Norwegian mountains and autumn

Well hello there! What did you do on your summer holidays? I’ve just got back from mine, in Edinburgh and Norway. Unsurprisingly I didn’t return with a suntan, but I did manage to consume many cinnamon buns, climb up two mountains, and finally read the whole of Wolf Hall (SO GOOD).

First things first, I want to show you this photo, because what’s the use of having a blog if not to boast about minor life achievements?

This is me and some friends jumping in the air for joy on top of Trolltunga in Norway. I’m second from left, doing a tiny little hop. I was terrified. The worst bit is waiting for your turn to go on (yes there’s a queue – apparently some people do this kind of thing for fun). You can see people sit, peer over, and in one case do a handstand on the edge of this jutting rock. I wouldn’t describe myself as afraid of heights normally but bloody hell, it was scary. Plus, you have to do a 5 hour hike up a really steep mountain to get there.

But I’m so proud of myself for doing it! I’m the least outdoors-y person in the world but I actually enjoyed the experience, everything from wearing horrible walking shoes, camping on top of a freezing cold mountain, eating cold potato bread for breakfast and then doing a four hour hike to get down. Although I have to admit the best bit was reaching the bottom just as the sun came out.

Getting to see views like these is also pretty good.

Norway is amazing, if you get the chance to go then you must. Norwegians do have some strange dietary habits that I never knew about. I think all I have to say here is ‘bolognaise pizza’. They are also obsessed with hot dogs (Pølse). You can buy them anywhere, most notably in every single garage and service station on the road.

My number 1 tip: if you’re going to Norway, buy waterproof shoes. You will not regret it. We did see some sunshine though, as well as more fjords, rocks, and waterfalls than you could shake a stick at.

Lindesnes lighthouse
Lichen on granite.
Flowers in Stavanger Old Town
Large Norwegian family in Stavanger Cathedral
I love these fishscale roof tiles, they were everywhere
Sunset on the last day

So now September is nearly here and I’ve got that horrible back-to-school feeling, like I should be buying pencils and a shiny new pair of Kickers and frantically finishing off summer maths homework. I guess it’s time to start planning autumn and winter sewing.

I’ve already made a lined skirt in anticipation of tights season beginning. In an unusual display of forward planning, I even bought a new coat in July, a vintage handmade one that I’m going to post about here because it’s beautiful. But I still feel resentful that we have to let go of the summer that never really happened.

This is probably my least favourite time of year but I’m trying to be more positive. Any tips? Do you look forward to autumn?

22 thoughts on “Norwegian mountains and autumn

  1. Chuck September 5, 2012 / 4:19 PM

    WOLF HALL IS SOOO GOOD. That is all.

    (Also, I want to go to Norway). x

    • yesilikethat September 5, 2012 / 4:34 PM

      I know! How awesome?? Also I’ve now read Bring Up The Bodies too and can’t wait for the next volume, even though I know it will involve much sobbing x

  2. gingermakes September 2, 2012 / 3:00 AM

    Wow, your photos are amazing, although I’m pretty sure I would have had a panic attack if I looked at your cliff photo any longer! So glad you had a nice trip!

    I love fall, but I always get sort of sad and wistful as summer winds down… and almost always the “back to school” feeling hits and drives me into a complete spiral of worry and sadness about what I’m doing with my life! Ridiculous!

    • yesilikethat September 10, 2012 / 1:46 PM

      I meant to reply to this before because I have the EXACT same feeling every September! Like clockwork! Urgh. Can’t understand why people like Autumn, I guess they don’t get the same horrible feeling.

  3. G&T August 30, 2012 / 1:11 PM

    I love autumn! It’s perhaps my favourite season. I love the colours, I love crunching leaves underfoot, I love the smell of a colder morning. I also like being able to wear “proper clothes” like cardigans rather than silly things like shorts and strappy dresses. I recommend watching “You’ve Got Mail” and seeking out pumpkin recipes ….

    • yesilikethat August 30, 2012 / 1:18 PM

      Cardigans are an all year round thing for me (especially this summer!). Let’s hang out and watch ‘You’ve Got Mail’ as I have never seen it, I feel I must change this!

