Ship Pendant in the V and A + sewing meet-up musings

I keep meaning to post this photo I took in the V&A a few months ago. It’s a 400 year old ship pendant, which you can find in the British Galleries just up from the Raphael room.

It’s an awful photo (sorry about my giant pink hand which you can see reflected in the glass), but this necklace just blew my mind when I saw it. It’s a tiny ship on a chain, for goodness sake. It’s so exquisitely intricate and detailed. Just imagine some Elizabethan lady rocking this over a massive lacy white ruff.

The rigging and the masts are all made out of twisted gold, the hull is polished wood, and the tiny crazy pirates on board appear to be enamelled. There are pearls dotted all over. Even the anchor is made from a big old pearl (which would probably float, but then I suppose you wouldn’t make a real ship out of gold either. Realism was not a priority here.)

I WANT THIS. Is there anything better than mad, expensive, vintage jewellery? If you share my love, you should be reading the posts about Estate Jewelry on The Hairpin. Looking at this amazing stuff is the only time I wish I were oligarch-level rich.

Speaking of the V&A (smooth segue), I had a great time there a few weeks ago, meeting up with some fellow sewing bloggers to see the Ballgowns exhibition. Thank you so much to Karen for organising! I had to bail a bit early but it was so lovely meeting lots of new people whose blogs I read, and catching up with those I’d hung out with before.

Recently I read about the Spanish concept of a Tertulia, which is a gathering of like-minded friends who convene regularly to discuss a certain artistic or literary topic (often in bars).  It instantly reminded me of the meet-ups I’ve been to. Talk of seam finishes and fabrics still qualifies as ‘artistic’, right? And we’ve got the whole drinking thing covered. Besides, Tertulia is a much fancier sounding term than ‘blogging meet-up’. Maybe I will start dropping it into conversation casually.*

*Or not. Please still invite me to meet-ups! I promise not to use badly pronounced Spanish words.

8 thoughts on “Ship Pendant in the V and A + sewing meet-up musings

  1. craftylittlebugger September 21, 2012 / 11:39 AM

    You’ve just blown my tiny mind with the Estate Jewellery link. VICTORIAN EARRINGS IN THE SHAPE OF HANDS! I will happily tertulia anytime about weird victorian things.

  2. theperfectnose September 18, 2012 / 9:41 PM

    Sweet! You can make this out of PMC or fimo. I would suggest the latter as an actual metal ship, even a small is going to feel like a millstone around your neck 😄 also no chiffons 😄

  3. Donna September 18, 2012 / 9:07 PM

    That piece is amazing. I really like the tertulia idea too; I tried something similar w/ friends once. Only we called it a salon – I think tertulia is better. 😉

  4. Chuck September 18, 2012 / 8:03 PM

    I LOVE the V&A jewellery room. One of my favourite places. I would like to tertulia too, please. X

    • yesilikethat September 18, 2012 / 8:08 PM

      It’s just like a huge treasure box! All sparkly. x

  5. maddie September 18, 2012 / 5:28 PM

    I want it too! I’ve always been a huge fan of jewelry that has little trinkets on it. It’s like it tells a story, you know? Plus, the detail that shoes into the little pieces is always meticulous.

    • yesilikethat September 18, 2012 / 8:09 PM

      I agree, the details are are so much more interesting than just the plain stones and metal x

What do you think?

