Important parrot update

It’s been a while, but my parrot obsession is still undimmed.

A pretentious children’s shop in Stoke Newington is currently showcasing these in their window:

mini rodini

I tracked them down to a label called Mini Rodini, who sell overpriced clothing for tiny hipsters. I really need this jumper.

parrot jumperWhy should children get all the best clothes? Who spends £45 on a sweatshirt for a 7-yr old anyway? It’s so unfair.

Apparently there’s a childhood obesity epidemic, but it doesn’t seem to have reached Scandinavia, where this label is from. The largest size they do in these still wouldn’t fit me. I am tempted to do some screen-printing and rip this sweatshirt off (also if I spot that budgie fabric anywhere my jumpsuit plans will be resurrected ASAP).

On the other hand, this Charlotte Taylor dress is adult-sized, and possibly the best dress in the history of the world.

parrot dress

It’s like Sonia Delauney with parrots. Luckily it’s sold out as it’s a bit over my budget.

My final parrot find is from Boticca.

I signed up to this accessories website to try and find some interesting wedding earrings, but I find it nearly impossible to navigate. It has the Etsy problem – there’s just WAY too much stuff. Also Boticca send me nearly as many emails as Linkedin, which is a pretty high spamming bar to reach.

However I did manage to find this origami parrot necklace, which is also over my budget. I like to admire it from afar though.

design-fetish-origami-jewelry-2This concludes your April ’13 parrot update.

p.s. who’s going to the London meet-up on Saturday? I’m pretty excited about the thought of that many sewing bloggers gathered in one place. It may cause a huge ripple in the space-time-sewing continuum.

18 thoughts on “Important parrot update

  1. ParisGrrl April 22, 2013 / 3:08 PM

    The parrot shirt could be “homaged” as we say, with some fabric paint, and you can use a video like http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5mTdaGL9Ic to create an origami parrot necklace using stiff metallic art paper or a silver candy wrapper.

    • yesilikethat April 23, 2013 / 11:30 AM

      I love these ideas, thanks! Need to get sketching some parrots I think…

  2. Thea April 19, 2013 / 5:45 PM

    You always manage to make me laugh with your blogposts! It’s the Linkedin spam that did it for me 🙂 Fingers crossed for parrots tomorrow – I’m coming along too (newbie to sewing meetups, slightly scared). Between, what, 30 of us, I don’t think any parrot fabric will have a chance to hide!

  3. Donna April 19, 2013 / 9:55 AM

    That is an *awesome* dress!

  4. Jacq C April 19, 2013 / 7:24 AM

    This is the second blog post I’ve read this week with a ‘child clothing envy’ theme and both are animal related! Taracat is also going to the meet up tomorrow and she’s on the hunt for horse print fabric. I hope you’re both successful 🙂

  5. Joelle April 18, 2013 / 5:21 PM

    Cute parrot dress! I would wear it if it came in my size, too!

    As far as expensive kids clothes, though, I have bought cheap clothes and not-cheap clothes for my sons. The cheap jeans have about 10 wears before they wear through in the knees, the zipper breaks, and the waistband elastic gives out, but the more expensive clothing has lasted through to my my youngest. Bigger investment up front, but longer use time.
    That said, I have boys; they are probably rougher on their clothing than girls, and I probably wouldn’t spend that much for dresses or special occasion clothing that doesn’t get worn on a weekly basis. Jeans and school clothes? Yes. Same with shoes. : )

    • yesilikethat April 19, 2013 / 9:48 AM

      Good point. To be honest I know absolutely nothing about it! If I ever have kids I will probably spend all my money buying ridiculous parrot outfits for them instead of spending on the useful stuff as you say 🙂

  6. Almond Rock April 18, 2013 / 5:21 PM

    Oh wait just seen you not only know about be fab. You’re in with the owners!

    • yesilikethat April 19, 2013 / 9:48 AM

      Lovely earrings, thanks for the link! Look forward to meeting you tomorrow.

  7. gingermakes April 18, 2013 / 4:56 PM

    Oooh, I love all of these! Although the Charlotte Taylor dress does have a lot of strange action going on ’round the crotchal region, hmm….

    • yesilikethat April 19, 2013 / 9:46 AM

      ha ha, I think you’re right, I’d still wear it anyway!

  8. nicoleneedles April 18, 2013 / 4:05 PM

    £45 does seem stupidly overpriced for a chids sweater, but remember that’s the price of a sandwich in Norway (so I’ve been told)

    I’ll be at the meet up on Saturday – my first one! I’m a tiny bit nervous. Looking forward to meeting you!

    • yesilikethat April 19, 2013 / 9:47 AM

      I’ve been to Norway and the sandwiches are expensive it’s true. Especially if you have a beer with them…

      Will be great to meet you tomorrow!

    • yesilikethat April 18, 2013 / 2:59 PM

      Thanks Emma – I don’t just like them, I LOVE THEM!

  9. CGCouture April 18, 2013 / 1:05 PM

    Have you considered using Spoonflower to make your own budgie fabric? I’m sure you can find a cute design that you like and have them create it for you. I think greyscale budgies with the occasional splash of color on one or two would be an awesome repeating fabric design. 😉

    And the price on that kid sweatshirt? Holy cow! I cringe at paying $15 for something he’s going to outgrow in 2 months!! On the flip side though, I wouldn’t make a shirt for someone else for less than $15, so I’m well aware of my hypocrisy. Guess that’s why he wears a lot of thrift clothes, eh?

    • yesilikethat April 18, 2013 / 1:40 PM

      Actually my friend Solii has just set up a UK fabric painting business at http://http://www.befabbecreative.co.uk/, so I definitely want to design some fabric! Just need to find that time, stupid work (and catching up on Game of Thrones) always gets in the way.

      I think buying expensive clothes for kids is a bit silly just because of how fast they grow. Although I would consider framing that jumper instead….

What do you think?

