Friday Fabric Fun: Peter Jensen sample sale and stretch denim

Attention, London-based sewing types! I have some Friday fabric news for you. Ready?

Designer Peter Jensen is having a fabric sample sale (this link now works properly, sorry!) next Saturday, the 27th October, at 10am. This is rather exciting. He’s known for his unusual prints, like this umbrella fabric:

Photo via Style Bubble

Or this bird print, which you might have known I’d be a fan of:

Or this slightly over-the-top-but-amazing-with-it alpine cabin print:

Now of course there’s no guarantee that they’ll be selling any of this stuff – it may just be a load of old calico they need to shift. But I’m definitely going to go down and find out! Is anyone else interested? Slightly concerned that it will just be a horde of 20 year old fashion students with sharp elbows, so would be nice to have some fellow home sewists along.

On the same topic (sort of), I have a fabric dilemma. Where you can buy interesting stretch trouser-weight fabrics, online or in London?

I’m not saying I would wear these, necessarily, but I’d at least like to have the ability to make them

Coloured and patterned jeans have been all over the shops for ages now. But fabric stores don’t seem to have caught up yet. Everywhere I’ve been just has a small, sad selection of cheap-looking stretch denim in dubious shades of blue.

I’ve got the pattern already – Burda 7863, inspired by Handmade by Carolyn. And I’ve got some practice/wearable muslin fabric from Tissu. But I need more! Any suggestions? (I did find this Ebay shop but that’s about it).

15 thoughts on “Friday Fabric Fun: Peter Jensen sample sale and stretch denim

  1. kokorimbaud November 3, 2012 / 10:26 AM

    I’m a bit late to the party, but I bought my leopard print for the animal print jeans here: bit.ly/Sn5ChW They do ship internationally, just be warned that there will be additional taxes to pay, which can make it a tad costly.

  2. MariaDenmark November 1, 2012 / 4:32 PM

    Oh, I wish I could go there. He uses such lovely fabric! Envy envy 🙂

  3. craftylittlebugger October 25, 2012 / 2:55 PM

    I’d love to come, but have made promises to be elsewhere. I am very jealous, I imagine this fabric is going to be amazing. Looking forward to seeing what you buy.

    • yesilikethat October 22, 2012 / 4:51 PM

      Duh! What an idiot, thanks for noticing, have changed it to the right link now 🙂

  4. Kathryn October 22, 2012 / 2:56 PM

    Just on the basis of that bird print I really want to go! We’ve got a friend visiting that weekend but I’m sure I can sneak out early in the morning for some fabric shopping before we meet to go to galleries and pubs! Thanks for the heads up and hopefully I’ll see you there.

  5. alibobs October 21, 2012 / 2:32 PM

    I’ll come for a browse!

  6. gingermakes October 21, 2012 / 2:38 AM

    How cool! Now I DESPERATELY want some leopard-print jeans!

  7. byhandlondon October 20, 2012 / 4:05 PM

    Uh oh… I wish I hadn’t read this post. Oh well… see you there! (Sorry Mr Bank Manager, not my fault you see…)

  8. Sewing Sveta October 19, 2012 / 10:23 PM

    ooo! So nice prints!! It is pitty i am not in London!

  9. Debbie Allingham October 19, 2012 / 7:43 PM

    wish I could join you – good luck with getting some bargains! On the stretch fabric front, I think myfabrics.com have some nice fine stretch cord and cotton velvet, as well as stretch cotton twills.

    • yesilikethat October 26, 2012 / 3:13 PM

      Thanks Debbie! That website looks great, I love the stretch floral stuff!

  10. shivani October 19, 2012 / 7:04 PM

    ooo, quirky prints! yes please – count me in!

What do you think?

