McCalls 6439: Draped skirt pattern

You’ve probably noticed that pattern fever can sweep through sewing blogs like a bad bout of flu. But poor old McCalls always seem to get left out. I hardly ever see people sewing their stuff, although I’m not sure why.

Anyway, Jaycotts had a half-price sale on McCalls patterns at Easter and I snapped up loads, including this dress and this blouse, and 6439 which is a draped skirt with pockets.

I can only find one review for this pattern online, but I reckon it deserves to be more popular. It’s basically a slightly more involved version of Simplicity 2451, which the world and his wife has made. And 6439 has 4 different options! Now that’s value for money.

I made view B. Here’s the front,

McCalls 6439

And the back:

There’s not much you can do to make photos of a plain grey skirt look exciting. The best bit are the double fold pockets. The instructions were Burda-level opaque, so a lot of guess-work was involved in making these. I think I may have pleated something the wrong way round, but whatever. It works.

The fabric was a end-of-roll bargain from my favourite shop in Edinburgh. I don’t know what’s it’s called, but it has that wibbly-wobbly silky feeling, almost like Viyella.

This was pretty quick to make. The biggest hold-up was silently arguing with myself about whether to add a lining or not (it’s not in the pattern). Eventually my practical side won out over my lazy side, and I used this weird polyester I’ve had lying around for ages. Which makes it more appropriate for winter-wearing.

I highly recommend this pattern! Go forth and make your own versions! I want to try view D next, which looks pretty crazy.

11 thoughts on “McCalls 6439: Draped skirt pattern

  1. Susanne September 9, 2012 / 7:44 PM

    Oddly enough, I too ordered this pattern a few months ago when I got McCalls 6503 (inspired by your version!) and a bunch of other things from a McCalls/Vogue/Butterick sale. Found some drapey black wool suiting for $7 that I’m hoping will be enough for view A!

    • yesilikethat September 10, 2012 / 9:22 AM

      Sounds awesome, I think anything drapey enough will look fantastic. Must find something for view D…although I am on a fabric buying diet 😦 x

  2. gingermakes September 8, 2012 / 8:30 PM

    Really cute! I really like this style on you! I’m one of the lemmings that bought Simplicity 2451, although I haven’t made it yet…

    • yesilikethat September 10, 2012 / 9:22 AM

      I’ve made 2451 quite a few times although I think I have trashed all my versions in one way or another. It makes a really good summer mini-skirt pattern I think. x

  3. thesecretlifeofseams September 5, 2012 / 4:56 PM

    I love this! Flattering in the back and interesting at the front, plus pockets. What more can you ask of a skirt? Totally think a flexible/multi-outfit suitable colour + interesting design details is the way to go for a great everyday piece of clothing. Can’t wait to see D!

  4. Molly September 4, 2012 / 9:24 PM

    That’s a nice, interesting skirt! I’m pretty sure I never even noticed it before.

  5. lizzylikescake September 4, 2012 / 3:10 PM

    An awesome skirt. I want one! I have an old Topshop one a bit like it which I love but is falling apart so now I know how I can replace it when it finally bites the dust. x

  6. didyoumakethat September 4, 2012 / 1:51 PM

    That looks really great. I must not buy more patterns! Hope you’ll wear this on Friday. (No, no, wear what you want to wear…!)

  7. Jane's sew & tell September 4, 2012 / 1:36 PM

    Great skirt. I like some of the other options on that pattern too. Maybe I should get it.

  8. ooobop! September 4, 2012 / 12:39 PM

    Great skirt. I love that pleating on the pockets! 🙂

What do you think?

