Google Reader rage

Google, this is the last straw.

I’ve tried. I really have. I signed up for a Google+ account – I even uploaded a photo. Of course I never used it because it’s rubbish, but the thought was there.

I’ve put up with the constant ‘why not use your real name on Youtube? Why not? It’s fun! Go on now. Come on. It’s grand. Oh go on. Please? Okay we’ll check next time’.

But killing Google Reader?? What the fuck, Google?

All those people saying that you can replace it with Twitter feeds or Facebook – they are idiots. Twitter is like going to a party where loads of strangers are talking non-stop and very loudly. You might learn something interesting, more likely you just get a headache.

Google Reader is blissfully free of ‘viral’, ‘curated’ content. Everything’s there because you want it. It doesn’t look like a magazine, there’s no flashy pictures, you’re not supposed to flick through it. It’s for efficiently consuming vast amounts of information all in one place, the way nature intended.

I wasn’t even a so-called ‘power user’. On average I read about 33 items a day.

google reader

There are people on this Metafilter thread who have read more than 300,000 items.

Anyway I guess this is a really long-winded way of saying you can now follow me on Bloglovin instead.

I guess I’ll get used to Bloglovin eventually. It has a stupid name and forces you to view people’s content on their overly formatted webpages, but whatever. That’s fine. I’ll learn to love it.

In other crap news, here’s the weather forecast for the next week in London:

photo 1

I know these are trivial problems in the grand scheme of things. So to finish on a less miserable note, here are some reasons to be cheerful instead.

These are all on top of the standard ‘living in one of the richest countries in the world and never having to go hungry’ kind of thing.

Yorkshire Tea. This flows through my veins instead of blood.

– New and awesome trenchcoat pattern from Sewaholic

– Spring will come eventually, I think, and with it the David Bowie exhibition at the V&A

This video still exists and makes me laugh every time I see it

Any more cheerful thoughts would be appreciated.

23 thoughts on “Google Reader rage

  1. Sizzle04 October 19, 2013 / 10:07 PM

    Just found your blog – good stuff! I know this is (very) late to say, and maybe you’re already aware of this option, but when Google Reader died, I changed my feeds to theoldreader (dot com), which is basically the same layout as GReader was. So now I am following you on theoldreader. πŸ™‚ My only problem with it is that it is a little or a lot slow sometimes, like they are always working on the servers or something, but still way better than Bloglovin’. For reals.

    • yesilikethat October 19, 2013 / 10:11 PM

      I have heard of it as an option but haven’t checked it out yet. Currently I am using a mixture of Feedly and Bloglovin which doesn’t really work that well…. Feedly is pretty good but not perfectly, and Bloglovin is awful, although I like looking at ‘popular posts’ under categories to try and find new blogs. Will have to check out theoldreader! And thanks so much for following!

  2. Meg March 25, 2013 / 6:53 PM

    If I every need cheering up I like to listen to this song; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qcjh1a9Yoao

    Lots of reasons to be cheerful there, although tea isn’t one of them, hmmm…

    Sorry, I have no opinion on Google Reader! Just thought I’d unlurk to spread the cheer.

    • yesilikethat March 25, 2013 / 9:41 PM

      Hey Meg! I love that song too. I also listen to Chas and Dave to cheer me up, that always works. Nothing like singing along to The Sideboard Song in the kitchen…

  3. Zoe March 20, 2013 / 9:20 PM

    I, for one, was thoroughly amused by your rant and am mighty pleased I read it. I can’t claim to understand how, if at all, the lack of Google Reader will affect my life. But I’m pissed off it’s fucking with yours xxx

  4. Chuck March 18, 2013 / 11:04 PM

    OMG IT IS THE WORST WHY WOULD THEY DO THIS TO ME?? Melodramatic much? But there’s nothing like g-reader! I’ve got feedly which is fine on my home pc and great on my tablet when it works (so far maybe 40% of the time) but I can’t use it on any other computers (hi there, work) because it is app-based… Sucksville, that is my pronouncement. x

    • yesilikethat March 19, 2013 / 11:42 AM

      Yes it’s RUBBISH. I was so mad I even closed down my Google+ account and I may have heaped abuse on Google when they asked me why in the little comment box (I’m sure no-one reads those things anyway.

