Moss grainline skirt in denim

This is my new favourite skirt. One of those things you finish and immediately put on and never want to take off.

It’s an amazing pattern. Everything goes together super smoothly. And quickly too – I made it in one mammoth sewing session on Friday night, it took about 4 episodes of The Bugle podcast.

The Grainline instructions are brilliant. The zipper is sort of like a magic trick – suddenly a fly front appears out of nowhere. Or maybe that’s just me, I’m not the most spatially minded person in the world. Sewing it reminded me of reading this book about the credit crunch. It all makes perfect sense at the time, with a smart person guiding you through each step, but afterwards everything seems to evaporate (but at least with this you end up with a nice skirt, rather than some confused ideas about how sub-prime mortgages work).

My lovely Bernina sewed through all this thick denim like a champ. In some places she was chugging through about 8 layers of fabric. But even the inside looks nice!

I didn’t lengthen the skirt at all, and without the hem band it would be ridiculously short on me, but I love the length with the band.

The only tips I’d give if you want to make this are:

  • The seam allowance is half an inch (ie. 12.5cm) I aimed somewhere between the 10mm and 15mm line on my feed plate and hoped for the best.
  • Check your printer settings if you’re in the UK- it’s designed for US letter paper so you might need to adjust things a bit to get it to print out accurately.
  • Finish the centre front seams before doing the fly (do them separately) – I did it afterwards and there’s a bit of fraying at the top.

Next time I might add back pockets and belt loops.

It only took about a metre of my Peter Jensen denim, which cost me Β£1. Yes, that’s a quid. You can barely get two Kit-Kats for that price nowadays. And I already have the fabric picked out for my next version.

I highly recommend this pattern. And if you buy it today there’s 15% off!

p.s. I have to show you my dachshund brooch, which I bought at a vintage fair a few years ago and recently found in an old handbag. See, it pays not to be too organised. If you’re tidy you never make happy little discoveries like this.

28 thoughts on “Moss grainline skirt in denim

  1. Tilly December 5, 2012 / 1:19 PM

    LOVE this skirt. This pattern is next on my “to make” list. Thanks for the heads up about the multiple layers of fabric – I’m planning to make it in a chunky corduroy so will try to make all the inside parts in lighter weight fabric so I don’t break my poor little machine. This looks like the kind of thing you’ll get a lot of wear out of.

    • yesilikethat December 5, 2012 / 2:32 PM

      Ooh a corduroy version sounds like a winner. For my next one I’m definitely making the pockets out of something thinner. I’ve been wearing this one so much, it’s great with tights for those cold days.

  2. Law November 27, 2012 / 10:01 PM

    Love this skirt! My shop-bought denim skirt is on its last legs and this looks like the perfect replacement pattern. The printing off and taping together is putting me off though.

  3. thesecretlifeofseams November 27, 2012 / 4:25 PM

    I have this pattern too, so excited to see you sew up such a cute, wearable version!
    I’m considering sewing it up in cord, what’s your next version going to be in?

    • yesilikethat November 27, 2012 / 5:18 PM

      Hooray! Next version will be in blue wool left over from my pencil skirt, just need to find a matching zip and decide on whether to add the band this time or not….

  4. Joanne November 27, 2012 / 8:14 AM

    Experiencing serious skirt envy right now. It’s the perfect make: practical, stylish, versatile.

  5. shivani November 26, 2012 / 11:23 AM

    This is fab! I’ve had this on the top of my to-sew list for weeks now – but I’ve been putting it off because of the fly zipper. I think mine might end up looking very similar to yours (blue denim). I’m inspired to get a move on with it.

    • yesilikethat November 26, 2012 / 12:22 PM

      Definitely give it a go, the instructions make the fly zipper very easy if you just follow them blindly like I did! I’d recommend using a thinner fabric for the pockets though, mine was a bit too thick.

  6. Andrea November 26, 2012 / 12:01 AM

    Perfect timing! I Googled this skirt yesterday and only saw one other person who made it. The pattern was still on my mind so I Googled it AGAIN today and up pops your familiar face. I think you’ve convinced me to just go for it.

    • yesilikethat November 26, 2012 / 10:13 AM

      Go for it! I’m planning on sewing my second version next weekend. It’s the perfect skirt pattern.

  7. travelknitter November 25, 2012 / 7:41 PM

    That really does look like the perfect skirt. Stunning! Now I just need to find someone who’ll make one for me πŸ™‚

  8. Roobeedoo November 25, 2012 / 5:51 PM

    Really cute! I have a hankering for a tight-ish skirt to wear with drapey tops. This could be the pattern I need.
    Your inside finish is lovely!

  9. gingermakes November 25, 2012 / 4:59 PM

    I love this on you! So cute! It’s really the perfect length and color! I bought this pattern the day it was released, but I’ve been backlogged with projects and haven’t had time to get to it. This makes me want to bump it to the top of the list!

    • yesilikethat November 26, 2012 / 10:20 AM

      Yay do it! It’s so quick to sew. x

  10. ooobop! November 25, 2012 / 1:23 PM

    Great skirt. Really neat finishes especially on the inside. And best of all that you made it on a Friday night…. amazing!

    • yesilikethat November 26, 2012 / 10:18 AM

      Bit sad eh, I was supposed to come home from work and go out again to a party but made this instead. Rock and roll. It was raining though which added to my reluctance to leave the house again.

  11. theperfectnose November 25, 2012 / 12:52 PM

    Niiiice! I wanted to jump on this pattern the day its release was announced on twitter but I asked about the print size and was told they don’t sell large format pdfs. And having neither the time nor the inclination to glue/paste tiled sheets together I avoided it (I buy only large format pdfs-burdastyle offers most of their patterns in that format and Pattern Runway, Salme patterns and Victory patterns have all sold me large format versions too). My local copy shop prints ’em for me on large format paper and it’s never cost me above A$8. Totally worth it.
    So I ended up making a denim Knipmode skirt instead πŸ˜„ Reading your mentions of the Imperial seam allowance and the Letter sized format makes me even gladder I did πŸ˜„ It looks great on you though so good on you for powering through all of those hurdles!

    • yesilikethat November 26, 2012 / 10:16 AM

      See I don’t mind cutting and sticking together so much, I can do it in front of the TV like a jigsaw puzzle. I definitely prefer it to tracing Burda patterns which normally involves a lot of swearing at shifting tissue paper and accidentally stabbing myself with my spiked tracing wheel.

      Although I’ve never found a cheap large format printer here, I got quoted a tenner last time which seems a bit steep. If I had found one I’d probably go for that option too.

    • theperfectnose November 26, 2012 / 11:01 PM

      I prefer tracing but I trace with a double wheel and carbon paper=automagic seam allowance +it’s very accurate) and I do it at my desk while streaming stuff on my computer πŸ˜„ But yea, printing’s cheap here.. I’d suggest finding an indie printer (i.e not the office supply stores-those are expensive for whatever reason) near a school/ polytech/ uni-they have the bigbig printers and lowlow rates πŸ˜„

  12. Vicki Kate November 25, 2012 / 11:25 AM

    That’s a really lovely skirt!

What do you think?

