Weddings, making things, and Eley Kishimoto for Clarks

I have some loose ends to tie up. If I was a sensible blogger I would probably get three posts out of them but instead I’ve awkwardly welded them together into one. You’re welcome.

Confession time – I’m not making my own wedding dress

This is actually Ginger Rogers, not me in my wedding dress, sad to say
This is actually Ginger Rogers, not me in my wedding dress, sad to say

I’ve been getting loads of hits from people googling ‘sew your own wedding dress’ and similar keywords so I have to come clean – I have bought a wedding dress. And it’s not even vintage. But neither is it a big white meringue, or even an ‘official’ wedding dress. I’ll post some pics after the big day so you can see what it looks like. Place your bets now!

I have mixed emotions about this. It would be so perfect to wear a dress I made myself, but I just can’t handle the stress of such a big project right now. I barely have time to sew at the moment, and I’d rather prioritise other projects over one mammoth dress that will fill up the next 5 months with untold amounts of stress and weeping and french seaming.

This strategy seems to be paying off, as I have a new skirt and (drumroll please) another pair of skinny jeans to show for it! Pictures will follow as soon as free time and daylight coincide.

Blog Awards and making, not consuming

Two sewing bloggers nominated me for awards – gorgeous Hazel of Disaster in a Dress for the ‘Liebster’ Blog Award (Hazel works in Mandors fabric shop in Glasgow, I am green with envy), and the beautiful Almond Rock for the ‘One Lovely Blog’ award. Go and check out their blogs ASAP, they are ace.

I’m not very good at doing all the questions for these kind of things, so instead I thought I’d recommend a great post I read recently from Vanessa of A Fanciful Twist. It’s called ‘On Finding Yourself Back’.

It’s about the need to stop and do something, however small, rather than just trawling for more and more inspiration. It’s a long read but worth it, I think.

Eley Kishimoto for Clarks is coming on Monday!

That is all. Apart from the fact that the launch also coincides with payday, which is handy. And the question of which pair to go for.

196900

Clarks can do no wrong in my eyes after this.

19 thoughts on “Weddings, making things, and Eley Kishimoto for Clarks

  1. Jemilah June 17, 2013 / 8:26 PM

    I just found your previous blog post via google searching. I am getting married in July too and have made my own dress, but I wanted a simple style and I wasn’t daunted by the process despite only my fiance having faith in me. It has been the most carefully researched and executed project I have ever done, but I have learnt so much and am a much better seamstress than before I started. The key was planning and I finished the dress in April so I would still have time to buy a dress if it all went wrong. Luckily it hasn’t and I love love love my dress. I will be posting pics on my blog after the wedding if you are interested in the painstaking process I have gone through. I hope you have a fabulous wedding and are enjoying all the planning.

    • yesilikethat June 21, 2013 / 12:37 PM

      Hi Jemilah, thanks so much for your comment, and good luck with your dress! Can’t wait to see it, and congratulations on your upcoming wedding 🙂

  2. Calico Stretch March 3, 2013 / 6:41 AM

    Good idea not to make your w/dress. I couldn’t agree more about the stress involved if you have limited time to sew and many other things to get done in the time till the big day. Its hard though to admit, as a sewer, that you don’t want to do something like this so I am dead impressed that you did.

    PS can’t wait to see the skirt and skinny jeans too …..

  3. Chuck March 2, 2013 / 2:30 PM

    Yey for Clarks! That collab looks amazing and I had completely missed it – thanks for the heads up. Sounds like you made a par cal call on the dress, I can’t wait to see pictures. X

  4. Suzie February 28, 2013 / 11:08 AM

    I’m getting married this year too and originally thought about making my own dress – I researched and planned and was pretty much set to do it. But everyone talked me out of it, and I have now bought a dress. But I feel really unsatisfied and annoyed at myself – and it really annoys me when people say I’m wise not to sew my own dress. I feel like they think my skills aren’t adequate…which perhaps they are right! But as a comprimise I am thinking about making a dress for the disco. I haven’t actually told anyone about this yet, and I haven’t even started making it (4 months to go!)…so we shall see if it even happens!

    • yesilikethat February 28, 2013 / 11:27 AM

      I think you should definitely do what you want (always hard with weddings though). I decided against it for two reasons. Firstly I actually found a dress I liked that wasn’t too expensive and was a bit different (and would be a massive pain to try and sew). Secondly I I realised that every spare evening from now until July would be spent frantically working on the dress, and there’s so much else I want to sew!

      A dress for the disco sounds like a great idea! I saw your post about making a dress for your hen do, I’m planning on doing that too. Not sure if I can match the amazingness of your red silk plans though!

  5. Charlotte February 27, 2013 / 9:06 PM

    I hear the wedding dress making (for yourself or someone else) is super-duper taxing. Good call. I am overly invested in other people’s choice of dress, so I can’t wait to see!

    Also, those Clarks are fantastic.

  6. Kerry February 27, 2013 / 10:30 AM

    I has only just started sewing when I got married but even if I was more experienced I don’t think I would have made my own dress. Just too much stress! No matter how big or small your wedding you want to make sure you enjoy it, and that sounds like too much extra pressure.

  7. emily February 26, 2013 / 9:56 PM

    I think that’s probably a good call, not making the dress. For my wedding I went a bit crazy and decided to make my whole outfit. I made the dress (drafting the pattern myself which meant I had to start with buying book on how to draft patterns), a corset to wear underneath, a big poofy netting underskirt and a little bolero jacket (self drafted also) as well as making my shoes and my mister’s shoes. It was crazy and got stressful and meant I was busy doing all that rather than hanging out with my family who had come over from the other side of the world! So yes, do yourself a favour and enjoy the run up to the big day because hand-picking a zip at midnight the night before is not the way to go! xx

    • yesilikethat February 28, 2013 / 11:24 AM

      Wow that sounds like a lot of work, I bet you felt awesome when you put it all on though! It sounds beautiful. Can’t believe you drafted it all as well! And made your shoes!! I feel tired just thinking about it. Amazing.

  8. The Amazing Taracat February 26, 2013 / 9:23 PM

    I wish you hadn’t shown those shoes – I already have an unhealthy Clarkes habit, they are just sooo comfy. Now I need another pair…

    • yesilikethat February 28, 2013 / 11:22 AM

      I need some too. Really can’t decide which style to get though… they’re all so pretty

    • The Amazing Taracat February 28, 2013 / 1:16 PM

      Just to say get in there quick – they’ve all sold out on the website already. Sadly I missed out so I’ll have to see if they have any in the shops.

    • yesilikethat February 28, 2013 / 1:18 PM

      Hey dude – not to worry, they’re not launching until tomorrow (March 1st). The Clarks website doesn’t make this very clear! I bet they will sell out pretty quick though.

  9. Handmade Jane February 26, 2013 / 6:51 PM

    I think you’re very wise not making your own dress, as you say, the stress factor is immediately reduced tenfold! x

  10. Donna February 26, 2013 / 6:23 PM

    Those shoes!!!! Shoe desire attack…

  11. Liz February 26, 2013 / 6:05 PM

    Will we get to see the dress at the weekend dude? Exciting!

    • yesilikethat February 26, 2013 / 6:19 PM

      It’s staying at home but I have a photo!

  12. maddie February 26, 2013 / 5:25 PM

    Although I love sewing, the stress of sewing a wedding dress, let alone my own, daunts me. I’m glad that you bought a dress and didn’t make one.

What do you think?

