New favourites

New favourite colour combo:

My boyfriend put together this amazing tulip and daffodil bouquet which is eye-poppingly full of spring: sherbert orange, violet,  yellow and green all mixed together.

flowers

New favourite blog:

The Costume Rail 

I just discovered this blog by a professional costume designer and maker. I love her analysis of film, tv and theatre costume, and there’s also brilliant posts on fishtail dressesvintage underwear, and novelty knitwear.

(incidentally I am still using Google Reader to save all new blog finds. I’m living in denial.)

New favourite dress:

Picture borrowed from Me and My Polar Bear

This amazoid galaxy Elisalex dress sewn by Emily of Me And My Polar Bear.

Would you believe this fabric is actually a duvet cover from Tesco? As soon as I saw this dress on Twitter I bought the same bedding set (you can get it here). It’s pretty stiff poly-cotton though so I’m still working out what to make with it. I think another Elisalex would be a stalking move too far…

New favourite pattern:

McCalls 6531. It’s a kimono sleeve anorak pattern. I’ve still got some lovely khaki waxed cotton left over from the Peter Jensen sample sale (the gift that keeps on giving) and thought the two could combine into a summer jacket. I’ve bought a separating zipper and everything.

M6531

What do you think though? Too 80s? I was going to make the long version with the pockets, but on reflection the shorter jacket might actually be nicer… (Please ignore the McCalls styling, as usual)

10 thoughts on “New favourites

  1. Rachel April 15, 2013 / 7:43 PM

    Thanks so much for the plug for my blog! I’ve only been writing it a couple of months so I’m just starting to find my feet.

    Tulips are my favourite flowers so even happier to be put on the same page as such a beautiful colourful Spring bunch.

    • yesilikethat April 16, 2013 / 3:08 PM

      No problem, I love your blog! Tulips are my favourites too, they’re just so cheerful.

  2. theperfectnose April 14, 2013 / 10:23 PM

    You should totally check out Clothes on Film and the Jonathan Wolford blog. Re the pattern-the line diagrams look cool but it’s McCalls which is my runaway, runaway now signal.. =S

    • yesilikethat April 16, 2013 / 3:07 PM

      I’ve had good luck with McCalls so far! Mainly the Palmer/Pletsch patterns though. I love Clothes on Film but hadn’t seen Jonathan Wolford’s blog before, it’s great, so thank you!

  3. Kelly April 14, 2013 / 6:05 PM

    Those colors are unexpected, but so beautiful! Thanks or sharing the blog too – how interesting.

  4. gingermakes April 14, 2013 / 12:12 PM

    Ooh, the Costume Rail blog is awesome– thanks for sharing! I like the shorter yellow version of the jacket, but any view will look cool and I bet will be fun to make. Happy sewing!

  5. ooobop! April 14, 2013 / 8:41 AM

    Gorgeous colours in that vase. Clever boyf! I love dresses made from unexpected print. Particularly big 50s style tea dresses made from character duvet sets. Not that I’d carry it off! And I like that jacket too… the long one. 🙂

  6. Taracat April 13, 2013 / 8:08 PM

    I’m with you on that Elisalex, it’s gorgeous. And I also prefer the longer jacket.

  7. Helen April 13, 2013 / 7:28 PM

    Thanks for the link to the Costume rail blog, I just clicked through and nearly got lost reading! I also keep adding new blogs to Google reader – I subscribed to both Feedly and Bloglovin but I cant decide which one I like, so I usually end up back at Google just thinking that 1st July is far enough away that I can forget about its demise for now.

    Re the jacket – I like the longer one more because the shape reminds me of a parka. I also think the extra length and the curved hem will make it look less boxy than the shorter version. But that’s just my thoughts!

    • yesilikethat April 16, 2013 / 3:06 PM

      Thanks Helen, I think you could be right! I’m settled on the longer version, just need to find time to make it now.

What do you think?

