Sewing summit of splendour

You’ll probably be seeing this picture on a lot of sewing blogs. It’s a lovely souvenir of the massive meet-up that Rachel organised this weekend.

sewing summit
Photo by http://www.digpalsingh.com/

Actully, meet-up is too small a word to accurately encapsulate the day. It was a stitching summit, a meeting of minds, the SXSW of sewing blogs. It was epic. The sun came out just for us.

chatting

v&a

Rachel is an amazing force of nature. I have put together work conferences this size and I know what an immense pain it is trying to wrangle everyone. She made it seem easy, bringing along a photographer (who took most of these great photos), getting goodie bags for everyone, herding us onto the tube, and shepherding us all along for a absolutely delicious Lebanese meal.

I spent the whole day chatting, meeting new people, and laughing my head off, as you can see in this photo.

laughing
Photo by http://www.digpalsingh.com/

I did have a small crisis about what to wear. I couldn’t decide how cold it was going to be, so in the end I wore my blue pencil skirt (I’ve removed the pockets from this and it hangs a lot better) and my trusty old leopard print top.

My boyfriend told me not to wear heels as I’d be ‘the tallest person there’ but he was totally WRONG. Ha! It was awesome to catch up with fellow tall ladies like Shivani and Rachel, and meet new ones too.

me Shivani and Rachel
Photo by http://www.digpalsingh.com/

I reckon if you’re tall you basically have to learn to sew, or resign yourself to shopping at Long Tall Sally and/or never wearing skirts that finish below the knee.

Chatting to everyone was impossible with nearly 50 bloggers there, but I gave it a good go anyway. It was awesome meeting the incredibly glamorous Nicole Needles, Katy of Sleek Silhouette in her McCalls 6503 dress (twinsies), super-talented Sally from Charity Shop Chic, and so many more lovely women. It doesn’t seem statistically likely that out of 50 people, everyone was nice, but somehow we beat the odds.

I was pretty good in the shopping stakes, only spending £6 on some emerald green cotton for a skirt. For some reason I took a picture of this joker fabric, I think because it was hideous, although now I’m looking at it I can see it as a tastelessly brilliant jacket lining…

jester fabric

This is what we all looked like at lunch. Truly you haven’t lived until you’ve heard the sound of 50 sewing bloggers all talking simultaneously in a Lebanese restaurant.

lunchtime

I got home exhausted, hoarse, inspired to sew more, and totally exhilarated. It was the best day I’ve had in ages. I have a nagging fear that even my nuptials in July won’t live up to it (there will definitely be less sewing chat on my wedding day).

Huge thanks to Rachel for co-ordinating, Janene for organising the delicious food, and everyone else for being awesome and ridiculously well-dressed.

19 thoughts on “Sewing summit of splendour

  1. Catherine Daze April 27, 2013 / 8:05 AM

    It was such a good day. And you’re right about the lack of clothes for tall girls, it’s one of the reasons I started sewing too.

  2. Elise April 24, 2013 / 6:48 PM

    Ooh what a fun day! You’re totally right about the Tall points, my Long Tall Sally stuff is the best clothing I’ve ever had (being that my sewing projects hardly ever turn out quite right…) 🙂

    • yesilikethat April 25, 2013 / 8:17 AM

      Topshop Tall is okay too but such a limited range. Also I find topshop clothing to be v poor quality. x

  3. gingermakes April 23, 2013 / 11:40 PM

    You aren’t kidding! This really does look like the SXSW of sewing blogs! Man, what fun!

  4. nicoleneedles April 22, 2013 / 8:12 PM

    It was an overwhelmingly brilliant day! Thank you for the lovely comment, and I was so happy to meet you at last – lets hope it happens again soon!

    • yesilikethat April 23, 2013 / 1:29 PM

      Hope you can make another one Debby! It’s so nice to meet fellow sewists.

  5. sewbusylizzy April 22, 2013 / 3:44 PM

    It was an amazing day – I lost my voice at lunch!

    • yesilikethat April 23, 2013 / 11:40 AM

      Ha ha, I was totally hoarse on Sunday! Way too much chatting.

  6. Vicki Kate April 22, 2013 / 2:18 PM

    Wow! What an epic day. Can’t think of a better word for it, so sad I missed it!

  7. Kathryn April 22, 2013 / 1:18 PM

    Looks and sounds like an amazing day! So sorry I had to miss it but hoping there will be another one soon I can make it along too!

    • yesilikethat April 23, 2013 / 11:29 AM

      I think Clare of Sew Incidentally is already planning a couple more in Brighton and London, and Marie of A Stitching Odyssey has a Birmingham meetup planned! Hope to meet you soon x

  8. Katy April 22, 2013 / 12:55 PM

    It was so lovely to meet you, a fellow tall lady 🙂 Your write up is so lovely and funny! I can’t wait for the next one.

    • yesilikethat April 23, 2013 / 11:28 AM

      Me too! We should all meet up more regularly. x

  9. punkmik April 22, 2013 / 12:41 PM

    Hehe. Was a lovely day and as fellow tallie agree Bout the sewing. Also long tall sally closed down near me and was super expensive! Lovely to meet u! Til next time I hope. 🙂

    • yesilikethat April 23, 2013 / 11:27 AM

      Yes hopefully see you again! It always looks a bit frumpy in there, I’m too scared to go in… x

What do you think?

