Homemade jeans – Burda 7863

‘Homemade jeans’ is the kind of cutting insult that would lead you to weep silently in the toilets at school – ‘Where’d you get your jeans? Did your mum make them?”.

Thankfully I am no longer 13 years old, so I’m not afraid to say that YES I made my own jeans, and yes, I am ridiculously proud. In fact I may have danced around the house in them singing a special ‘I made jeans’ song as soon as they were done.

Burda 7863 - stretch skinny jeans

I actually finished them a week ago, but blimey, it’s hard to take outfit photos at the moment, due to it being dark for 80% of the day. An added complication is that my in-house photographer is off sunning himself in New Zealand. Plus, the fabric is blue/black – not the easiest colour to capture.

I had to resort to desperate measures, so I actually got up early (before 7am! Don’t say I never do anything for you) to try and document these for the blog. It was not a success. The photo above was the best of a bad bunch.

Well it was either that or this deadpan mug-shot face:

Burda 7863 - stretch skinny jeans from Tissu Fabrics

Taking pictures of the back was even more challenging.

Burda 7863 - stretch skinny jeans back view

These jeans were designed to be a wearable muslin, and I have actually worn them twice in public without anyone pointing, laughing, or saying ‘what the hell is that on your legs?’.

They are far from perfect. There are fitting issues and sewing mistakes galore. But this post is just for gloating. I’ll do another one going over all the information in EXHAUSTIVE DETAIL (bet you can hardly wait).

(The pattern is Burda 7863, inspired by the many amazing versions from Handmade by Carolyn. The fabric is this stretch denim from Tissu Fabrics.)

43 thoughts on “Homemade jeans – Burda 7863

  1. Handmade Jane February 3, 2013 / 9:13 PM

    These jeans look SO professional, I’m in complete awe! x

  2. gingermakes February 2, 2013 / 9:03 PM

    These look fab! The fit is great! You should be gloating, big-time!

  3. Helen February 2, 2013 / 8:05 PM

    “It has been my ambition for a long time (hmm that sounds a bit pathetic, making trousers isn’t exactly like winning an Olympic gold medal).” – No, that totally makes sense! I have yet to attempt trousers of any kind, so they are on my “2013 ambition” list, along with a coat (which, quite frankly I am procrastinating with on a major scale…).

    And hey, it might not be a medal but its all relative. I think most non-sewers would be just as impressed!

  4. Scruffybadger February 2, 2013 / 8:39 AM

    Wowee! How inspiring to see handmade jeans that look so good and that you are happy wearing in public!!! They look great, congrats – this is a sewing milestone in my book ( one I’ve not attempted yet!)

  5. Claire (aka Seemane) February 1, 2013 / 5:52 PM

    Jeans… I want to conquer them too – yours look great, well done :)!

  6. The Amazing Taracat February 1, 2013 / 4:48 PM

    You made jeans! And they look like jeans! That is like, the Holy Grail of sewing. Can’t wait to here about how you did it, and how you got such a fabulous fit.

  7. Joelle February 1, 2013 / 6:53 AM

    They look amazing! Sewing jeans is in a category of itself, along with sewing a coat, a tailored shirt and proper fitting undies… I’m trying really hard to tackle those things and I’m always super impressed at people who do and succeed!

    • yesilikethat February 1, 2013 / 10:26 AM

      Coats and undies are a big challenge, I hope to tackle them too eventually! I have that David Coffin shirtmaking book but find it a bit intimidating. One day I will make a shirt for my boyfriend (he’s only been waiting about 5 years).

  8. theperfectnose February 1, 2013 / 4:42 AM

    Sweet-the fit looks great too. And yes self-made jeans are the best ever 😄 I cut two more out after the last pair I made and then summer arrived so I haven’t touched them 😄 Also, I suddenly realised that you are super tall. I knew you were tall but now I realise you are Amazonian..

    • yesilikethat February 1, 2013 / 10:23 AM

      Hee hee, only 5ft 9 (and a half). I have been working not to slouch over so much though so maybe I’ve gained a few inches! Ah if only summer would arrive here. We seem to have missed it for the past two years.

  9. Elise January 31, 2013 / 10:14 PM

    Awesome! Making my own jeans is the dream… (I seem to have fat knees or something cause buying skinny jeans is a nightmare! Well I can only really get them in Topshops Tall range so…according to them I have fat knees haha!) 🙂

    • yesilikethat February 1, 2013 / 10:22 AM

      I cannot squeeze into Topshop jeans to save my life, I think the last time I tried I just about managed a size 14 but then admitted defeat. I only go in there for bags and jewellery now. I think I’m officially Too Old For Topshop (at least the store, I love browsing the online shop for ideas).

