Autumn fabric haul

Recently I got bitten by the autumn cleaning bug and had a massive, remorseless clearout. It began with a simple wardrobe tidy. But once I started on the pit of tangled old belts, holey jumpers, and unloved shoes, I just couldn’t stop. I was chucking stuff out left, right and centre in a cleaning frenzy!

One thing that got the chop was a bag of old fabric scraps. Do you keep these? If you sew a lot, you end up with so many odd pieces. I know Pinterest is full of ideas for using them up, but they’re nearly all useless. I have no need to decoupage my make-up brushes, or make a ‘post-it note holder’. I prefer my post-its naked, if it’s all the same to you.

I do keep the bigger pieces for collars/pocket linings.

(Top tip – offer fabric scraps on Freecycle. You’ll get tons of replies. Last time I gave mine to a school project to make a UK map out of textiles. Which is awesome.)

I ended up with a severely diminished wardrobe, and an empty fabric stash. So the Peter Jensen sample sale came at exactly the right time.

It was madness in there – I went with the lovely bloggers Elisalex, Kathryn, and Alison at 10am, and it was nearly stripped bare by noon, with just a few forlorn scraps left. I’m suffering from non-buyers remorse quite badly (why didn’t I buy some of that orange lace??) but here’s what I did snaffle:

2 metres of mustard yellow cotton canvas – £4

This is almost like a heavy cheesecloth, in a very bright mustard colour. It’s probably going to be a pleated skirt from this vintage pattern. Having trouble deciding on a pleat/pocket combo.

3 metres of denim – £3 (a pound a metre! Why didn’t I get more??)

Er, another skirt? This fabric is super-nice, it’s very drapey for denim and is a great 70s blue.

2.5 metres of khaki stiff cotton – £10

This is DEFINITELY (probably) going to be a Minoru, if I have enough fabric. Although I need to actually buy the pattern first.

3 metres of cappucino coloured dotted swiss – £7.50

This fabric is gorgeous. The photo doesn’t really do it justice – it’s more of a milky coffee colour with lighter dots. No idea what to make with this – suggestions welcome! Elisalex also got some, I might wait and see what she makes and then copy it sneakily.

I also got all these buttons and a scrap of orange-y fabric with an unusual sueded texture, which is too small to do anything with really. Still, it was only a pound.

Total spend? £24.50. BARGAIN.

I could have bought so much more, but managed to restrain myself. My main plan this autumn/winter is to sew lots of separates so I was looking for suitable skirt fabrics.

Now to find the time to actually sew. Anyone got a couple of spare hours for sale? Will swap for digestives.

18 thoughts on “Autumn fabric haul

  1. gingermakes November 5, 2012 / 7:07 PM

    Great haul! The mustard skirt is going to be killer! I can see why you’re having a hard time deciding which combo of pleats and pockets to make– they’re all super cool!

  2. Scruffybadger November 5, 2012 / 8:53 AM

    You look like you’ve snapped up some very useful but super pretty bargains there!! Love your mustard and denim together….I agree with you that in the cooler weather it has to be separates….look forward to seeing how they all progress 🙂

  3. Roobeedoo November 2, 2012 / 3:23 PM

    Oh yum! You did really well there! I am mid-mustard myself right now using a pattern a lot like View D, but with a dropped waistband.

    • yesilikethat November 2, 2012 / 3:29 PM

      Ooh sounds good, can’t wait to see it! I need some skirts I can ride a bike in, pleats are always good for that.

  4. Zoe November 2, 2012 / 12:40 PM

    Woo hoo!!! What a haul honey! LOVE that mustard and the 70’s denim. Can’t wait to see the final versions of both xxx

    • yesilikethat November 2, 2012 / 2:08 PM

      I’m so into mustard right now! I might look a bit like a giant over-sauced hot dog when I combine it with my red coat though. x

  5. byhandlondon November 2, 2012 / 12:20 PM

    Here’s a tip – have an operation and then you’ll have HOURS of recovery time to do with what you will! That’s what I did… and made a great big Recovery To-Do List, but now I’m feeling so out of it that I almost turned that beautiful cappuccino (love the colour description!) dotted swiss into napkins… Napkins?? Blasphemy. That skirt looks amazing though, I’ve been thinking about pleats a lot these days too…

    x Elisalex

    • yesilikethat November 2, 2012 / 12:24 PM

      Oh no, hope you are feeling better! And getting lots of looking-after. It would make very beautiful napkins, although I think I would be reluctant to get any food on them at all! xx

  6. didyoumakethat November 2, 2012 / 12:00 PM

    Why, why, WHY was I out of town that weekend! Do let me know if you ever go to another one.

    • yesilikethat November 2, 2012 / 12:25 PM

      I really really hope they’ll do it again! The girls working the sale looked very relieved to have all the fabric out of their studio, it was cramped in there.

  7. dottiedoodle November 2, 2012 / 11:51 AM

    Lovely fabric, seeing what people buy is great! I’ve got a table at a Rag Market tomorrow to get rid of some of my fabric, but thanks for the tip about Freecycle. Anything that’s left can go there.

    • yesilikethat November 2, 2012 / 12:25 PM

      You can offer anything on Freecycle and people will take it. It’s amazing. Don’t offer anything too nice though or you’ll be sorting through replies for days! 🙂

    • dottiedoodle November 2, 2012 / 3:43 PM

      I’ll bear that in mind!

  8. Vicki Kate November 2, 2012 / 10:48 AM

    What a fabulous collection, the denim would have cost me £30 from my fabric store on its own! I think I’d turn the dotty stuff into a Sewaholic Alma or Colette Violet or may be (if it’s not too drapey) a Sencha? Or the tie neck blouse in Gertie’s book? It’ll be fabulous, what ever you choose, and will work beautifully with both the mustard and denim.

    • yesilikethat November 2, 2012 / 11:03 AM

      Nice idea, I think a blouse would be lovely in this fabric, preferably with a big old bow at the neck! Everything was such a bargain, it was very hard to choose…

What do you think?