  4. MariaDenmark August 29, 2012 / 7:20 PM

    To me summer lasts until August 31st (that’s my birthday) – then it’s time to think about autumn. But in reality we often have very nice and warm Septembers with 22 degrees and blue skies and sun. I handle it by camping on the couch with a blanket, re-reading all the Little House books (yes, almost every year.. I know. Sort of weird..) while sipping warm tea with milk and snacking on popcorn on the really dark and stormy nights. That very comfortable feeling cannot be reproduced any other time of the year.
    Oh, and then I cheat and go south for extra summer almost every year, either in October or during Christmas…

    • yesilikethat August 29, 2012 / 9:10 PM

      I used to love the Little House books! Will have to dig them out from somewhere and re-read. So true that it’s nice being inside when it’s stormy and dark, as long as you don’t have to venture out!

  5. Anne August 29, 2012 / 6:45 PM

    Beautiful photo’s – I would think if you are feeling blue you just need to look at those photo’s again – amazing!

    • yesilikethat August 29, 2012 / 9:10 PM

      Thanks Anne! I have so many, had trouble narrowing down what to post because the scenery was so beautiful.

  6. Kathryn August 29, 2012 / 5:50 PM

    That sounds like a great holiday, Norway looks beautiful. The walking sounds amazing – though that photo looks pretty terrifying, think I’d have been a lot further away from the edge! I keep reminding myself of how gorgeous last Autumn was in London – I remember basking in the sun in Hyde Park in October – so finger’s crossed for this year!

    • yesilikethat August 29, 2012 / 9:11 PM

      I remember the heatwave last October, that was insane. It was about 30 degrees and we were all sitting outside in the park, strange weather. You never know I guess….still time for an Indian Summer!

  7. Nat - Tea, cake and make August 29, 2012 / 5:25 PM

    Looks like you had a lovely time. Norway looks beautiful!

    I’m setting myself some challenges to get done which I hope will help the Autumn and Winter months go by quicker, will be posting them to my blog next week, perhaps you could set yourself some?

    • yesilikethat August 29, 2012 / 5:30 PM

      That is a good idea! Look forward to seeing your challenges for some inspiration.

  8. Jane August 29, 2012 / 4:31 PM

    I’m not particularly bothered by heights either but that first picture almost made me pass out, especially looking at the person on the far right! Great pictures, I really like the fish scale roof tiles too. Never been to norway but would love to visit.
    I’m not a great lover of autumn but I try to see it as a time of new beginnings, probably more so than new year, maybe it’s the whole school term thing. I’m drawing up a (short) list of autumn sewing at the moment. x

    • yesilikethat August 29, 2012 / 5:15 PM

      That’s my friend’s friend on the far right, she was the one doing handstands and backbends on the edge – crazy. Made my stomach flip right over. I guess autumn does feel more like a fresh start than the New Year. January reminds me of one massive hangover!

  9. Sam August 29, 2012 / 4:30 PM

    Wow, that sounds and looks like an amazing holiday. I’m off to Northumberland for my holiday this weekend and will hopefully be doing a bit of walking there. I hear you on the importance of waterproof walking shoes – nothing worse than wet feet!

    Then its back home and start thinking about sewing for Autumn. I have a few ideas in the pipeline… one of which is a coat.

    • yesilikethat August 29, 2012 / 5:16 PM

      Ooh a coat! That’s awesome. I am too scared to tackle outerwear although I have my eye on the Sewaholic jacket, probably will get round to it a good few years after everyone else.

  10. Joanne August 29, 2012 / 4:23 PM

    Wow I’m getting vertigo just looking at that pic. Norway is amazing and very beautiful. I loved Polse and hated the ‘garbage sweets’. Did you find it terribly expensive? One of our friends paid £8 for a pint of Guinness!

    • yesilikethat August 29, 2012 / 5:17 PM

      It is MEGA expensive, I nearly passed out at the price of a round of drinks! Luckily we stayed with my friend and didn’t really eat out at all, so it worked out as quite a cheap holiday in the end. Not exactly a bargain destination though, but at least all the beautiful scenery is free 🙂

What do you think?