  10. Calico Stretch January 31, 2013 / 6:50 PM

    PS thank you for getting up at before sparrow fart for us …. we do appreciate it 🙂

    • yesilikethat January 31, 2013 / 8:03 PM

      Oh dear I am so lazy. Now I have an iPhone I wake up and just check Twitter and BBC news and don’t get out of bed for ages. Technology will be the ruin of me.

    • Calico Stretch February 1, 2013 / 8:27 AM

      Ha ha – I prefer my morning technology with a cup of caffeine if at all possible.

  11. Calico Stretch January 31, 2013 / 6:48 PM

    Wow these are fantastic. I too don’t see any sewing mistakes – love them. Yes please yes please yes please to a post on All The Sewing Details.

    PS sorry you couldn’t come down under for a bit of sunning time too 🙂

    • yesilikethat January 31, 2013 / 8:03 PM

      I wish I could have done! Apparently my boyfriend’s on a work trip but he’s just told me he’s going on a daytrip to Goat Island, or something, which doesn’t sound that much like hard work to me.

    • Calico Stretch February 1, 2013 / 8:26 AM

      Nope sounds like pure unadulterated non-work. Even if he does have to schmooze while enjoying himself.

  12. Helen January 31, 2013 / 6:14 PM

    AMAZING! I am so impressed. These are great. Well done!

    • yesilikethat January 31, 2013 / 8:06 PM

      Thank you! It has been my ambition for a long time (hmm that sounds a bit pathetic, making trousers isn’t exactly like winning an Olympic gold medal). Still need to perfect the pattern though I think.

  13. outofmyshed January 31, 2013 / 5:38 PM

    How fab are they! Really looking forward to the ‘How to’ post. Need a bit of photographic help? N x

    • yesilikethat February 3, 2013 / 10:15 PM

      Hey Naomi, that would be amazing! Maybe when I’ve made the next pair, if you have a bit of spare time? I am pretty awful at taking photos of myself x

  14. thesecretlifeofseams January 31, 2013 / 2:12 PM

    These are so good! I would be doing a full on operatta with groove-busting if I made these. I did a song for some cuffs the other day. Looking forward to the details! Hopefully also where you got the fabric cos UK stretch denim seems a bit rare…

    • yesilikethat January 31, 2013 / 2:15 PM

      Hello, I kind of hid it between photos but the fabric is from Tissu Fabrics, the link is there somewhere! I think it’s actually a bit too heavy and good quality for the kind of jeggings style I wanted to make, its great quality for £3.99 a metre. But I really wish there was more coloured/patterned denim and stretch twill etc available to buy 😦 Otherwise how can I make the leopard print jeans of my dreams?

  15. Elisalex - By Hand London January 31, 2013 / 1:50 PM

    Oh man these are amazing!! Me too, very much looking forward to the tech post. Perfect fit, well freakin done!

    • yesilikethat January 31, 2013 / 2:17 PM

      Thank you! Working on the post, will get some better pictures soon hopefully.

  16. Heather Jenkinson (@heatherdesign) January 31, 2013 / 12:54 PM

    They also look super comfortable AND you look great; what’s not to love? God knows how hard it is to buy something that does both… (V. nice door, by the way.)

    • yesilikethat January 31, 2013 / 2:14 PM

      Thank you Heather! I love our doors, I painted them pretty badly when we moved in though, think they could do with a professional job sometime.

  17. PendleStitches January 31, 2013 / 12:33 PM

    Yep…I’m with Karen on this. They look fab and miles better than my first pair…which I’m wearing to death! 😉

    • yesilikethat January 31, 2013 / 12:37 PM

      Thank you! There is something so satisfying about wearing trousers you made yourself. It’s the ultimate sewing high.

  18. didyoumakethat January 31, 2013 / 11:59 AM

    Sewing mistakes galore? Not to my eyes! They look awesome. I love the fit – the tapered leg and across your, ahem, posterior. These look so cool. I can’t wait to hear all about the construction – and, no, I am not being ironic.

    • yesilikethat January 31, 2013 / 12:08 PM

      Thanks Karen! I modelled the fit on my favourite Uniqlo jeans which seemed to work.

      There is something weird about posting rear views of yourself on the internet, but I guess it’s all in the pursuit of sewing science!

What do you think?

