JW Anderson for Topshop: sewing inspiration

Have you heard of JW Anderson? He’s so hot right now darling. I only really know this because Topshop have done one of their design collaborations with him. WOW I sure am riding the cutting edge these days. Anyway I’m not sure exactly how to describe the look of the collection, except it’s sort of 90s meets boarding-school uniform meets wacky prints.

So it might not be TOP FASHION NEWS any more but I was on Oxford Street yesterday and had a quick look at the collection, and was shocked to find that some of it was actually quite nice, and very ripe for a home-sewing rip-off. Specifically these two items.

This quilted pencil skirt was surprisingly well-made. It’s got a bagged lining and the outer is silk.  The combination of the sleek shape and the padded fabric is really unexpected and great. Plus the print is lovely (if you’re a paisley fan, anyway- I know some people hate and despise it)

This skirt has made me very interested in sewing with pre-quilted fabric, the only problem being that you can’t find fabric like this for love or money (although to be honest I have only tried money so far).

And this skirt could be SO easy to reproduce if I could get my hands on the right stuff. I’ve been searching and searching and there’s nothing out there except for children’s prints and beige waterproof stuff. No chance of any awesome quilted spider fabric. Hmph. I know you could quilt your own but that seems a bit too laborious.

There’s also matching padded t-shirts which I really like. If you bought the whole outfit you could basically nap anywhere you wanted in perfect comfort, which is a big plus in my opinion.

Here’s the second awesome thing I saw. This ‘maid’s dress’ has a removable collar and cuffs.  It’s done very cleverly in real life, the white collar is fully finished and has several buttonholes so you can easily attach and detach it from the main collar.

Again, this would be highly copiable at home. It reminds me of the shirt I made with a double collar, which I have never actually never worn due to fit issues and the fact that, well, I basically don’t wear shirts. Ah well.

What do you think of designer collaborations in general? I guess the idea is that you’re getting Marni style for H&M prices, or whatever, but I can’t help seeing it the other way round, ie. you’re paying 150 quid for something from H&M. Which was probably made in the same factory and with the same quality of materials.

My favourite collaborations are print-based like the Uniqlo tie-ins with Orla Kiely and Laura Ashley. I think that’s why I covet those J W Anderson quilted skirts – the prints are so unique, and that’s something that’s hard to replicate at home. Fabric shopping is a hit and miss affair sometimes.

Finally, if you are a wacky print fan, you must check out this A-line tortoise print skirt which seems calculated to appeal to that coveted sewing blogger demographic.

11 thoughts on “JW Anderson for Topshop: sewing inspiration

  1. Chuck October 10, 2012 / 1:35 PM

    I thought the collab was a bit of a mixed bag. Some crap but lots of nice bits – agree with both of your picks. I can’t wait for your quilted skirt, sounds amazing. Will keep an eye out for interesting quilted materials (not that I’m likely to stumble across any but still…). x

  2. stitchywitch October 2, 2012 / 3:47 AM

    I’ve bought pre-quilted fabric on Etsy and Ebay – but I can only find plain or water repellent stuff new. I love the quilted skirt!

  3. craftylittlebugger October 1, 2012 / 9:42 AM

    I just noticed he’s included a ‘slap band’ in his collection. I feel my interest waning.

    • yesilikethat October 11, 2012 / 7:24 PM

      ha ha! I know there’s a lot of awful old tat in the collection, apparently it’s so there’s ‘something for everyone’ but basically it’s just future landfill.

  4. craftylittlebugger October 1, 2012 / 9:39 AM

    I need that tortoise skirt.

    That guy has definitely been checking out sewing blogs. Paisley, double peter pan collars, demented animal prints…

  5. gingermakes September 29, 2012 / 7:37 PM

    Tortoises! I have never bought any of the H&M collaboration pieces or anything like that (and even if I wanted to, they usually sell out in record time!), but they’re fun to look at. It’s interesting to see what designers come up with for cheaper collections.

  6. maddie September 28, 2012 / 6:02 PM

    The first thing I was going to mention was the quilted skirt and then you went off on your tangent, a rather hilarious one by the way. I wouldn’t in my wildest dreams thought that napping and quilted garments would go hand in hand but you’re correct!

  7. shivani (pins & needles) September 28, 2012 / 3:16 PM

    oo you can get some of that quilted fabric in John Lewis – I spotted it yesterday and thought it was v fashion forward of JL. but it isn’t in a rocking Paisley print. x

    • yesilikethat September 28, 2012 / 3:49 PM

      I will have to check it out! John Lewis fabric is SO overpriced though, I have to restrain myself from severe eye-rolling whenever I go in there. x

  8. busyellebee September 28, 2012 / 3:11 PM

    Hello, I think the ‘maid’s’ dress is very Chanel like, but I can’t help thinking that you would have to be careful where and how you wear it. I have visions of constantly telling fellow diners, “Sorry, I don’t work here”. £80 seems a little pricey for a dress which looks like a uniform.

    I agree with your point about collabs – paying a lot of money for an outfit from H&M or other such stores, doesn’t sit right with me. I would rather save up, wait for the sales or better still make it myself. On the plus side, it is a great way to get new ideas, I now know peter pan style collars are still ‘in’, horray! 🙂

    • yesilikethat September 28, 2012 / 3:13 PM

      Ha ha, I agree, if I made an ‘inspired’ version I doubt I would go with black and white. I do like a white collar on contrasting fabric though. x

What do you think?

