Paviapavia – Etsy haberdashery shop

I find Etsy shopping frustrating. It’s like a gigantic charity shop with pretensions. You know there must be good stuff amongst the 90s ‘vintage’ and hand-made twig wreaths, but you need dedication to find it. I always give up around the 3rd page of results.

But luckily my friend Solii is an advanced-level Etsy shopper, and she introduced me to Paviapavia. This shop is a haberdashery treasure trove, stuffed with things like this:

And this:

And this:

Unbelievably, everything is under 3 quid. It’s cheaper than chips.

My favourite category is Appliques, but be warned: there are 1043 objects in there. You may experience chiffon flower fatigue by the end.

I have no idea what I would do with this stuff. There could be a danger of the Per Una Effect (although to be fair the actual Per Una line has seen a dramatic reduction in random haberdashery usage), but there must be spectacular ways to add these things to sewing projects. Like maybe this around a neckline?

Or this on the back of a 30s style dress?

Do you have any Etsy shop recommendations? I’m okay at finding vintage patterns but lost when it comes to everything else.

In other news, I’ve finally joined the 21st century and upgraded to a shiny new iPhone. This means I can start Instagramming, 2 years later than the rest of the world. I look forward to taking many photos of food I’m about to eat. If you’re on Instagram, let me know so I can follow you!

6 thoughts on “Paviapavia – Etsy haberdashery shop

    • yesilikethat January 20, 2013 / 7:49 PM

      Wow her stuff is lovely. Bookmarking that!

  1. gingermakes January 20, 2013 / 3:55 AM

    Wow, these are gorgeous! Thanks for the tip! I find Etsy a bit overwhelming, although I have a couple of jewelry stores that I go to for gifts or whatever. I’m on Instagram, too– gingertakesphotos. I’d love to follow you!

    • yesilikethat January 20, 2013 / 10:58 AM

      Just followed you hooray. I should have put my username in this post, just realised, it’s kathrynmgreen

    • gingermakes January 20, 2013 / 10:26 PM

      Ooh, I will find you!

  2. lizzylikescake January 19, 2013 / 9:58 PM

    90s ‘vintage’ is very annoying….. Have you noticed that the 90s Blossom style hat is back? I keep seeing girls in them everywhere. It makes me feel old. x

What do you think?

