Mustard and navy stripes – Burda Feb 2013

So, I am obviously ripping off channelling Zoe with my latest sewing efforts. She has just posted a rather delicious outfit with exactly the same colour scheme as this one.

In my defence, I did sew this skirt about 4 months ago, but winter has thwarted my photo taking efforts.

Honestly, how do other bloggers do it? All these smiling outdoor photos. I reckon I spend a maximum of 2 hours outside per week at the moment. Most of that is spent bundled up in an enormous coat, hat, gloves, and scarf, walking briskly from bus stop to house/office, so photo taking is minimal. (My vitamin D levels are also very minimal at this point.)

 
skirt and top
 
This pleated skirt is made from a vintage pattern and sewn from the huge Peter Jensen haul that I’m still working through.

I’m not convinced about this pattern & fabric together. It’s a lovely colour but an odd weight – doesn’t pleat well, just crumples like old paper instead. After seeing these photos I’m tempted to remove the pleats and turn it into an A-line. It looks so sad and droopy.

I used some lovely wooden buttons, actually sent to me by Zoe (told you I was stalking her). The pocket flaps are fake, which I normally hate, but they’re so cute and 70s I couldn’t resist adding them.
 
skirt 3
 
The top is from Burda February 2013. Melissa made a great version here.

You may notice my, ahem, design detail of an extra stripe down the front. All I can say is, if you’re running short of fabric, double check which pattern piece is the front and which is the back BEFORE cutting.

There’s no use in feeling smug about how well you’ve matched up the stripes on the back, if that smugness gives way to a sinking realisation that yes, that’s actually the front piece you’ve cut in half and sewed back together.

Ah well, I think my solution basically works. I just cut out a single stripe and top-stitched it over the join. And it meant I could make this top out of just one metre of striped jersey from Tissu Fabrics.
 
skirt and top 2
 
Incidentally, Collins Wonder Tape is the best thing ever for stripe-matching on slippery jersey. Just stick the pieces together and sew away! I bought a roll a year and a half ago in the US, and I’ll be stocking up when it runs out (it’s also amazing for zips, hems, and blind top-stitching facings).
 
laughing
 
In other news, I have GIANT HANDS.

I might also be going slightly crazy from lack of sunlight. Please send cod liver oil tablets, and/or a 2-week Caribbean holiday.

29 thoughts on “Mustard and navy stripes – Burda Feb 2013

  1. smittenness April 2, 2013 / 8:10 PM

    This is gorgeous. Really cute and I love the pocket flaps too (fake or not!) Saw you over on the GBSB tweet along and thought I’d pop over and check out your blog. Beautiful stuff.

    • yesilikethat April 3, 2013 / 9:37 AM

      Thanks! I love your stash-busting t-shirt project! Great to meet another London sewer. Are you going to the big meet-up on the 20th?

  2. kbenco March 28, 2013 / 9:20 AM

    Your stripe save is pure genius. I hope I remember this brilliant idea.

  3. Franca March 27, 2013 / 3:19 PM

    that colour is delicious! You’re right about the pleats though, they don’t look that pleaty. Still a fab skirt though!

    • yesilikethat March 27, 2013 / 3:48 PM

      Thank you! I think I will probably get rid of the pleats this weekend so I wear it more, it’s a shame to have it languishing in the wardrobe…

  4. gingermakes March 26, 2013 / 2:29 AM

    What a cute outfit! I love this! And what a great save– I never would’ve known that the stripe wasn’t intentional. It looks great!

    • yesilikethat March 26, 2013 / 12:12 PM

      Thanks dude! I need more mustard in my life I think.

    • yesilikethat March 25, 2013 / 9:42 PM

      Hey thanks! Can’t go wrong with stripes 🙂

  5. joelle March 25, 2013 / 7:26 PM

    i say you should wear this lovely skirt more and the color might compensate for the lack of sunshine!

    • yesilikethat March 25, 2013 / 9:41 PM

      I hope it will. Just so sick of this weather now. I need some heat!

  6. Kelly March 25, 2013 / 6:55 PM

    These colors are great together! I like the stripe too, and wouldn’t have known it was a “mistake” if you hadn’t said something. I like the pleats in the skirt, but I think it would look good as an a-line too. You can’t go wrong!

    • yesilikethat March 25, 2013 / 9:41 PM

      Aw thanks Kelly, will deliberate a bit more about pleat removal…

  7. Clare March 25, 2013 / 6:15 PM

    I full-on love the stripe down the middle. Very chic and I would have had no idea it wasn’t intentional had you not mentioned it!

    • yesilikethat March 25, 2013 / 9:40 PM

      That’s good to know, thanks! My boyfriend said it ‘hurt his eyes’ to look at it but obviously he is just silly.

  8. Joelle March 25, 2013 / 5:52 PM

    Love the color combo, and I agree, that is a great top. I’m impressed with your quick- thinking save! I wish Burda had more knit tops, because even though I sew real clothes, I only really like wearing stretchy ones, and my family is close to performing an intervention over the Renfrew.

    • yesilikethat March 25, 2013 / 9:39 PM

      Just saw your version, it’s lovely! Burda always seem to have the same cowl-neck knit top over and over again, and a basic jersey boat-neck as well. Would be good to see something more exciting I agree.

  9. Tamsinwp March 25, 2013 / 5:21 PM

    love this combo! your stripe looks like it is ment to be there. I have a version of that top cut and ready to go, just have other stuff that takes priority at the moment….

    • yesilikethat March 25, 2013 / 9:39 PM

      I know how it is – too much to sew!

  10. didyoumakethat March 25, 2013 / 4:54 PM

    Wow, that is an absolutely gorgeous outfit. I love everything about it. I would never have questioned the line down the front!

    • yesilikethat March 25, 2013 / 5:08 PM

      Thanks Karen! I was quite impressed with my own quick thinking. After being intensely annoyed at my own stupidity (I need to think more before cutting! Happens all the time).

What do you think?

