panicking a bit now that I will be able to make/wear anything much other than the pj bottoms I managed to construct, as the majority of tops that I have refashioned demand slightly warmer weather than we’ve been having. Also my ongoing weight loss makes it slightly depressing to sew one garment, knowing that if things go to plan it won’t fit you for more than the length of MMM anyway. But I endeavour to do my best! Looking forward to seeing what other, more proficient sewers come up with.

  12. Kathryn April 30, 2013 / 10:50 AM

    I’m really looking forward to taking part this year for the first time – though I’m pretty nervous too, about not having enough clothes, and about photographing myself! Interestingly although my sewing output is slow and small I’ve hardly bought any new clothes in the past year – 3 cardigans & underwear is all I can think of right now – so I’m hoping MMM will continue to challenge and change my consumerist habits.

    I’ll be using the Flickr group, and a weekly blog round up, possibly instagram too. I’m looking forward to seeing your outfits!

What do you think?

