McCalls 6355 – black and white dress

Look! I’m outside! And I’m not wearing a coat!

black and white dress

These photos were taken in the lovely Abney Park Cemetery here in Stoke Newington. It’s now a nature reserve, but is still filled with hundreds of graves.

So, it’s possible that the indistinct halo near my left hand is a friendly hovering spirit, mysteriously caught on film. Yes, definitely a spirit and not a big greasy smear on my camera lens.

I did try and persuade my boyfriend to take more pictures after I noticed the big smudges but he wasn’t having any of it.

abney park chapel photo

The park is a great place for a walk, spooky and quiet. Just be warned, there are large numbers of single men hanging around looking nonchalant, and they’re not just there for a pleasant stroll. So it’s best to cough loudly before you go down the tiny overgrown paths…

I still can’t believe the weather got above 10 degrees this weekend. It was like the Mediterranean out there. My face was warm for the first time in months.

Of course I immediately got a stinking horrible cold, which I’m putting down as an allergic reaction to sunlight.

black and white dress side

Anyway, the dress is McCalls 6355 which I bought in a pattern sale. It’s kind of the most boring pattern in the world, but it’s a handy basic to have lying around.

It includes bust darts AND front and back fisheye darts, which you can include or leave out depending on the fit you want. Plus you can sew it in a knit or a woven.

black and white dress back

I sewed the back darts and the front bust darts, and then shaped the side seams to make it less boxy. I did the whole thing on the overlocker, which is my best friend at the moment, and then added black ribbing to make the cuffs and neckline finish.

black and white dress cuffs

It’s a very local dress. The black ribbing is from Ultimate Craft, and the fabric is part of my mega-haul from the mysterious Tottenham warehouse of knits. The pattern is actually knitted rather than printed or woven.

black and white fabric

Anyway it’s not that much to write home about but it’s comfortable, didn’t need a zip, and took me less than a day to sew. HOORAY.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have an urgent appointment with a Lemsip and some Strepsils.

36 thoughts on “McCalls 6355 – black and white dress

  1. So April 26, 2013 / 3:34 PM

    Heavy patterns are always a challenge but black tights are always there to help out. Thanks for sharing!

  2. charityshopchic April 10, 2013 / 10:48 AM

    It’s gorgeous – that print is fantastic – and black and white is very ‘now’!
    Funny how the sunshine seems to cheer everyone up… hope you are feeling better soon.

    • yesilikethat April 10, 2013 / 3:59 PM

      I think the national mood lifts when the sun comes out, may explain why everyone has been so grumpy lately…

  3. Kerry April 10, 2013 / 9:48 AM

    I love it, and you look great. The pattern sounds like a brilliant basic you can make again and again and perfect for showing off such lovely fabric.

  4. Danielle April 9, 2013 / 9:09 AM

    Gorgeous dress! I love the fabric, and it fits you beautifully. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

    • yesilikethat April 10, 2013 / 3:58 PM

      Thanks Danielle, I love the fabric pattern too!

    • yesilikethat April 9, 2013 / 8:42 AM

      Hey nice find! I like the boat neckline on that one, might try that next.

      Yes I think ladies are immune from attentions in Abney Park. I never normally see many cruisers there but Sat was a different story, I guess the warm weather had something to do with it…

  5. Kelly April 9, 2013 / 5:25 AM

    Beautiful print! It looks so lovely and sunny, and what better place to discover a smudge on your lens!

  6. Donna April 8, 2013 / 9:05 PM

    Cool photos w/ the smudge! I love the dress too – the fabric is awesome! And I’m jealous of the snow and coatlessness. 😉

  7. gingermakes April 8, 2013 / 7:05 PM

    This is so fab! I love it! It’s super hip and flattering! Glad to hear you’ve got some nicer weather! But I hope you feel better soon…

    • yesilikethat April 10, 2013 / 3:58 PM

      Thank you, feeling a lot better today although annoying all my work colleagues with my constant nose-blowing I”m afraid… x

  8. prttynpnk April 8, 2013 / 11:33 AM

    I love it! What a great dress for styling a million ways.

    • yesilikethat April 10, 2013 / 3:56 PM

      Thanks! Maybe I should add a Vaseline filter to all my photos from now on… 🙂

  9. shivani April 8, 2013 / 9:28 AM

    this looks great – so much better than the pattern envelope suggests. I hope you feel better soon! I went out for a nice stroll yesterday and ended up with a migraine (my eyes seem to have adapted to overcast, eternally dull conditions, and couldn’t cope with the sunshine!).

    • yesilikethat April 10, 2013 / 3:57 PM

      Yeah McCalls envelope images are universally terrible. Apparently it’s going to be 19 degrees on Sun, best get your sunnies out!

  10. Elise April 8, 2013 / 9:25 AM

    Ooh love it! Sometimes the basic patterns are the best 🙂

  11. Stevie April 8, 2013 / 8:10 AM

    Oh noes. Hope you feel better soon lovely! I’m really liking the dress, perfect basic. I must get myself down to that Tottenham Knits place x

    • yesilikethat April 8, 2013 / 1:22 PM

      Definitely! It is a wonderland of fabric…

    • yesilikethat April 10, 2013 / 3:56 PM

      Definitely! I need to do another trip to stock up! x

  12. Alice April 8, 2013 / 7:58 AM

    I really think your dress is fabulous…very chic. Which is quite something when it’s also nice and comfy.

    I wish I had an overlocker, though I am just about to post a knit dress, which was easily made without one. Even so…

    I hope you feel better soon.

    • Alice April 8, 2013 / 8:01 AM

      Sorry, I input my blog name incorrectly…

    • yesilikethat April 8, 2013 / 1:22 PM

      To be honest I think sewing knits without an overlocker is fine, sometimes it’s actually better! What I love my overlocker for is finishing all those pesky fraying seams on denim and the like. Look forward to seeing your knit dress!

  13. JacqC April 8, 2013 / 7:43 AM

    I love the dress, just got an overlocker for my birthday so have developed an obsession with knits! Just need to get brave and make something. Your post made me laugh out loud – I have a vision of you out on a pleasant stroll coughing loudly each time you turn a corner!

    • yesilikethat April 8, 2013 / 1:21 PM

      Good luck with your overlocker! Once you start you won’t be able to stop. Can’t imagine sewing without mine now.

  14. Thea April 8, 2013 / 6:59 AM

    Love the dress – staples are good, and lovely staples like this are even better. I think at some point, you should organise a little trip to the knit shop 😉 the fabric is amazing! In the meantime, I hope you feel better soon, in time for the next bout of sunshine…

    • yesilikethat April 8, 2013 / 1:20 PM

      Thanks Thea! The only problem with the factory shop is that it’s only open on weekdays. It’s also frequently closed without warning, and there’s nothing else to do nearby (unless you fancy a wander round a giant Asda and a luke-warm pasty from Greggs….)

    • thesecretlifeofseams April 8, 2013 / 3:10 PM

      It’s all about the yum yums at Greggs.
      This dress looks great on you, so glad you ended up buying it! Looks like a great staple design that can showcase fab fabrics.
      Re: knit shop expedition, maybe they’re open on bank holidays? Maybe I should investigate…

    • yesilikethat April 10, 2013 / 3:58 PM

      I was thinking the same thing, a bank holiday trip would be pretty ace! Maybe they’d stay open if they knew a troupe of knit-hungry seamstresses was headed their way… x

What do you think?

