Two recommendations: Other Stories and Alec Baldwin

Not much sewing or photography going on around here at the moment. I’ve got two recommendations instead.

Other Stories

This is the new clothing brand from H&M (they also own COS). I went there last weekend with Julia from the Secret Life of Seams to do some impromptu shopping. Reader, I loved it.

Now, I also love COS. The clothes have amazing detailing and little touches that you appreciate more if you sew (hong kong seams! appropriate lining! pockets!). But sometimes it’s a bit ‘severely avant-garde Japanese librarian’ for me.

On the other hand, I never shop in H&M. I just can’t take it. When I was younger and had more stamina I did appreciate their good range of basics, and the fact that everything comes in a few colours.

& Other Stories, ridiculous over-branded name aside, is like if COS and H&M had a baby, and it was the most perfect baby shop in the history of the world. Seriously, nearly all the clothes are amazing. They’re not as severe as COS can be, but they share the same ‘basics with a twist’ aesthetic.

I really want this jumper
I really want this jumper

Check it out if you’re ever mad enough to go to Oxford Street! Even if you prefer to sew all your own clothes, there’s enough inspiration there for a whole new wardrobe.

Recommendation number 2: Here’s the Thing with Alec Baldwin

Are you a podcast listener? It’s been too cold for me to cycle lately, and my default bus strategy is to arm up with listening material so I can block the coughing of the other commuters. After burning through all my usual podcast suspects, I found this one with Alec Baldwin.

Check out Alec's pout!
Check out Alec’s pout!

It’s great on so many levels.

Alec is the most terrible interrupter I’ve ever heard. He loves to pounce mid-sentence, mostly to introduce a bizarre anecdote from his own personal life. This is usually a tale about his ex-wife (ie. Kimg Basinger), or his kids, his current wife and how young and pretty she is, or various directors he’s fought with over his career.

The best fun is when he has a strong-willed interviewee who won’t let him interrupt at will. You can almost hear him searching frantically for an opening so he can shove his oar in. His frustration is palpable over the airwaves.

He does get some interesting chat out of people, in between interrupting them. I enjoyed this session with the NYTimes Executive Editor. She has the most extraordinary accent I’ve ever heard. Americans, where does this lady’s voice come from? She draaaaawwwwlllls out her words for such a long time that even poor Alec can’t get a word in edgeways.

I also very much liked this interview with Patti Lu Pone. If you haven’t heard of her, she’s a legendary Broadway star who sang the title role in Evita (think Elaine Paige but cooler). She’s also the biggest luvvie I’ve ever heard captured on audio. She actually starts sobbing with emotion in the middle of the interview, just because he mentions the first play she was in.

After hearing this I bought her autobiography, which is a fine read if you’re in the market for more highly-strung shenanigans. It includes an extensive slagging-off of Andrew Lloyd Webber, an overview of theatre dressing-room ghosts, and a explanation of how to un-curse yourself if you say the word ‘Macbeth’ in a theatre. Recommended (that’s a sneaky bonus third recommendation for you there. You’re welcome).

15 thoughts on “Two recommendations: Other Stories and Alec Baldwin

  1. Chuck March 19, 2013 / 10:09 PM

    Here’s the Thing is surprisingly listen-to-able (real word), isn’t it? I enjoyed the Lena Dunham one although I found her a bit forgiving. Just being polite, I suppose. The pout kills me. X

  2. gingermakes March 17, 2013 / 1:43 PM

    Ooh, thanks for the podcast rec! I listened to a few after reading this post, and they’re totally entertaining. I worked on a show for a while with Alec Baldwin, and he’s a bit of a handful! Big personality! Re: Jill Abramson’s accent, it’s a strange take on a sort of aristocratic NYC accent. Almost everyone here talks really quickly, so it sounds really funny to me.

    • yesilikethat March 19, 2013 / 11:25 AM

      You worked with Alec?? Man that’s amazing. I bet he’s a total pain in the ass to work with but also kind of awesome. I LOVE him in 30 Rock.

      I am thinking about making a trench but might have to wait until next year – want to make a lightweight parka style this year (if I ever have time…) x

    • gingermakes March 19, 2013 / 11:20 PM

      Let’s just say I’ve heard him use cursewords in ways I’ve never heard before or after! But a dynamic, interesting guy, nonetheless. 🙂

      I’m with you– I think this year I will finally make a Minoru jacket, hopefully, and maybe next year a trench. 🙂

  3. thesecretlifeofseams March 14, 2013 / 3:27 PM

    Seconding & Other Stories recommendation. I may be wearing my spiffy new skirt as I type. I may have bought more than one skirt. I may have impulse control issues…

  4. shivani March 14, 2013 / 11:31 AM

    Thanks for the podcast recommendation – sounds good! I popped into Other Stories on Saturday, and it was heaving and pushy – all too traumatic, so I had to exit very quickly and hide in the calm of COS. Love that sweater too – perhaps I’ll pop in again when it’s a bit calmer.

  5. whatkatiedoes (@whatkatiedoes) March 13, 2013 / 10:32 PM

    Oooh, definitely going to check out Other Stories. Their stuff looks a bit like Monki on Carnaby St which I also love. Your description of Cos made me LOL – so true.

    • yesilikethat March 14, 2013 / 9:57 AM

      I must go into Monki, since Westfield opened I almost never go to Oxford Street but there’s still lots of unique shops there. Need to explore more.

    • whatkatiedoes (@whatkatiedoes) March 14, 2013 / 1:01 PM

      I don’t either. They have a good online shop (I see other stories does too) although their sizing/fitting can be a bit weird so it’s probably best to visit.

  6. didyoumakethat March 13, 2013 / 10:10 PM

    Both GREAT recommendations. I love podcats, but you do start searching around desperately for something new to listen to, don’t you? Do you listen to Inheritance Tracks from Radio 4? I love that one.

    • yesilikethat March 14, 2013 / 9:59 AM

      Thanks for the recommendation, I’ll check it out! I always need new listening material. Since I got my iPhone I’ve been zooming through more podcasts than ever. Have you tried WTF with Marc Maron? It’s a bit niche (he interviews comedians at great length basically) but some fascinating stuff comes out of it.

      p.s. agree that we need podcats! Cats with a collar that broadcasts podcasts maybe? You increase the volume by petting the kitty…

  7. nettie March 13, 2013 / 5:58 PM

    This review practically guarantees that I will listen to this!! Especially the ones where he can’t interrupt, lol!

  8. Kerry March 13, 2013 / 5:24 PM

    Thanks for the podcast recommendation, always nice to get a new one and I like the sound of this. I can imagine Baldwin would be pretty funny, the Hello Magazine photos of his wedding were weird enough. When I say weird, I just mean that he seems like he’s not very normal.

What do you think?

