Maudella patterns from the 60s and 70s

Fun fact of the day: Did you know that New Look patterns actually started out as Maudella, a British company? It was set up in 1937 in Yorkshire. Now owned by Simplicity, of course. I’ve never sewn a New Look pattern, but I love Maudella.

maudella new look

You can still find super-old Maudella patterns on Ebay, but my favourites are from the 60s/70s era. They mostly put out simple separates and dresses, and they’re so go-ahead, so peppy, so Helen Gurley Brown-era Cosmopolitan reader.

I’ve got two in my collection. Firstly this sweetheart dress with puffed sleeves, which I got for 99p on Ebay. 70s patterns are still going cheap at the moment, but I think more people are looking for them.

Will the same thing ever happen to those 80s monstrosities all over Etsy, I wonder? Who will rehabilitate the immense puffed sleeve?
 
maudella dress front

This pattern may actually be from the late 60s, not 70s at all. I love the dolly shoes. Clarks are doing a similar vintage style at the moment that I’m coveting.

My other Maudella find is this one, which Kerrie kindly sent me. This is a hard-working pattern: you get a double-darted pencil skirt for weekdays in the typing pool, and a long floral a-line number for relaxing in at the weekend, crocheting a new afghan perhaps. The woman on the left has some extreme pointy nails going on.

maudella skirt

Maudella patterns don’t pop up that much on Ebay and Etsy.  I’m kind of in love with this ‘Ship n Shore Leave’ beauty that’s currently available.

286126480_o

These people don’t seem to belong to the same pattern, with Ms. Flower Power on the right, a homage to Chairman Mao at the back, and God-knows-what on the left. Funky chef’s uniform?

The illustrations are nearly always great on Maudella envelopes. I’ll leave you with this beauty, which is rather risque for a vintage pattern. Check out the lady in pink at the bottom, going for some tan-line-free sunbathing…

626642678_o

16 thoughts on “Maudella patterns from the 60s and 70s

  1. Claire Cooper February 10, 2013 / 5:33 PM

    Maudella became New Look – who knew! I picked up a pattern last year and I intend to make it with a couple of minor adjustments. I think it’s a 70’s pattern from the styling, but it should turn out great.

  2. Debi January 18, 2013 / 9:53 PM

    I have a few Maudella patterns but had no idea the were connected with the New Look patterns! How cool!

  3. gingermakes January 18, 2013 / 1:59 PM

    How cool! I’ve never heard of or seen a Maudella pattern, but these are great! I like the illustrations, too!

    • Snow May 16, 2017 / 5:56 PM

      The data shown don't differentiate between public (open), business, and home networks, nor is it clear whether the study sample is representative of the city as a whole. Hence, it's not clear whether "only 12% of networks are unencrypted" is a fair statement. Actually, if 12% is representative of the entire population of San Francisco (~813,000 people as of July 2011), that's almost 100,000 people using unencrypted networks. In fact, if 12% is representative of the entire state of California (~40 million people), that's ~4.8 million people using unencrypted connections. That's a potential goldmine for ne3&9#0;er-do-wells.

  4. charityshopchic January 17, 2013 / 3:10 PM

    I just won a 60s Maudella pattern in a giveaway from Marie over at A Sewing Odyssey. Really looking forward to making it. Even more so, now that I know the company has Yorkshire roots (like me!).

    • yesilikethat January 17, 2013 / 4:56 PM

      Can’t wait to see your version! It’s a shame they turned into one of the big four companies, I love the idea of her starting Maudella in an attic…

  5. Donna January 17, 2013 / 8:02 AM

    I didn’t know that about Maudella. Those are great covers. How many pattern companies have illustrations where the mannequin *isn’t* wearing the clothes?! 😉

  6. Sewing Sveta January 17, 2013 / 2:35 AM

    I got one Maudella pattern from ebay, number 5152, I don’t know may be it it 60’s. I like it%) Will try to make dress in the spring

    • yesilikethat January 17, 2013 / 4:57 PM

      I know, there was a Burda magazine photo where the model is just holding the dress up to herself, but that’s the only other nudie pattern shoot I can remember!

  7. Vicki Kate January 16, 2013 / 8:46 PM

    I never knew that about Muaudella patterns, I don’t have any but love your 60/70 dress pattern!

    • yesilikethat January 17, 2013 / 4:58 PM

      Me too, just need to find the right fabric now…

  8. Jacq C January 16, 2013 / 8:17 PM

    Oh I’m with you, and it’s the illustrations that appeal to me. I only have a couple but I’m seriously considering making the reversible car coat, a 60s pattern I’m pretty certain. It’s a great story, Maude setting up her company from her attic – a really interesting history 🙂

    • yesilikethat January 17, 2013 / 4:57 PM

      Reversible car coat sounds SWEET. Off to your blog to check it out!

What do you think?