  5. Heather Lou March 18, 2013 / 5:18 PM

    Feedly is great. Give it a try – takes 2 secs to import your data. The interface is highly customizable. All mys sewing blogs I read in article form like I did in Google reader. All my cooking & design sites I see more as big thumbnails which is GREAT. Makes it a lot easier to navigate all that content,

    • yesilikethat March 19, 2013 / 11:42 AM

      I’ve imported my feeds but need to sort them into folders still…I need to give it a try I guess. At the moment I’m still clinging to Reader!

  6. Kelly March 17, 2013 / 4:13 PM

    I too am sad about this decision, and I don’t understand it. Blogs seem more popular than ever! I’m trying out bloglovin and so far it’s okay, but does slow the reading process a bit. I’m trying to approach the search for a new reader with an open mind – maybe something will work out better than Google, or maybe something new will be developed to fill the hole – but that could also be just wishful optimism.

  7. gingermakes March 17, 2013 / 2:32 PM

    Ack! A Bowie exhibition?! Be still my beating heart!!

    Are you making a trench? If so, what fabric are you thinking of using? I’m so looking forward to seeing lots of trench coats popping up in the blogs!

  8. Alice March 17, 2013 / 10:02 AM

    I have never seen that video before. Thanks so much for posting it, it’s been quite some time since I laughed that hard.

    As for readers…it’s all a foreign language to me!

    • yesilikethat March 19, 2013 / 11:23 AM

      I’m glad someone else likes it! I watch it every couple of months just for a little lift.

  9. theperfectnose March 16, 2013 / 11:45 PM

    I don’t use bloglovin’ either because it’s XP. They got hacked a couple of times last week and I got all sorts of crap in my inbox from them (and who knows what hacker/spammer love child has my details now). I’ve mentioned a couple of Reader alternatives here, will do a comprehensive review soon.

    • yesilikethat March 19, 2013 / 11:23 AM

      Wow, I didn’t know about the hacking. Your post is awesome, thanks for all the info.

    • yesilikethat March 19, 2013 / 11:22 AM

      That’s awesome, thanks Solii! x

  10. CGCouture March 16, 2013 / 8:24 PM

    If you only use one computer to check your blog feeds you should check into the “Brief” add on for Firefox. I have been using it for a couple of years or so and like it quite a bit. You can choose to view pages on the blog site or you can just view it in the Brief tab on your browser. This is really nice because I too hate all that crap that people think they need to put on their blogs so that it takes 30 minutes to load the page…

    • yesilikethat March 19, 2013 / 11:22 AM

      Thank you! I’ll have a look. I do like to check feeds on different computers though. Google Reader is like the first thing I look at every the morning (sad I know).

  11. PendleStitches March 16, 2013 / 6:08 PM

    I hear you! This decision is seven shades of crazy. Especially as their rational seems to be that nobody uses Reader. Really? Seriously!? I’ve tried Bloglovin’ and I’m not lovin’ it at all. It’s Feedly for me too at the moment.

  12. charityshopchic March 16, 2013 / 4:22 PM

    I’m also very, very angry about Google killing off Google Reader. You’d think someone had just told me they were banning email for God’s sake. I evaluated several other options and am leaning towards Feedly as the ‘cleanest’ at the moment, it synchs with Google Reader so I can keep using that until the very last day…
    I tweeted (you!) about how much I disliked Bloglovin’, and got a tweet back from the CEO of Bloglovin’ saying that they designed it that way (so that you have to open a bazillion browser windows) so that bloggers would get more traffic and comments. I can appreciate that from the point of view of a person that blogs, but still… if I read something I like, I will still click through and comment.
    I just want Google Reader back [sobs]

    • yesilikethat March 19, 2013 / 11:21 AM

      Okay that’s interesting about Bloglovin. I guess if you are advertising on your blog you want as many pageviews as possible, but I prefer Google Reader because it strips out all the ads! I’ve been trying out Feedly but it’s not the same, dammit. 😦

  13. kokorimbaud March 16, 2013 / 12:57 PM

    I am so with you 😦
    However, no matter how hard I tried, I can’t love blogvin’ (and yes, it does start with the name!). So I searched around for other options, and currently I’m leaning towards Feedly – might want to check it out. Much cleaner design, and much less fluff that’s serving no other purpose than stealing my time πŸ™‚ You can find it at feedly.com, and it allows to sync immediately with your google reader – on top, they claim they have a back up plan.

What do you think?

